We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese & Chocolate fondue in a Historic Brick Kiln = cozy ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
125 E Sir Francis Drake Blvd, Larkspur, CA 94939-1860
415-461-6358
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 40 Restaurants in Larkspur
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Swiss, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: The Larkspur Ferry Terminal is located across the street, please click the following link for the schedule: http://goldengateferry.org/schedules/Larkspur.php
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cheese & Chocolate fondue in a Historic Brick Kiln = cozy ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I had been wanting to come to the Melting Pot in Larkspur because I heard it was located in a Brick Kiln and romantic. Already, when I think of fondue, I get a cozy feeling.
It was a quite Monday, the light was dim, we had a private table, and the brick ceiling above us curved. It felt like we were in a cave. It was intimate and relaxing.

We did not order one of the four-course fondue dinners, because we had a feeling that would be too much for us two. Instead we ordered one Swiss Cheese fondue/ ($16-serves 1-2), so we'd have room for a Chocolate Flaming Turtle fondue (serves 1-2).
That was perfectly enough for us.

The service was attentive and friendly. The cheese and chocolate were good, but not special. Same with the items you dip. Still, a nice place for Special Occasions, because it's a historic landmark, nice atmosphere, good size, and good service.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what it is”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Staff is nice but the food should be better for the prices they are charging...

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good Fondue, Very Good Wine List”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Melting Pot is pretty much fondue, fondue, and fondue--appetizers (cheese), entrees (steak, shrimp, cajun), and dessert (chocolate). It is well done for what it is, but know you are committed to fondue. The wine list is not what you would expect in a fondue restaurant, though, as it is quite extensive. My grown kids love it, but my wife and I are just so-so. The tab can also be quite high, when all is done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Cool building -mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

As other reviewers have mentioned, it is in an old brick kiln factory. There is a huge chimney outside and inside it is quite dark but the lighting is good and our booth was comfortable.

Second: our waitress was overbearing and overly inquisitive. The manager was nice and friendly.

Third: the food was mediocre and overpriced. One of my dinner companions said "The best part of the meal was the salad". And he was right.

It was fun to try it, but we will not be going back.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Fondue!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The atmosphere is cool. The food is delicious. The staff was helpful. I can not say anything bad about this restaurant. It was so much fun and the fondue was great!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

Larkspur, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 
Larkspur, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melting Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.