We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good changes and relaxing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skylark Shores Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Skylark Shores Resort to your Saves list
Skylark Shores Resort
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1120 North Main Street, Lakeport, CA 95453   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lakeport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vacaville, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“good changes and relaxing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

We stayed here Apr.13-15, I can tell you first hand that they have changed the bedspreads, carpet, curtains and have painted everything. If you enjoy being at the lake, on the water for a reasonable price, book a lakefront room on the second floor. Ours was room 233. Mind you there is no elevator, it's an easy small flight of stairs. There's no tub but a decent sized shower, water pressure was good. Take a couple extra pillows 'cause theirs are small. The room was nice sized, never felt crowded. Had a micowave, small coffee maker and fridge (the fridge was larger than we've seen at other hotels and worked fine). We did not use the pool, way too cold. Even though it got pretty cold at night we never had to use the heater or air conditioner.
Being right on the lake with nice property, they can easily charge more for the rooms, we only paid 98 a night, a fair price I thought for the view if nothing else.

  • Liked — Great view.
  • Disliked — Towels were thin.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
25
13
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville,Ca
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2006

For someone who has been going to this hotel since 1996 I will NOT!!! be going back next year!!!. SInce the new owners took over are visit in the summer of 2005 was so-so the hotel needs work. Walls/ carpets bathrooms/ beds etc. DIRTY!!!! Your feet turn black from walking on the carpet Must keep shoes on. This trip in July of 2006 was not any better the new office staff is anything but NICE they don't care who you are or how long you have been coming to this resort, they treat you like cattle, forget trying to get extra towles, or should I just say any kind of service other than taking you money. They messed up our reservation for next year(2007) and the sad part is they didn't care it was oh well book a different time. Plus they still have not done anything to improve the hotel DIRTY!!!!!! It is to bad because it is on the lake and that little town needs all the tourists it can get. Do your self a favor and don't stay there!!!!!

Michele

  • Liked — The only thing is it is lake front
  • Disliked — How dirty the hotel is/ the staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Visit lakeport great lake for fishing/sking
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

I am not sure why people are given the place bad reviews. The place is moderate and has all the amenities needed when you are traveling to lakeport. I've gone to the place for the last 3 years a love it!!! I guess the pass reviews are based on your own personal opinions. The place is great for families and is for the budget travelers. I've stayed at top notch resorts for example the Ritz Carlton Maui and based on the rating by AAA the place serves it purpose. :-)

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2006

We were also recommeded to this place, and it was disgusting. We had to wait for them to clean our room and then the bathroom wasn't even clean! We have a little girl and I didn't even want her to walk on the carpet without shoes on! Would definitely NOT recommend this place.

Stayed October 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2006

We were told this was a good place to spend a few day's relaxing, what a DUMP.When we stayed here we found out this place flooded in 97, guess what it look's like all the room's have the same carpet,furniture,and they even haven't repainted the rooms. Carpet's need to be torn out they were BLACK. Bathroom's were moldy, towels are soooooo old, and the bed's must be 20 years old. Staff here mgr/owner or what ever have need to get a lesson in guest relations, they were the worse people to even get a towel from. I wonder were they got these people from motels R US, they treat us like cattle.We are trying to get our money back from our cc company, we also have wrote to the chamber of commerce of lakeport the problems this place has.Ground's were filthy, room's were filthy,bathrooms were filthy, i won't say anymore, just NEVER stay here, we fell like they stole our money. Just 1 last note both me & my husbund our retired and in our 70"S.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrskylark, general manager at Skylark Shores Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2007
it is hard to respond to negative , derogatory remarks when they apply to a time and situation before me. i would like to state the following, for all past guests especially: we are now under new management, the entirety of the resort staff is new. emphasis has been placed on customer service . we have new carpets, furniture, etc., etc., we have a tremendous amount to offer and are extremely proud of the property. all that i ask, is that if you stayed once before, and had a negative experience- call and ask for me- let me make it worth your while to test us, and try us again. i firmly believe that you will not be disappointed. --kevin shelnutt, General manager, skylark shores resort, lakeport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2005

The worst three diamond motel we have ever stayed. The staff was unfriendly, the rooms were very dirty, and the whole experience was most unpleasant. For the amount of money charged we feel that we were taken advantage of. Would NEVER recommend this motel to anyone. We were looking for a pleasant get-away from home and this was not it.

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skylark Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylark Shores Resort

Address: 1120 North Main Street, Lakeport, CA 95453
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Lakeport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lakeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Skylark Shores Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in beautiful Clear Lake in Lakeport, California. We offer the finest accommodations in Lakeport. Our resort has spacious lawns roll right up to the lake shore with breathtaking views of Mt. Konocti, Clear Lake's ageless volcanic companion. If you would like to experience natural beauty of Clear Lake, we have the views to prove it. Our legendary waterfront setting pairs up to create the perfect environment for the good times that fond lifetime memories are made of. Join us at Skylark Shores Resort on Clear Lake, in Lakeport, California. We are best lakefront hotel in Lakeport. Plan your perfect getaway with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Skylark Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylark Shores Hotel Lakeport
Skylark Shores Motel
Skylark Shores Resort Lakeport, CA - Lake County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skylark Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.