We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little local place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Donut Alley

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Donut Alley
471 Magnolia Ave, Larkspur, CA 94939-2034
(415) 924-4339
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 40 Restaurants in Larkspur
Cuisines: Donuts
Restaurant details
Marin County, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice little local place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Their donuts are spotty. They fill their custard donuts with something that comes out of a 5 gallon non-refrigerated bucket. Their old-fashioned donuts are often very greasy. The standard plain round donut is very good, as are the donut holes, and twists.
Lots of locals here and retirees, parents with kids. Nice ambiance. Local teenagers at the register.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“French Crullers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Last month, on a shopping and lunch trip to Larkspur, my wife and I decided to get a couple of donuts to cap off our lunch. We both like french crullers, but were unprepared for such creamy, melt-in-your-mouth entities. The best we've ever had!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I bought a bag of donuts before a parade and they were a huge hit with my family and friends. These are fresh, varied and tasty. If I had to get donuts for an occasion I'd go here.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The early bird gets the doughnut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

These are good fresh doughnute but the place closes early and runs out of doughnuts. It is located in a small mall off the main road and is difficult to find. I guess if you have a douyghnut draving this is the place to go as I can not think of a close Crispy Cream or a Dyno Dougnut store in Marin. I am just surprised that this tiny spot that is open such shor hours and is non descript would be included on trip adviser.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Family favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Small neighborhood place...nice staff and wonderful donuts....

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donut Alley also viewed

Larkspur, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 
Larkspur, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 

Been to Donut Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donut Alley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.