We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Was Comfy, Breakfast; Not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15000 Hawthorne Boulevard, Lawndale, CA 90260-1503   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Lawndale
Artesia, New Mexico
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Room Was Comfy, Breakfast; Not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We planned a weekend at the beach around this hotel August 17-19. It is easy to get to off the 405 only three lights north.

The room we were in was 111. This is set up for handicapped individuals as it has the roll in shower which is also easy on my knees since I do not have to step over the rim of a tub.

Room was spacious, bed comfy. Sheets and towels all freshly laundered although the towels had stains on them.

Breakfast, very disappointing. The usual High Carb foods, a waffle maker, potato and sausage, but no eggs when I checked first thing when they opened. No yogurt or fresh fruit except some canned Pears.

We will be checking elsewhere the next time we come to SoCal. Manhattan Beach was a bust due to parking and dirty beach. However we found a gem at Seal Beach. More on that later.

Room Tip: We were in 111, set up for physically challenged people. Hardwood floors, roll in shower, no tub to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    14
    7
    13
See reviews for
24
30
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Requested a quiet room, received a room on the third floor close to the elevator. The noise of the elevator was only superseeded by the auto, truck & motorcycle traffic. Check in was cold, but efficient. The elevator to the third floor was jerky. The room was cheerful, included a microwave ,refrigerator, TV, a safe & king size bed. The wash up sink was in the bathroom, my preference is to have it outside the bathing area to allow multi use, but that just my personal opinion. The room and bathroom were clean, and they did include a bathmat. We make a point to carry our own, after my wife slipped in the tub at one location. The mattress was very uncomfortable. This is a older hotel that seems to cater to airline flight crews. The breakfast area was above average, it is the same area they use for the restaurant at night. The food was good, fruit, real scramble eggs, not the stuff some hotels are serving, ham & sausage, juice, good coffe for a hotel. They have a small exercise room with a treadmill & rowing machine and outdoor swimming pool. The central air conditioning system required constant adjustment and would not keep the room cool. This hotel might be OK for an overnight stay if you can get a room away from the elevator & street noise

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the hotel away from the elevator & street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here few weeks ago on a southern California trip. The family traveled with me need to fly out from LAX so we picked this hotel. The price we paid is fair. The room is big and amenities were enough: free shuttle (if you need ride to/from LAX), free Wi Fi, free buffet breakfast. It's close to Big shopping mall, Del Amo Fashion Center. Not to far from Hollywood Knott's Berry Farm and Disneyland.We had a fun vacation and we loved where we stayed!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Ok, to be fair, we checked in at 2am after our connecting flight was late from Orlando. The shuttle bus came to pick us up at the airport and we were relieved to find a room as most others were booked out near the airport. The room costed approx $135 inclusive of tax and I think for the price, I've paid less and seen nicer rooms else where. We chose best western as we get points as members and usually best western hotels are fairly decent but this one was more like a super 8 if not worse in some ways. The room had a little bit of a bad odour and being a kingroom at that price I was expecting something a little nicer. The tv was old looking and so was the bathroom. After having a quick look at some of the other reviews on here, maybe it was just because that's the only room they had left, not sure. I would rate this less than 3 stars based on room, presentation of the room however, the staff there were very lovely and friendly. I was abit upset with our little situation with missing our international flight and was so tired so when I spoke to the receptionist the next more, I got abit teary, she seemed geniunly sympathatic, not so much in what she said but just her general manners and while that doesn't seem like much, but after my ordeal with virgin america (in this case I'm really talking about the guy from virgin america I had to deal with when we missed out flight who couldn't careless and was extremely rude) it was just lovely to see someone else atleast listened and was sympathetic. Other staff were also friendly and helpful so that's why I couldn't rate it less than a 3 stars. Maybe they do have nicer rooms??? but if all the rooms were like the one we stayed in which was on the same floor as reception, I couldn't really recommend it especially for the price we've paid. Once again though, staff were great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Wanted a place close but not too close to LAX. The price was reasonable, quiet, clean and staff very friendly and helpful. The lobby furniture was from Granny's attic but very comfortable and looked brand new in the pictures. On the way to to the rooms, I noticed scrapes and damage to walls and got a bit nervous about the rooms. Not a 3 diamond , AAA look. However, the rooms were quiet, well appointed, ours roomy and had 32 LCD TV.The King room was small and had an old TV. Not as nice as ours. The beds were comfortable. We all slept well. The pool clean and hot tub too. The hotel restaurant was great , as was the complimentary cont.' breakfast. Parking was also a plus. We all enjoyed ourselves.
I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: 3rd. floor, top floor rooms quiet and nice. Hak's Italian Restaurant great prices. too much food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The stay was great, was in LA for a week and of course wanted to find somewhere cheap. The price front desk gave me was really good. Rooms were nice and clean, free breakfast was a huge plus along with the free shuttle to LAX. The staff were also friendly and genuinely helpful, don't have anything negative to tell you. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a non-hassle and comfortable stay for a cheap price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I was stuck in LA unexpectedly for 24 hours after the usual awful service and customer communication from AA after missing a connecting flight and being stuck grounded for 8 hours. I spoke with Cynthia on the front desk at close to midnight. She sorted out my room and those for 2 other stuck passengers efficiently and quickly. Rooms were clean and spacious. I got what I thought was a fair price for our rooms and most importantly it was so pleasent to deal with a stress free, decent person after such a poor experience with the airline and airport officials. Top marks Cynthia!

Room Tip: Speak with Cynthia
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel

Address: 15000 Hawthorne Boulevard, Lawndale, CA 90260-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lawndale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Lawndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel in Lawndale, California located midway between Disneyland and Universal Studios offers comfortable and affordable accommodations including a complimentary breakfast, free high-speed internet access, free airport shuttle service, a swimming pool and an exercise facility. The Best Western South Bay Hotel provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television, ample desk space and a refrigerator. Every morning guests at this Los Angeles area hotel are greeted with a complimentary continental breakfast. After a busy day, guests can enjoy a dip in the swimming pool or a workout at the on-site fitness center. Lawndale, California Hotel Location. The hotel is conveniently located 2 to 5 miles from Southern California beaches, midway between Disneyland(R) and Universal Studios(R). Come experience the hospitality and professional service at the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel in Lawndale, California. Visitors to the Los Angeles Area find well-appointed accommodations at this upgraded, Lawndale hotel, only two miles from the beach. This Best Western hotel offers easy access to all the great attractions in the L.A. area including the Hollywood Racetrack and Casino, South Coast Botanical Gardens, the Los Angeles Zoo, Little Tokyo and China Town. Travelers will also find the hotel near the University of California and the Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lawndale
Lawndale Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.