We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite resort and casino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino
1932 Wildcat Canyon Road, Lakeside, CA 92040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“My favorite resort and casino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We go to Barona once a month. My husband goes here to play cards, and blackjack is his favorite game. I usually chat with my husband over a cup coffee at the restaurant called Café Sage, then read my e-books while he goes playing cards or golf. The hotel room when we stay is tastefully decorated, well stocked with coffee and different kinds of teas and automatic coffee maker, and the room is always spotless. I have enjoyed most Barona’s day spa services, and I like the facial the best, and the massage is a little too soft for me. The swimming pool is a bit small and shallow; hence it’s very popular and safe for the little children. If you are a serious or lap swimmer, then it’s not for you. The hot tub is nice. The pools can be very busy during the long weekends. I visited several popular casinos hotels in Las Vegas and a few others in San Diego area; however, Baron has the best free coffee, food and customer service that we have ever experienced. I have eaten every restaurant in this casino. I love the wonton noodle soup from Ho Wan in the food court, and I know wonton noodle soup and have eaten a lot of them when growing up! The noodle is very soft, and Barona ordered it from Los Angeles, and the soup is not too salty or greasy. My kids like 1 dollar delicious tacos from the Taco shop. Their buffet and steak house are also excellent but pricier as expected. The Asian food and deserts are pretty good at the buffet, but I don't eat there often. When we like a quiet and intimate dinner away from the roller-coaster on the casino floor, the steakhouse is a fabulous choice. It is not as noisy as Ruth’s steakhouse and Donovan's; our dining experience is always relaxing and flawless. Overall, the service is excellent and personal. I notice that staff are courteous and seem to enjoy at least appreciate their jobs because they greet you promptly, smile and make eye contact with the guests often, and I can’t say that for all the resorts I’ve been in locally and out-of-state. They aim to please and to provide personal touches and greetings to the visitors at the gate and the entrances. I don’t play golf, but I heard they have a very good and tough court. From the Café Sage, we can see that the scenery of the golf is beautiful, and it reminds me of a French country resort’s landscape I stayed a long time ago.
I recommend Barona for adults who want to unwind, have fun by playing golf or games and just to enjoy the different kinds of food and coffee.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor could be noisy during the weekends. Choose the room from 4th floor or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    42
    12
    13
    8
See reviews for
25
51
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We live in San Diego, but this is our first visit to Barona. The rooms are clean and spacious, especially for a family of five. The room has a mini fridge, work desk, table and chairs. Our wonderful view was of the golf course and lake. The staff is helpful, and willing to assist. Wi-fi worked well.

There is a food court if you don't want to eat at any of the resort restaurants. The buffet was disappointing. It cost $26.99 for all diners, even for a 5-year-old. My 5 and 8 y.o. did not eat $27 worth of food. There were many foods to sample but the quality isn't there.

Overall, the visit was terrific and will likely to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have always loved staying at Barona, the Staff is wonderful I love them all. But the last time I visited with 5 guest. We arrived on one of the Buses and planned to stay over. While waiting on a Shuttle to take us to the Hotel, one lady arrived at the Hotel only to notice that she left her purse at the Bus Stop. The Bell Boy called over and they said it was at the Security Office. This lady has a Health problem and has been given Medical Marijuana and has Certificate to carry, it is legal in the State of California. When Security went in her purse for ID, which was in her wallet they went through everything in her purse after finding the ID.
When she arrived they told her she was barred from the Casino and she was to sit out side and not to move or go inside. Please note that it was raining and windy, they told her if she wanted to get warm she could take one of the buses and go to El Cajon, if she had to go to the bathroom she could go to 7-11 . If you have been to Barona you know that there is no 7-11 within walking distance. She was not allow to come in to use bathroom. People kept going out to see if they could get her something warn to drink or food. She sat there for 2 hours before a nice Mangers came out and brought her in and asked if he could get her anything. She had to sit for 5 hours until the Bus took her back to LA. This was done by their Security Staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POWAY, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very disappointing, especially at the price of $26.99 ($21.59 with Casino card). Lots of choices but the quality is lacking. More attention should be focused on the cooking phase, so as to insure food is not over/under done. One of the items I choose was "bay shrimp" and found them to be mushy. Green beans were undercooked. The coconut shrimp gets a good grade, but the kale turned out a little salty.
I'm sorry to say I would recommend many of the other dining areas in the facility over the buffet. You should know I am not a "picky" eater, so I have to be disappointed to comment.

Room Tip: We live locally, so didn't stay over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here in a suite for a night just to getaway. It has a very nice ambience, very relaxing, staff are friendly, accommodating and professional. Rooms are spacious and clean. Room service are absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Barona Resort Hotel is one of our favorite "close to home" gataways. It is always extremely clean and well maintained, the rooms are spacious, many with views of the golf course and the mountains. Service is superior. The hall decorations are historical - very interesting. I don't gamble, only going through the casino for an excellent choice of places to eat. Gamblers seem to enjoy it. And, all ouside staff members wave to you, coming or going.

Room Tip: We like the golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Again, as I keep on saying I am an international traveller being an oversea worker in oil industries, I eat, drink, sleep and have some fun. If you try or you've been to Barona Resort Casino, you can compare the services with the top of the line airline stewardess; like Singapore, Cathy, KLM, JAL, Allia (Jordanian Air), Alitalia (Italian Air), American international flight also. The servers; Bell Boys, Valet, restaurant waitressess, Casino staffs are all pleasants and serve you with auto smile. As if you can't do no wrong, very accomodating. How about this; I'm in my room eating my own special prepared food, I need salt and pepper, ring the bell, that's all it takes. Got my own wine, need wine openner, ring the bell, few minutes, got the openner, delivery with usual standard Barona smile. It's all about the services, ladies and gentlemen, services, respect and honesty. I forgot my credit card, called the lost and found, I come and pick it up. Forgot my precious bracelet in my room, called and pick it up, nice and easy, smooth the way I intend to live. Thanks for reading.

Room Tip: Northside rooms with spa, overlooking the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino

Address: 1932 Wildcat Canyon Road, Lakeside, CA 92040
Location: United States > California > Lakeside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barona Valley Ranch Hotel Lakeside
Barona Valley Ranch Resort And Casino
Barona Valley Hotel
Barona Valley Resort
Barona Hotel And Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.