We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want the Hilton and 5-Star Ammenities, go to the city...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Crest Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakeshore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Crest Resort
Save
You added Cedar Crest Resort to your Saves list
61011 Cedar Crest Lane, PO Box 163, Lakeshore, CA 93634   |  
Hotel amenities
Clovis, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you want the Hilton and 5-Star Ammenities, go to the city...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This place was a lots of fun, but if you are spoiled, don't go - simple as that. Sure, the cabins are old and rustic and there are a couple of spiders and things don't shut all the way. Obviously don't expect to go there to be pampered and hop into a jacuzzi and then over to the spa because quite frankly there is none. I brought my wife, 10 year old and 2 year old daughters and they all had a great time. Too bad I could only stay one night. Cabin number 5 was on quite a steep slope, so also don't go if you have mobility issues. All in all a great experience. This is the great outdoors and time to be one with nature in beautiful Huntington Lake. Valet parking for your $50,000 Beamer is at Huntington Beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    5
    1
    16
See reviews for
18
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Cedar Crest was great. This is camping people, not fancy at all and yes the cabins are old, go prepared. The Huntington Lake experience is more about the Lake, Mountains, Outdoors and enjoying God's country. If you want to be pampered, spolied and waited on then by all means don't go here. :o)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

After reading the reviews below I am a little confused, did I go to the same place as these people ? did they not realise that these are cabins built in the 1920's / 1930's and they are in the middle of the forest that has spiders bears and mosquitos ??? I stayed here three weeks and loved it. With regard to the food I ate there most days had no problem getting served and the food is always great. I live in central London so I know good food.
It is really relaxed safe atmosphere. I never locked my room ever. it is a safe place for kids to run around and enjoy themselves. At night there is a big bonfire and they show movies for the kids and toast marshmallows around the fire.
My bed linen and towels were never dirty. Yes it got a bit chilly at night but never to the extent that you needed a heater on, a sweat shirt maybe but hey you are in the mountains .... remember !!! Oh and wouldn't you bring along a torch when you stay in a forest ?? Doesn't that add to the fun of it all ? The main buildings are lit, do you really want lighting all around the forest ?
Re rubbish on the ground the only time I ever saw rubbish on the ground was when a bear tipped over the trash container.
Also the outside deck will running water and ponds is lovely a great place to eat breakfast and gaze at the lake through the trees.
The bar is great fun especially when Captain Barry gets up to play and sing. I have stayed in many of the best hotels around the world, this is not a hotel this is an experience of living in the forest and with fantastic views of the lake and being close to nature.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Rustic is too kind a word to describe this place.

Bathroom and kitchen water drain right outside the kitchen window. The staff obviously know about this as they try to divert the water with a piece of hose.

Blankets are unclean and don't fit the beds - there were twin blankets on queen beds. One of the beds sagged so badly, the kids kept rolling into each other (probably a good thing since their blanket was too small - ha ha)

Yes, the location is amazing - with views off the rickety deck over the beautiful lake. The knotty pine walls in the bedrooms are also nice and homey. But the bathroom was disgusting with pealing paint, mold, cracked linoleum and dirty towels.

We did read the reviews before going and foolishly didn't take heed. Why? Because we like rustic and woodsy (originally from Tahoe). We thought maybe people were just complaining (like the good Capt. says). This place IS in a beautiful spot. It also definitely has potential if the proprietors just took care of it. But the way it's run currently is unsanitary and potentially unsafe.

It's definitely overpriced at $155 a night. The only reason we rated it poor instead of terrible is because of views.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captbarry86, Owner at Cedar Crest Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
I wish people like this took two minutes of time to understand reality and realize what liars and phonies they are!!!~ Do all know that we only have 4 months a year to open (from completely boarded up), clean, shampoo, fix everything, stock a store, restaurant and bar, build new improvements, cater to customers, get boats running and in the water, computers, paperwork, government land and rules, state and county water and health standards (A rating buy the way), BBB A+ status, plus just breath and live before it starts snowing again and we have to close down just to do it all again next year! (15 to 20 feet of snow a season!!! ) If you think i am getting rich you better come and work for me for even a week and see the truth!!! People that write this kind of nonsense have no idea of how hard everyone works here for little to no pay and how much money goes into keeping this old wonderful place on the map!!! Sure things break and we fix them but we don't just let things stay broken, lying around and these statements are flat out lies!!!!! This property and place in general is so wonderful; yes just a real piece of heaven and a place of pure magic and joy!! We spend all money made and then some every year making this Resort better and better!! Most of my employee's have worked for me for years and at least one month a year voluntary as there is no money left by the end of Sept!! ~~~~ but all stay on and help anyways as this is a magic place uin history that we all love plus want to see stay alive for many years to come!!! I don't see these complaining customer people volunteering to help keep public lands and special places open like all us a Cedar Crest Do!! They do have the arragonce and nerve touugh if you notice to volunteer gobbledygook and to lie and WHINE plus will never see the real picture!!! If you want the truth just come up and feel the magic!!! Thanking you I am ~~~Capt. Barry R. Fitt !!! * US Coast Guard Master
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lakeshore hotels

