We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat this view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Cove Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Isabella
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Cove Lodge
Save
You added Paradise Cove Lodge to your Saves list
10700 Highway 178, Lake Isabella, CA 93240   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“You can't beat this view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This place is all about LOCATION. We found it by chance on our way through the Sierra without any prebooked hotels. Usually we stay in 4 or 5 star properties, but Paradise Cove looked like a movie set from the street- so we gave it a try. Yes - it is not the Ritz. But: stay her for one night and you will never forget it. The view and the fresh air and the wilderness feeling are unbeatable. We forgot about many of the high end hotels we have stayed in - but we will never forget the view and the feel when stepping out on the porch of paradise cove in the early morning.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011 via mobile

Lake -sabellas best kept secret! The family run atmosphere, friendly accomidating staff, breth taking views! What morew could you want. Yes.....rooms are older , But clean. We are already planning our next trip! Been there twice in a month. The only thing I can say is missing is a pool. The food in the dining was excellent! Full bar with super duper Long Island Iced teas! Try it. You might like it. We sure do!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This lodge / motel / hotel has a fantastic view from the rooms (Lake Isabella) and that's just about it! The bed and towels were OK (and clean) but everything else had a 'dirty feel' - even the TV handset! The amenities were sadly lacking - some of the electrical fittings looked positively dangerous - no coffee maker and the shower/bathroom looked like it could do with a serious refurb!
We stayed at the Hyatt Place (Phoenix) before and Comfort Inn (Lone Pine) after for less dollars and both gave fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: If you HAVE to stay here ask to check the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Isabella hotels

east bay SF, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I feel really bad giving this place a bad review because it's a family run joint, which I try to support, and the people working there are incredibly nice. The other disclaimer is that we stayed there in March and everything around Lake Isabella is clearly there for summer tourists. We were just passing through on the way to Death Valley.

Overall, we paid $70-ish for the room and I've stayed in way better, for way less money.

OK, we checked into the room and the furniture and fixtures were about 40 years old. Not kidding. The bed had a certain slingshot quality to it. It seemed clean-ish then i noticed the remote has something smeared all over it. Like someone let their 4 year old eat oatmeal and watch TV at the same time. The biggest problem I had with the room was the very noticeable, constant draft. It was windy as hell that night (like 30+ mph gusts, all night) and you could feel an ever present flow of cold air through the room. I tried to cut them some slack because I understand they don't have the $2000 needed to remodel the bathroom. But seriously, $1 worth of caulk around the bathroom window and a $10 threshold under the door would have blocked a lot of the cold air moving. It also didn't help that there was a fan/AC type thing mounted on the wall ducted to the ceiling that apparently had no form of damper on it. I'm sure it's great in the summer but in March all it does is leak tons of cold air into the room. We had the heat on full blast from the moment we entered the room and it didn't get warm enough until midnight, at which point it was sweltering. No actual thermostat, just a knob on the heater.

If you're just passing through, heed the following advice. I've stayed at the motel 6 in Ridgecrest (one hour east of lake isabella) for a lot less money and enjoyed it a lot more. I'm guessing Bakersfield (one hour west) is the same way.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Travelled to Lake Isabella and met family before heading up to Sequoia Nat'l Park.
We stayed in the Paradise Cove Lodge/Hotel, directly across from the lake. The view of the lake from the hotel is just beautiful. I believe our room was around 74.00 per night.
The rooms are decent enough. Ours had two beds, a king and a double. It had a regular TV with Dish network I believe and a sitting area. The bathroom was pretty small with a shower.

This is NOT a fancy place. Think along the lines of Travelodge or Howard Johnson. However, you are out in the Mountains, so I thought it was decent enough considering where we were. It was better than camping to me. Saw some bugs in and around the room, but again, you have to think of your location. The bedding and decor could use some updating, but I just don't think they get enough people out there to really care. It's a shame because it could be a great place. Did not eat at the restaurant, but my dad did and he said the food was great and the place did fill up with locals. The caretaker was very accommodating. There is also an outdoor patio area with a grill/firepit and we did have a fire one night.

We also rented a pontoon boat and boated around the lake one day. There was a lot of algae which in turn led to a lot of little flying gnats all over. Some parts of the lake were pretty clear though. Saw lots of people fishing.

I would recommend this to someone passing through or planning a stay, but would just remind them to expect more of a state park type of accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

I stayed there last night. This lodge is directly across the highway from a campground and has gorgeous views of Lake Isabella. Rather rustic - no phones in the room, a shower and modest accommodations. The heater from the floor under the window has a difficult quarter sized knob to turn on. It is slow to heat ( as warned by operator) but after two hours of keeping it on, my room was nice and warm when I returned. Clean towels, a few bars of soap, a built in shampoo dispenser in the shower, hair dryer were provided. There is no dining room available except dinner beginning Wednesday evenings ( open from 5 to 9 pm only). Food was great. Prepare to bring your own dinner Monday and Tuesday or you can drive east of the hotel, about 2 miles to Mt. Mesa where a couple of cafes are available. The dining room upstairs is comfortable with helpful staff. You cannot see the lake at night but if they are open for lunch ( which they are not) it would be a great view. Don't forget your cell phone as you cannot call out. Probably operates during peak seasons - when boating and camping are in full force at the lake and at the Kern River. I paid $68.00 for one night. I could not sleep because the toilet ran and "flushed' itself all night long! Check out is simple once you paid your fees... "leave the key on the dresser". Clean bedsheets but they could use some new pillows. They were rather lumpy and had previous good use.

  • Liked — location near the lake
  • Disliked — lack of daytime amenities, no phone and plumbing problem ( toilet flushing on its own)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

This weekend we stayed at the Paradise Cove campgrounds on Isabella Lake. Our hope was that we would find a closer, drive-up camping alternative to Lake Mojave on the Colorador River, which is where we usually go for our camping/wakeboarding trips. Unfortunately, this spot doesn't measure up. The campground was filthy--I couldn't believe how much litter was on the ground. There are very few trees, and therefore not much shade. Also, no privacy at the sites. The lake was OK, but the water wasn't clear and clean looking like Lake Mojave, and it was incredibly muddy near the shore. There are also lots of submerged trees in the lake, so you really have to be on the lookout while driving the boat. In spite of all that, we did manage to have fun wakeboarding, but we probably won't return to this lake. We'll try San Antonio Lake next.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Lodge

Address: 10700 Highway 178, Lake Isabella, CA 93240
Location: United States > California > Lake Isabella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lake Isabella
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Hotel Lake Isabella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Cove Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.