We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins very run down, not clean” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Crest Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakeshore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Crest Resort
Save
You added Cedar Crest Resort to your Saves list
61011 Cedar Crest Lane, PO Box 163, Lakeshore, Huntington Lake, CA 93634   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cabins very run down, not clean”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I were really looking forward to staying in a rustic cabin at the lake. We are getting older and cannot backpack anymore due to back and hip problems. Anyway, we found that the cabins were not maintained at all, with doors and windows not fitting. The curtains were tattered cloth barely covering the window. No lock for the door except a padlock, but the screws of the hasp were pulled out. We tried finding a better cabin and looked at about 5, all were pretty dirty and some being propped up by boards. The kitchen in the best one we found, was small, which was OK, but the frying pan provided was very sticky, the coffee perculator still had coffee in it and I couldn't find a pot. When I turned on the sink water, I heard water below it and found the pot there catching the water from the drain, which wasn't connected.

Needless to say, we found another resort nearby with clean, functional cabins and switched there without staying the night. I paid in full for 4 nights, and when I cancelled I offered to pay for one night, even though we didn't stay. They readily refunded the 3 nights and it was worth one night fee to move.

I must say the people working there were friendly and the location was excellent, but the condition of the entire resort was extremely rundown. If you have an RV or trailer, it might be a very good place to stay, but I don't recommend the cabins.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captbarry86, Manager at Cedar Crest Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
These were very nice people but they were told we were in the process of shutting down for the season! We only had a few cabins left open and tried our best to accommodate them as we do maintenance and work hard this time of year fixing things before it snows! These cabins were built in the 30's and 40's and rustic but clean and nice with great views! We gladly refunded there money and suggested other options as they would have never been happy here even in our very best cabin plus I feel not happy at most places in the back-country!! Cedar Crest Resort is a very magic place and we try hard to make it better every year with improvements and more modern amenities but feel the historic ambiance is also important as you do feel like you went back in time at this wonderful incredibly beautiful old place that is still alive for over 90 years now!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    5
    1
    16
See reviews for
18
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I planned a last minute trip to Huntington Lake last year and picked Cedar Crest because we heard an ad on KMJ radio for it. We didn't know what to expect, but when we got there on a Friday night, they had a BBQ meal and a live band. They had a firepit and a movie playing. The staff made us feel so welcome and comfortable. We had a blast hanging out at the bar. As for the cabins, we had the honeymoon cabin which had a fireplace in it. It was an old rustic cabin, but it was cozy for my husband and I. If your looking for a flat lander spa resort, this is not a place for you. If you are looking for a fun cozy cabin, you will have a blast! We really enjoyed it, and are planning a trip back this year!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This camp resort was much better than we expected. The captain and the crew went all out to accomodate us. All of our request were met with courteous responses. This is a very clean resort. The access to the lake was excellent with many trails down the mountain side and road access just south of the General Store. We camped with a 28' motorhome and had a great spot with lake view. The restrooms and showers were clean and there was plenty of water. Our little dog (abby)had the time of her life. We caught fish, did some metal detecting, hiked along the many trails, drove our jeep around the lake and just had a great time. But the most important part of it all was the friendly staff and their effort to see to our needs. I will definately come back to this resort and will recommend Cedar Crest Resort to my family and friends.

Room Tip: we did not stay in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stopped in back in August for a bite to fill the tummies of hungry little kids - they got passable hot dogs and fries. A small juice glass full of milk was $4 each - that is right - $4 each glass! Adults ordered an assortment of appetizers- chicken wings were cold and raw in the middle. Onion rings were greasy. 3 appetizers, 2 kids meals , 4 glasses iced tea and 2 milks were $85. At least we got served- the folks at our neighboring table were just getting their wilted ice berg lettuce salads when we left and they were there before us. Menu had fancy steaks and seafood items which I was not going to try - esp at $20 and up for the least expensive entree. Beautiful view from the deck - get a beer to cool off and then head elsewhere to eat. Highlight were the cute dogs on site who came to visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captbarry86, Owner at Cedar Crest Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
We have a whole new kitchen staff this year 2012 and our menu is changing for the best! Come and try our up graded facility; beautiful terrace deck and the best view and new food at the lake!!! This seriously desires a second chance!! Thanking you I am ~~~~ Captbarry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa mesa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Thank you Cedar Crest for a wonderful time. The lake view from our cabin and from the new deck was spectacular. The people working there and the owner Captain Barry made us feel like family.
We love the fact we could bring our dog."dingle dangle", We just had a really good time. relaxing around after dinner listening to Capt. Barry play his keyboard. We are planning to come back with a bunch of friends and wear out that dance floor. The live band made the evening. We would make a trip up for the night just to hear
Rob Staley Band ! They rock.. Thank you all again for the wonderful vacation Captain and crew of cedar crest Sincerely, the Mueller family

Room Tip: bring a flashlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This place was a lots of fun, but if you are spoiled, don't go - simple as that. Sure, the cabins are old and rustic and there are a couple of spiders and things don't shut all the way. Obviously don't expect to go there to be pampered and hop into a jacuzzi and then over to the spa because quite frankly there is none. I brought my wife, 10 year old and 2 year old daughters and they all had a great time. Too bad I could only stay one night. Cabin number 5 was on quite a steep slope, so also don't go if you have mobility issues. All in all a great experience. This is the great outdoors and time to be one with nature in beautiful Huntington Lake. Valet parking for your $50,000 Beamer is at Huntington Beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Cedar Crest was great. This is camping people, not fancy at all and yes the cabins are old, go prepared. The Huntington Lake experience is more about the Lake, Mountains, Outdoors and enjoying God's country. If you want to be pampered, spolied and waited on then by all means don't go here. :o)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Resort

Address: 61011 Cedar Crest Lane, PO Box 163, Lakeshore, Huntington Lake, CA 93634
Location: United States > California > Huntington Lake > Lakeshore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lakeshore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a backwoods rustic mountain lodge lake-view on Huntington Lake in the High Sierra! We have campgrounds, RV sites, Tent Cabins,camping Cabins with kitchens, Store, Restaurant, Bar, Marina, Boat rental, Hot Showers for campers and dump site for RVs!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Crest Hotel Huntington Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Crest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.