We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Marriott quality , Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Larkspur Landing Circle, Larkspur, CA 94939   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LGBT Friendly
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkspur
New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Typical Marriott quality , Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Those visiting San Francisco would ordinarily Not Larkspur Ln., County as a good jumping off spot however this particular location is ideal for a number of reasons. First is across the street from the Larkspur ferry terminal which gets you into San Francisco in 15 minutes. Well Laras no late night service those of us who are generally finished with most of our dining by 6:55 PM can still catch the 730 or so hurry to get back. For those who also wish to visit the Napa Sonoma wine region it cuts an entire hour off of your driving time. And for those like myself who wish to enjoy the benefits of Marin County the location is ideal. Couple of minor complaints first that courtyard by Marriott elsewhere in the country typically offer breakfast included with the overnight deal the ones in California don't seem to do that. Also the typical 199 a night price seems rather pricey for the location and for a Corgard however keeping in mind that properties in San Francisco downtown area typically range 369 and up per night make this a bargain.

Room Tip: I have the third floor room overlooking the courtyard which I consider to be an ideal location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    92
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
67
58
14
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My family and I stayed here for two days to watch the giants play. We chose this hotel as we have already stayed in San Francisco and wanted something different. We absolutely loved it. The setting was lovely, hotel clean and facilities excellent. It was right by a fab little centre that had a great micro brewery with excellent food. Also we went to the ball park by boat and docked right by the ball park. It was also very good, but make sure you reserve a place for the boat. it was easy to drive to avoiding all the down town traffic, and if you do not want to stay in San Francisco stay here. You can get a regular hydro foil to the city and can tour it form there. I will certainly recommend it and hope to return once more. As it is a great place to tour other areas.

Room Tip: We had a king suite which was amazingly large for the three of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I'll begin this review by pointing out the positives about this place. First, it's in a decent location if you have business or relatives in the Larkspur or San Rafael area. It's also across from a shopping area that houses a few restaurants. The staff was friendly and accomodating at check-in, and they have coffee in the lobby at 6:00 am. If the rate were $129, it wouldn't be bad. The rate, however, was $189, and this place really isn't very good. The halls are dark and the carpet is worn. The rooms are dark and the furnishings are cheap. The bed linens are rough. and of low quality, and the towels are rough, small and thin. All in all, it is motel quality. I could go on, but you probably get the idea. We're here because there's not much in the area. Marriott should be ashamed of itself over this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was the first stop on a major tour of the west and a good spot to recover from jet lag.

The rooms are a good size - we had a connecting suite and king room which provided lots of space.

Comfortable beds helped for good sleep - other reviews have noted noisey corridors which we did not notice - but the towels are thin and on the small size. They were however clean.

Parking was busy but not an issue.

Pool was small and shady but we used it everyday - good for a quick swim.

Guest laundry was good.

Front desk service was mixed and despite being a platinum member of Marriott Rewards I was only given 2 vouchers for a breakfast pastry - whilst at other larger marriott
s we get a full breakfast for free.

Whilst in the area we visited:

The Muir Woods - go early to avoid the crowds.
Marin Mammal Center - instersting and worth the ride if you are already visitng the Marin Headlands
Pier 39 - tacky but fun
Bay Cruise - very good
Mels Drive In - retro fun

Room Tip: Away fom lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Lovely location near the water, lots of reasonable (& delicious) restaurants nearby, great little cafe right inside the hotel...and superb after-stay service when we forgot something in our room after checking out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed two nights while attending a wedding. The hotel is very modern, clean, and friendly. I would definitely stay here again, if I was in the area. There is a ferry very close to the hotel, if you want to go into San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We visited San Francisco during the U.S. Open in June 2012 so everything in the city was booked solid and we had to come north to Larkspur to find accommodations. We were concerned that we'd waste a lot of time driving into the city each day, but we were pleasantly surprised how quickly accessible San Francisco is from Larkspur. The hotel is in a beautiful location. Even the parking lot smells really good because of the wonderfully-scented foliage. We didn't take the ferry because it was more cost-effective to park in the city than to buy ferry tickets for four people each way, but the ferry was very close and convenient. This was an excellent "base camp" for exploring Marin and Sonoma counties as well as San Francisco itself. The room was pleasant and convenient and generously-sized. We opted to buy our own breakfast off-site so we didn't have any hassles with hotel restaurants or room service. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our ground-floor room featured its own outdoor entrance through a charming stone garden pathway. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area

Address: 2500 Larkspur Landing Circle, Larkspur, CA 94939
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Larkspur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkspur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area Hotel Larkspur
Courtyard Larkspur
Larkspur Marriott
Larkspur Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.