We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Marin CA Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Larkspur Landing Circle, Larkspur, CA 94939   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkspur
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Marin CA Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Located directly across the street from a great shopping area and the Larkspur Ferry station, the Marriott Courtyard is well located for your mid Marin travels. Clean, nice outdoor pool, with rooms that can sleep up to 4, the Marriott Courtyard is a great hotel for visits to Kentfield, Ross, San Rafael, Corte Madera, Mill Valley or Tiburon.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor room and unless you have children, stay away from rooms facing the pool on...
See more room tips
Green Features: Like many CA hotels, The Marriott Courtyard in Larkspur Landing encourages recycling and water conservation.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spahl495, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for the delightful comments from you stay at our hotel. We want to let you know we'll do our very best to help you select a particular room. If you can contact us before you arrive, we can do a better job blocking the exact location you wish to have. Thank you again, and have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    99
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
69
63
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We have stayed here twice while visiting family in Marin County. Nice breakfast and lunch and starbucks in lobby. Pretty location in trees on hill above ferry landing and lowkey upscale shopping center with brewpub (good local craft beers by the way) a bookstore with a great selection, popular bakery and more. A shortcway to the ferry US101 and Sir Francis Drake blvd.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spahl495, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for continuously visiting our hotel. The shopping center is providing wonderful attractions for our guests, and they continuously keep adding. We'll continue to provide you with a great place to stay, and we look ahead to seeing you in the future. Have a Great Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Attractive, well-kept property with nice rooms. The location makes this a serious alternative to San Francisco sight-seeing hotels because of the ferry just across the main street. For SF Giants fans, the ferry offers service to and from games at just the right times. The hotel is also convenient for most Marin destinations. There are numerous attractive dining options within walking distance of the hotel, which itself is in a safe and pleasant area. An all-around very nice, low key property that I will return to.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spahl495, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our location. The SF Giants ferry has been very popular, especially during the summer. We'll look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

As President of an aviation and travel industry consulting firm, I frequently stay in an extensive range of hotels worldwide for both business and personal travel, with quality running the gamut from three to five stars. While I stay in Marriott family properties as often as possible as a matter of personal preference, due to client requests, brand selection and local availability I often stay in other global brand hotels and independent properties.

To provide full disclosure towards this independent review, my firm has no business relationship with Marriott or the hotel in question, and have not been offered any incentive to write this review.

My family and I recently returned from a one-week stay at the Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County by Marriott in celebration of a birthday. As Courtyards go, the Larkspur Courtyard property was fantastic. We were pleased with our stay based upon the hotel’s layout, location and staff.

The Courtyard Larkspur is well laid out, with the property actually having a “courtyard”! Having stayed at Marriott properties worldwide, I make this observation as not many Courtyard Hotels have an actual courtyard (see the Courtyard Green Community near Dubai, UAE for another great example). Our room faced the courtyard, which contains a heated gas fireplace and several comfortable sitting areas, the outdoor pool deck, and nearby access to the hot tub. The overall neighbourhood is generally quiet and far enough away from US highway 101 that we did not notice intrusive traffic sounds.

Our one-bedroom suite was functional, with two double beds in the bedroom and a pull-out Sofabed in the living room. The desk provided me ample space for the bit of work I had to do, and between the bedroom and living room there were many dresser drawers which enabled us to get out of our suitcases for the week. There is a small bar area which has a mini-fridge and microwave, a plus if travelling with a family (on that note, a small sink would have been good at the bar, which amongst other things would have let us fill the coffee maker as opposed to going to the sink near the washroom). Free WiFi, with a solid signal, is available throughout the property.

The common facilities at the Courtyard Larkspur were functional and clean (exercise, pool, hot tub, lobby), and as noted above the courtyard was set-up well. There is good flow between the front desk and restaurant area, with ample seating for meals and drinks, or meetings. To the side of the lobby were not just the perfunctory airline boarding pass computers and printer, but also a number of computer workstations and additional seating.

The exercise room had several treadmills, a stationary bike, elliptical trainer, a rack of free weights, and an exercise ball. One nice touch was that complimentary ear buds, individually wrapped, were available for guests who wanted to watch their individual television on their exercise machine or who forgot to bring ear buds for their personal device.

I am not sure if this property used to have individual safes in each guest room, but there was not one in our room. However, safety deposit boxes are available free of charge at the front desk and I encourage travellers in any city to make use of either the in-room or front desk safes. On a personal note, I have observed a growing trend in U.S. and Canadian hotel properties to get rid of in-room safes. As a frequent traveller this is a must have and I hope that the trend is reversed.

As other reviewers have noted, the Courtyard Larkspur’s location was excellent for travellers such as us who wanted to split time between San Francisco and wine country. If you have a car but want to have a break from driving and parking downtown, you have to try the high speed Larkspur-San Francisco ferry operated by Golden Gate Ferry. The terminal is only a five-minute walk from the Courtyard so it could not have been any more convenient. The journey time is a little over a half hour and it lets you off at the Marine Terminal building in San Francisco, with sailing times most frequent between Monday and Friday (somewhat reduced schedule on weekends).

