We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff, but a tired hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Larkspur Landing Circle, Larkspur, CA 94939   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Larkspur
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice staff, but a tired hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stay are Marriotts all of the time and I'm admittedly a very picky person. I think the rooms overall need a "refresher". The bathroom definitely needs some work. The carpeting in the main hallways are not so nice and the lighting throughout the hallways is quite dim. As mentioned, the staff is very pleasant but I am not likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    83
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
59
57
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a great location.
Rooms are clean,well maintained and service is good.
There is a shopping are across the street with. framers market on Saturday
The location was close to the freeway which mKe it easy to get in and out

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean,nj
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotel was clean, conveniently located for our purposes and the breakfast available at the hotel was good. A plus is Starbucks coffee available at this location. The farmer's market on Saturday across the street from the hotel was interesting with lots of local produce and other products.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I love to stay at swanky little boutique hotels, but we usually don't have the budget for it. For our October road trip, I checked all over SF and Marin for a nice place to stay for a short getaway. I could not believe how expensive it all was. Even the "cheapo" motels on Lombard or Van Ness (SF) were more than $200 a night! Feh. So I remembered that there was a hotel in Larkspur Landing (Courtyard) and was pleasantly surprised to see that it was relatively reasonable in comparison. When we got there, I was overjoyed to find that it was actually very nice, with a gorgeous lobby and outdoor firepit area, lovely, modern and rather upscale rooms (super clean, very nice beds), each with a little balcony. I love having fresh air in hotel rooms. Our car (full of stuff by that time) was absolutely safe and parked right below us (free parking, a bonus). We didn't eat at the onsite bistro, but it looked pretty good. Nice to have a provisions shop right there, plus inroom fridge – I always appreciate that.

I always consider the location of the hotel as part of the package. Are there nice restaurants nearby, things to do, a place to get good coffee in the morning? Yes! First of all, the shopping center across the street is totally charming (including a farmer's market), and looks like it's adding more retailers. We had the most amazing breakfast there (Rustic Bakery), sat outside and just loved it. And, you're in walking distance to the Larkspur Ferry, which takes you directly to the Ferry Building in SF. Had we had more time, we would have made a day trip out of that and had a great time wandering SF on foot (besides, you musn't miss the Ferry Bldg). Drive just a few minutes to Larkspur, which is full of great restaurants and cafés. If we didn't go to Rustic Bakery, we would have made a beeline to Larkspur for espresso and goodies at Emporio Rulli.

All in all, a very good experience: we'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Occasionally Marriott does promotions where you can earn free nights in hotels that are "level 4 or lower." The problem is that there are very few hotels in this catagory in norhtern CA that are in desirable locations. There are a couple 25 miles outside of Monterey, and then there is this great option.

I've stayed here multiple times, both on a get away with my wife and with our 3 small children. It is walking distance to the Larkspur Ferry which means that you can jump on a boat to get downtown (we jumped on the L and went to the childern's museum and the Peir). Or you can drive to Sosolito (where you can catch a Ferry to the Peir or Angel Island) or up to San Rafel (we always have at least one meal at Sol Food). Or you can hike or bike the wide variety of trails in Marin. It is an afordable location to access the city and add some Marin diversity to your vacation.

The hotel itself is attractive and clean with nice views. There is also a little plaza within walking distance with a pub and a bakery for morning breakfast/coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Courtyard by Marriott in Larkspur for two nights recently. When we walked in the lobby, we looked around in the lobby, and knew this was no ordinary Marriott we had stayed in many times before. They had a beautiful Bistro, with a large variety of food offerings. The seating was also special and varied with elevated stools & counters, regular seating with tables, and semi-circular booths including your own personal TV. They also had beautiful outdoor seating in the inner courtyard, as well as a large pool, and enclosed oversized hot tub. The rooms were very clean, and had large flat screen TV's. and wireless internet. The entire staff was very friendly & welcoming. We'll definitely return when we're near San Francisco in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Quiet, comfortable and clean. Situated in a nice neighborhood, with the farmers' market across the road. Free parking and Internet wifi. There was a mini fridge but no microwave. No complimentary breakfast, but you can buy a breakfast meal of sandwich and drink from the bistro located near the reception around $6-7. Lobby was beautifully furnished with complimentary coffee and hot water. No complaints maybe except that it's kinda strange for the tv and tv console table to be located on the right side of the bed, instead of putting it in front of the bed, thus making it uncomfortable to be watching tv on the bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area

Address: 2500 Larkspur Landing Circle, Larkspur, CA 94939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Larkspur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Larkspur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area Hotel Larkspur
Courtyard Larkspur
Larkspur Marriott
Larkspur Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.