We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Lancaster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Lancaster to your Saves list
Motel 6 Lancaster
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   43540 17th Street West, Lancaster, CA 93534   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Lancaster
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The rooms are Gross. Being a single traveler, the 3 am pounding on my door, scared the crap out of me and the staff just offered to move me. I felt very unsafe. I have stayed at other motel 6 motels with great experiences. There are a lot of week workers who stay there, but also a lot of trash. So if your a guy who just wants to sleep, sleep and get out. but if you have kids you might want to find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    5
    1
    10
See reviews for
4
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I am a truck driver and had to lay over for one night. Typically, I like Motel 6. Not happy here...the bed was worn out, old and very uncomfortable, there was no shampoo, and the room was very bright because the drapes didn't keep the light out. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We recently moved from Ohio to Lancaster CA and needed a place to stay for 30 days while we waited on our new home to close. We stayed at several of the local hotels and motels looking for a place. I can only say that the Motel 6 in Lancaster is absolutely the WORST hotel we've ever stayed in! Absolutely NO amenities. We had to pay an additional fee to use the internet and then it wouldn't connect and they wouldn't refund the fee. They said there must be something wrong with my computer. REALLY?? We had no refrigerator, no microwave and possibly the oldest junkiest TV left on the planet! The only thing this hotel had going for it was Carrows Restaurant in the front parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

We're from sleepy England so places like this I thought only existed in US movies (bad ones).

The place was full of dealers, a Hispanic guy had his door open on the landing standing in his underwear for everyone to see walking up the stairs mumbling something I couldnt understand. Walking into the room to be fair was acceptable. Basic and in my view clean. This was an emergency stop for us so didn't expect the Ritz.

Constant car alarms, shouting and slamming doors add to the sense of menace and unpleasantness of the stay. If you can I would avoid.

The rate was $44(£28) so is cheap

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Everything you read in the previous reviews is accurate. We were headed to Palm Springs from San Simeon and decided to stop for the night around Palmdale. However, by the time we reached Lancaster, we were tired and decided to grab a room there. Big mistake. After a luke-warm reception at the check-in counter and a relatively high rate of $55/night for Motel 6, the first thing we encountered on our way to our room was a guy in a pickup truck in the parking lot BLASTING rap music at full volume and bass. We then saw a guy in dreadlocks come out from a room and it appears by his conversation with the occupant that they had just completed a drug deal. The pool was extremely filthy and when I walked up the stairs to the second level, I saw a girl about 5 years old completely alone standing by the staircase with no adult supervision (similar to what a previous reviewer had described). Our "non-smoking" room was about as smokey as a room could be, and the sink would not drain properly. After dinner, we decided to walk down the street where we saw a woman sitting on her front porch, clearly on drugs, while her toddler son was trying to climb over the front gate. Some of the people in the area looked dangerous seemed to loiter around the hotel and restaurant parking lots. The cherry on the top was when we were awakened during the night on three separate occasions to what we believe were the sound of gunshots. The motel next door looked a bit better and seemed to be cheaper, and other parts of Lancaster seemed reasonably clean and safe. However, Palmdale is only a few minutes down the road, and it seems like a much smaller and more rural area (i.e. safer). Unless your standards are extremely low (i.e. you're at home in the ghetto), I would avoid this place at all costs. It's more of the kind of experience I'd expect to find in south-central LA... only it's not. OK, you've been warned.

Room Tip: try a motel in a different city, like Palmdale
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

This is the worst motel I have ever stayed in. Once I booked my room I was stuck. What I mean by this is that they did not want to give my money back. The room was nasty. Had a terrible scent, bugs in the tub, one bed wasn't made, and the refrigerator was unplugged. After complaining they put me in another room which was clean, but I had a bug problem. The guy at the front desk acted like he didn't understand English when I told him that I needed to go to a bug free room. He made a sarcastic joke and said people from TX are used to those bugs, but I told him not in their room. I canceled the next night, but I was told that I couldn't get my money back, so I had to stay again. I used the bleach and comet to clean out the bathroom again. I also had to buy some towels b/c every towel in their bathroom, except 1 had some type of hair or spot on it. Please do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — nothing. it spoiled our trip.
  • Disliked — nasty rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

I read the other reviews that are posted, and started to look around for different accomadations, but thankfully stayed with my original reservation. I saw no signs of any drug deals or wierd people out and about. Maybe i was just lucky i did notice that the majority of the people staying that night were soccer families. The room was just what i expected when i booked it, small and clean, the only negative i have is make sure you bring your own shampoo, it was not provided like most hotels.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Lancaster

Address: 43540 17th Street West, Lancaster, CA 93534
Location: United States > California > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Lancaster 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Motel Six Lancaster
Lancaster Motel 6
Lancaster Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Lancaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.