We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Mountain Dining and Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Saddleback Grill and Bar

The Saddleback Grill and Bar
300 S. State Highway 173, Saddleback Inn, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352
9093373113
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming Mountain Dining and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We dined at The Grill at Saddleback Inn on the Sunday after Thanksgiving. The wood and stone entrance to this mountain inn dining establishment was charming. A wonderful carving of bears scaling a tree trunk was fashioned from, no doubt, an old pine that had once stood at the entrance. Walking into the dining room, we were welcomed and seated immediately.

The decor is warm and charming and the staff were very attentive. The menu had adequate choice.

The Chicken Pot Pie appetizer was outstanding. The poached pear and gorgonzola salads were very good.

For the entrees, we dined on grilled sole, grilled salmon and surf and turf. Each of the fish dishes were very tasty and the different sauces that accompanied each were flavored well. The surf and turf was well prepared and included a perfectly done, tender steak with big succulent shrimp. All meals included a fresh medley of green beans, red onion and red peppers. We were all pleased with our entrees.

We shared a portion of baked cheesecake for dessert. It was average, but satisfied our sweet tooth. I wouldn't bother with it again.

The prices are fine for the quality and quantity of the fare.

On our way out, the door was opened for us by a member of the staff and we were wished a pleasant evening. In all, a very nice dining experience.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

Great food - large portions. Loved the ribs and my wife liked her chicken dish. Service was also great. Very attentive. 
Not overpriced for the quality and service. 
Wines were not cheap but about what you pay at other nice places. 
Also enjoyed the live music.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good servive, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Good service but we had to send some meals back, mine was good though.
Overpriced for what we got, we didnt go back there, better options locally

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
1 review
“Wunderful Flavorfull and Full”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Now this is a Lodge and In and a restaurant that is superior
Charming and ooozing with history.
Food was outstanding nothing bad on the menu.
Staff brilliant and the place was packed

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed at the Saddleback Inn so we thought we would give the restaurant a chance. We were pleasantly surprised. First of all, the restaurant did not look like it should be in the middle of nowhere. It had a very warm and sophisticated feel. The staff was very attentive and conscientious of our needs. The food was very good (the best I've had in Arrowhead/ Big Bear region). While it was not cheap, the food and the service made it worth every penny.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saddleback Grill and Bar also viewed

Twin Peaks, Lake Arrowhead
Blue Jay, Lake Arrowhead
 
Lake Arrowhead, CA
 

Been to The Saddleback Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saddleback Grill and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.