Also regarding location, in previous San Francisco visits we had stayed in the heart of the city. Except for a quick viewing stop at the north end of the Golden Gate Bridge, we had never really seen Marin County, where the Larkspur Courtyard resides. We were all quite taken with the natural beauty, shopping facilities and restaurant choices.

Directly across the street from the Courtyard Larkspur is the Marin Country Mart which holds numerous restaurants and shops. While I would not recommend the Marin Brewing Company (poor service, average food), there are numerous other quality dining options ranging from Japanese (we loved Sushi-Ko) and Thai, to sandwiches (Togo’s), bakeries (Miette pastries and Rustic Bakery), Mexican (El Huarache Loco), a Starbucks, and Belcampo Meat Co. with its classic American dishes.

The nearby Bon-Air Center on Sir Francis Drake Blvd has a good supermarket and a variety of light dining options. If you need a larger shopping facility, a new Target recently opened 10 minutes from the Courtyard in nearby San Rafael. It is in an interesting location: I mean seriously, how many Targets also give you a view of the sea (well, San Rafael Bay)? A must visit location for breakfast, brunch or lunch is the Half Day Cafe. Less than a 10-minute drive from the hotel, the Half Day Cafe was awarded “best breakfast in Marin Country” by the Pacific Sun.

Last and most importantly, all Courtyard Larkspur staff members we came into contact with were exceptionally friendly, welcoming, helpful, responsive, and professional at all times. We interfaced with various front desk staff, restaurant baristas, the GM and the operations manager, housekeeping, and a maintenance team member who came outside to light the gas fireplace for us one midweek evening.

Our favourable impression of all staff speaks volumes to the corporate culture and training of both local management and Marriott. Within the hyper-competitive and challenging travel industry, professionalism and pride in service are distinct accomplishments and traits for which employees at the Courtyard Larkspur should be very proud.

Way to go team Courtyard Larkspur!

Robert Kokonis

President & Managing Director
AirTrav Inc.
Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spahl495, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and fantastic review about our hotel and the surrouding area. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Larkspur whenever you decide to come and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

There is nothing spectacular, but it is a Courtyard after all. The rooms were very clean. The beds were comfortable. Breakfast was overpriced and below average quality.
The location is very good. A few options for food within walking distance, and the Farmer's Market is open every Thursday morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spahl495, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We thank you for providing feedback from your stay and taking the time to let us know how we performed. Our team will look to improve for the future stays ahead, and we hope that you will give us another opportunity when you return to the Larkspur area. Have a good Spring Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

At first we planned on staying here for 3 nights and then spending 3 nights at the Fisherman's Wharf Marriott. The rooms here are Courtyard Comfortable. The hotel was renovated recently so the rooms are both spacious and nicer than many of the non-updated full service Marriott's which feel old and tired. The lobby is modern and relaxing. The balcony overlooking the pool a nice place to relax in the morning and at night.

This Courtyard is located adjacent to Larkspur Landing and in addition to a number of good restaurants and a SoulCycle, there is a Rustic Bakery which is reminiscent of the best European bakeries. The breakfast panini is just dreamy.

Larkspur is located just north of Sausalito and San Francisco. Just south of Napa and Sonoma you really are at the center of everything. Skip the $50 per night parking fee and enjoy a relaxing stay at this Courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spahl495, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
The details you have described are exactly what our hotel brand is trying to accomplish. Thank you for recognizing them, and we're very happy that you had the chance to experience facilities nearby the hotel. They have made frequenting our establishment a wonderful choice for guests to make, with a variety of offerings to choose from. We thank you for the kind comments and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel is lovely and in a beautiful setting 10 minutes north of the golden gate bridge. The staff is very friendly, there is a small pool and Jacuzzi, there is also a little restaurant inside the hotel too. Right across the street is a Starbucks and other shops and restaurants in a nice setting. There is a bike bath right across the street and you can walk to the ferry in 10 minutes. It is a peaceful 30 minute ride to the ferry terminal in San Francisco. If you are going to fisherman's wharf or pier 39, you can walk across the street from the ferry terminal and take the uncrowded California line cable car to Powell St and then transfer - you have to pay $6 for the transfer - to the cable car taking you to the wharf.

This hotel in Larkspur has easy access to Highway 1 to Muir Woods and Stinson Beach. You can also go West on sir francis drake blvd to olema and point reyes in western marin county.

This courtyard is in a great location!!!

Room Tip: Facing the pool is nice - there are 6 suites in the hotel too
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spahl495, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for listing many of the qualities our hotel can offer for a vacation to the San Francisco / Marin County area. We feel it is a wonderful experience and we are very happy that you had the opportunity to experience it. Our team will hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area

Address: 2500 Larkspur Landing Circle, Larkspur, CA 94939
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Larkspur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkspur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area Hotel Larkspur
Courtyard Larkspur
Larkspur Marriott
Larkspur Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.