We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great resort, great steakhouse!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino
1932 Wildcat Canyon Road, Lakeside, CA 92040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great resort, great steakhouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

we stayed here on a mini staycation and it was great! the hotel staff was so friendly and accommodating. the rooms are large and comfortable. we ate at the steakhouse for dinner and it was amazing! great getaway!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    42
    12
    13
    8
See reviews for
27
52
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We enjoyed the room, swimming pool area, and casino. Walking into the hotel from the casino quickly reminds you that you do not have to be a gambler to stay here. Hanging by the pool and eating at the great restaurants is pretty relaxing here. The rooms are clean and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I spent one night at this hotel with my friend who is a paraplegic. The bed was too high for her to transfer onto it easily. The bed was also close to the wall. We decided we could handle these issues for one day's stay. When we went to the casino, we had to walk a quarter mile and part of it was uphill. After pushing the wheelchair, I was exhausted. CA has guidelines for handicap accommodations and this hotel/casino does not measure up. Also, when we booked, we asked for handicap accessible room. When we arrived, we were told they weren't sure they had one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We went for a quick get away, we were treated so well I can't wait to go back. From check-in to people on the floor. Everyone made us feel so special. FREE WiFi, bottled water in rooms. The grounds are beautiful and very nice room with all the amenities. Service on the casino floor was unbelievable!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Staff very friendly. The resort is in a beautiful valley that really helps you relax. Good value on room rates and the restaurant prices. Steak House had a great $21 prime rib dinner. Workout gym very good and had it all to myself. Golf course was fun and filled with wildlife to enjoy but they limit and count the number of beers they serve you. No bar on property as well. I know they have issue with drunk drivers heading down the mountain, but as a adult paying for a room at the resort to spend the night it is very frustrating to get a cocktail anywhere. So bring your own booze! I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Had a wonderful 5 day 4 night stay at the Barona. The hotel is nice the rooms are clean and the staff is very pleasant. The Golf course is spectacular. Greens are lightning fast, fairways are nice, layout is very challenging. The only complaint i have is the casino. I have been gambling in casinos(Atlantic City, Vegas, Caribbean) for nearly 18 years. I have never seen such amateur and idiotic gamblers in my life. Witnessed on multiple occasions while playing blackjack people doubling down on 17's and taking cards on 20. The comps offered or lack there of was quite humorous. I was told when i joined club barona to charge everything to the room and I would be comped for such things as meals, golf and the such. After gambling for 5 days for an average hand of $25 and 5-6 hours a day was given a grand total of $25 in comps. Like i said earlier I have been going to AC and Vegas for nearly 20 years and with that kind of play I would have been comped considerably more. If I go back to the Barona i sure will no go into the casino.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Stayed 5 days for a Pro-Am golf tourney. Casino was clean and they offered dinners for comps without having to bet a lot. Food at both Italian and Steak house were good. Nice wine selection. No liquor served inside casino due to weird liqour license. Massage in spa was average. Golf course was nice with fast and tricky greens, but they only sell beer and you can only buy 2 at a time, per person, and on your first 9 holes. Rooms were clean and well kept. Some people complained about thin walls and being able to hear the other rooms althoughI did not. Overall very nice!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino

Address: 1932 Wildcat Canyon Road, Lakeside, CA 92040
Location: United States > California > Lakeside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barona Valley Ranch Hotel Lakeside
Barona Valley Ranch Resort And Casino
Barona Valley Hotel
Barona Valley Resort
Barona Hotel And Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barona Valley Ranch Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.