We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mallard House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mallard House to your Saves list
Mallard House
970 North Main Street, Lakeport, CA 95453   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Lakeport B&B and Inns
Caumont-sur-Durance
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Poor Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Mallard House Inn. It is a basic inn, with basic deco and comfort. Very little information given by the owner on what to do and where to eat at Lakeport. A drawer was missing on the chest of drawers. Little phonic insulation which means you can benefit from the neighbor's television.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
9
7
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

After being disappointed several times we have made it a point to always stay at the Mallard House in Lakeport. The property in located next to the lake and is a few blocks away from Safeway and CVS pharmacy. Across the street is Renee's, a breakfast and lunch restauraunt favored by the locals. Every room that we've stayed in has an adequately supplied full kitchen. There is a dock on the property leading to a raised platform overlooking the lake.

The price at $79 to $119 is an excellent value and there are usually rooms available on fairly short notice. All the rooms are "cottages" which are primarily duplexes, but older and made of wood. There are small sitting porches outside of most of the rooms with chairs for enjoying the morning or evening hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Wife and I have stayed here a lot over the past 8 years or so. This time we spent the entire month of April. Our cabin had plenty of room, full kitchen, cable TV, WIFI, and everything we needed for a long term fishing and golf vacation. Lilly was incredibly attentive throughout our stay to making sure everything was ok. She really cares.

Comfortable beds, clean linens, great location within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and major chain grocery store and pharmacy. Being on the lake makes it great to keep your boat in the water at their docks or launch it less than a half mile away at the public launch in downtown Lakeport. A great getaway place on a fantastic fishery but you'll enjoy your stay at Mallard House even if you just want to sit by the lake, relax, and enjoy the view.

Room Tip: We have never been disappointed and have stayed in most of the cabins at one time or another. Depend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Mallard House in Lakeport and the woman at the desk (also the owner?) named Lily was absolutely terrific! She seemed to really care about her guests and she went out of her way to let us find a room suited to our needs. Those are details that become important when you're travelling, tired, hungry, lost etc. It was like going home. On the other hand (and unfortunately) the property needs thousands of dollars of repairs and is pretty run down and patched together. The shower stall had grout missing and the walls had been covered with some plastic wallboard material and just screwed on over the original tile walls. The sink had been incorrectly installed and the whole thing sagged alarmingly and well as the odd placement, in the corner of the bedroom. Our room faced the street and was too noisy for me to sleep well - I would definitely pick one of the rooms towards the back of the property. The coffee pot was stacked on the top of the microwave which was on a dresser and if was really hard to make coffee without pouring water all over the place. The rug seemed ucky - like you wouldn't want to walk on it barefooted. And the sheets and pillowcases hadn't been rinsed enough - the bleach was an irritant to my skin.
The elevated dock on the property that juts out over Clearlake is really wonderful. We enjoyed the sunsets from this great vantage point.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the lake are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Mallard House is great, would be especially great for boaters, although I don't have a boat. I have stayed here numerous times, have my favorite cabin. I would have written a review before, but didn't know I was supposed to. I was disappointed to hear someone complaining about car noise - I always stay on the street side, and have never had a problem. There's not that much traffic in Lakeport anyway. Rooms are all clean, varying sizes and prices, well worth the money, and, I think, a great location. The are outfitted with kitchens, so you can save money on food. Lilly is wonderful, as are Clyde and Christopher. Only thing wrong is Christopher is so tall, which makes me feel old. I would never stay anywhere else.

P.S. The beds are comfortable and there's DSL.

Room Tip: Decide how much time you will spend in the room vs how much you want to spend. I spend more time tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We've been staying at the Mallard House for a few years now, mainly over the 4th of July. Lily is always friendly and remembers us by name. The rooms have everything that we need including a small kitchen with a full sized refrigerator. The Safeway grocery store is a couple of miles away, so we can buy what we need and use the propane or charcoal grill that is available to the guests. We always end up eating outside and enjoying the view of the lake and warm weather. The 4th of July fireworks were superb and we are always surprised at the amazing show for such a little town. Looking forward to going back!

I noticed some reviews discuss the lake and the friendliness of the staff. It is a warm water lake, so it won't be crystal clear like Tahoe, but you can swim in it for as long as you want without turning blue. I do recommend taking the boat out a little ways from the shore before getting in. As far as Lily, our experience with her has always been terrific. She has gone out of her way to give us extras if needed, even giving us spoons from her own kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We didn't want to spend a lot on fancy hotel, so we chose this cottage style inn for a very reasonable price. I didn't see many pictures on their website so I was kinda worried.., but when we arrived we found everything's just great:) The room is clean and tidy, and the location is perfect. We booked a kitchenette which was very convenient, even though it's not big everything you need is there...They also have barbecue areas on the lawn by the lake...
The owner of the inn is a very nice lady who's very warmhearted and talkative.Before we left we had some fruit that we couldn't finish and she gave us two lunch boxes so that we could take it with us on the road:)
Anyway, we enjoyed the stay there quite a lot and if the owner saw this review here's my recommendation: take more beautiful pictures of your inn and put it on your website! (the pictures on your website now are just too small!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mallard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallard House

Address: 970 North Main Street, Lakeport, CA 95453
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Lakeport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lakeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Mallard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mallard House Lakeport, CA - Lake County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mallard House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.