dana point ca
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I have been going to Huntington Lake for over 50 years. I have visited the restaurant, several times, and even though my husband and adult son both got food poisening from eating there 3 years ago, we decided it was a fluke( it was not) and we decided to treat our grandkids and family of 6 to a stay at Cedar Crest. We arrived and hiked down an extremely steep and unmarked trail, so strewn with trash as old water heaters etc, and it was difficult to tell where the cabin was. The exterior was in such bad condition it was concerning. As we entered I can only say I did not want to even walk all the way in, but we all did go in. Huge spider webs draped across ceilings and corners, in both the kitchen and living room/bedroom. Nothing was clean, maybe the towels, but the kitchen floor was filthy, food and dirt in the sink which was all rusted and disgusting. The shower and bathroom are from the 30's alright, so small and a HUGE Wolf spider was waiting for anyone who wanted to enter the shower. The whole place was disgusting and a pit. The campgrounds are a much cleaner and safer choice. I have stayed at the other accomodations in the area and even though they are old, they are clean and well kept. Do not go here, I can't imagine anyone who would be ok with the unkept condition and spider webs, really, it looked like something out of a horror movie!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captbarry86, Owner at Cedar Crest Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
First off we have never had any problems with our restaurant and have a A rating from the Health Dept. !! Second there are no garbage piles around as stated and this is a lie! Third spiders can build a web in less that a day and we are deep in the forest where spiders and bugs and animals and bears live!! Dirty and filthy is a flat out lie so the condo in Mission Bay would be better for these people!! We have a A+ rating from the BBB and the best restaurant (top notch) and views on the whole mountain!! Come feel the magic!!!! Thanking you I am ~~~ Capt Barry R. Fitt ~ US Coast Guard Master!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This resort was a huge disappointment. It was so uninviting that we would have left if there were vacancies in the area. Our cabin did have a lake view but it was a tumbledown shack. We couldn't even find it since there were no markers, lights or paths to it. Instead we had to dangerously climb over boulders and down a slippery slope with our luggage and hunt around until we found it. The heater was broken and replaced with a portable small one that barely took the chill off of the bedroom. We ate our breakfast in bed as we were freezing in the morning and the kitchen was dirty with old food found in the sink. Old broken junk was strewn around the area and the main building had latticework falling off of the building. To say it was delapidated was an understatement. The restaurant was very overpriced so we ate elsewhere. The GM was very friendly but he was very dirty in appearance. Stay away!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captbarry86, Guest Relations Manager at Cedar Crest Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Does the statement rent a condo in Mission Bay come to mind when you read this! Plus I'm sure the Denneys next to the Motel 6 would suit these people much better!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denair,
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The worst accomodations we have ever experienced!! The cabin door would not open without a full body force. All interior doors did not open or close completely. The interior has not been redone since the 1930 depression. The wall heater did not work and a tiny portable heater was our only source of inadequate warmth in this freezing cabin. The kitchen sink was dirty with rice krispies and dirt left over from who knows when. Our promise for it to be cleaned was never taken care of. Floor was unswept and not enough linens for all of us. There was even a spider web on the dinner plates inside the cabinet. The pathway to the cabin was dangerous, steep, unmarked, unlit and rocky. Restaurant prices were outrageously high for such a dump! $28.00 for a steak?? You have to be kidding?! $120.00 a night for this dump? DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captbarry86, Owner at Cedar Crest Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
This is a backwoods rustic Resort built in 1921 not the Hilton in Hawaii!! We have a very short season and spend everything made every year and then some keeping this wonderful magic place open for the public!! Freezing in July NONSENCE!! This place is under 20 feet of snow every winter and the buildings shift around!! Linens delivered every week that are clean and perfect and plenty of them!! The cabins are rustic, clean, quaint and very nice! Try traveling with a flash light next time! Everyone that comes here should be glad these people will never come back!! As to our Restaurant the food is the finest anywhere!! Dry aged free range steaks from Willamette Valley, Oregon! Fresh flash frozen Salmon and Maui-Maui flown in from Alaska and Hawaii. Prime rib on the weekends plus top quality food in general at very reasonable prices! They didn't even eat here but have the nerve to complain??? Typical whiners that should never come back to the mountains!! Good Riddance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Resort

Address: 61011 Cedar Crest Lane, PO Box 163, Lakeshore, CA 93634
Location: United States > California > Lakeshore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lakeshore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a backwoods rustic mountain lodge lake-view on Huntington Lake in the High Sierra! We have campgrounds, RV sites, Tent Cabins,camping Cabins with kitchens, Store, Restaurant, Bar, Marina, Boat rental, Hot Showers for campers and dump site for RVs!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Crest Hotel Huntington Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Crest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.