We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fleur de Lac European Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Arrowhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fleur de Lac European Inn B&B
Save
You added Fleur de Lac European Inn B&B to your Saves list
285 Highway 173, PO Box 2688, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We have stayed at the Fleur de Lac 3 times and have always had a wonderful experience. First, the owner, Roscoe is oh so nice! Second, the place is very quaint and we just loved our room! Third, the location is un-beatable, just across the street from the Village and the Lake...we will definitely be coming back for years to come!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    4
    4
    15
See reviews for
5
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I booked a surprise getaway for my boyfriends birthday, was very excited to get there and experience all the website beauties. WHAT A JOKE! the pictures on the web site must be over 10 years old. The place looked very run down, and the beautiful fountain in the so called courtyard, not there! We did find a broken portion of it at the side of the not so beautiful gazebo. The room was a total joke, i almost died when they showed me the room. It was very very small, no room for two people to even walk around comfortably. I was embarrassed that this was my gift to my boyfriend.DO NOT waste your money!!

Room Tip: saw all rooms none worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Planned a romantic weekend with my boyfriend. The website does not represent reality. The room was exceptionally small and we could barely fit into the bed. The bathroom was moldy and there were cobwebs in the bedroom. Additionally the rooms are on a busy street with traffic noise. The inn keeper was loudly speaking on her cell phone outside our room. Overall it was a very disappointing stay and I could't wait to leave.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This place was really beautiful and the hospitality amazing. We got there and the manager, Isabelle bumped us up to the honeymoon suite since we were celebrating a our one year wedding anniversary. She even gave us a bottle of wine! It was very cozy and very romantic. My only complaint is that I wish the weather was warmer!! Next time I visit, I will go either in the middle of summer or early fall so the weather is nice and warm!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

The website shows a beautiful b&b with nice rooms, a huge inviting great room, and many other charming photos. When we got there we were horrified at the difference between reality and their website. It was like night and day. We walked in and stood waiting for about 10 minutes listening to two women who worked their cussing and chatting up a storm. When they finally came out they were barefoot and had their dog running loose in the lobby. It was a little uncomfortable. They took us into the owners home which, as another review stated, was a mess. Our room was clean enough for us to sleep in. But we didn't stay there for more than sleeping and changing clothes. What a disappointment. The room was so small that 2 people cannot walk around at the same time. RIDICULOUS!
The parking was a HUGE issue. We called a few days ahead of time to see if we would need chains, and were assured that we would not. We couldn't even make it up the steep hill without chains!!!
Another issue that really bothered us was that they called at 10:30 at night the day before we were due to arrive to see if we were still coming. It was 10:30 at night!
We paid well over $300 to stay at a nice place and we were so horribly dissapointed.
Do not be fooled by the website. It is the total opposite!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

My husband and I were booked into the Villa Toscana for a three day Christmas getaway. The pictures on the website looked plush and inviting. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the inn keeper, Isabella, who offered us a glass of wine and was very friendly. We were led into the owner’s living room which was in a shamble. There was stuff everywhere and the smell of cigarette smoke was overpowering. For a non-smoking inn this was a shock to the senses!
We were shown our room, only to discover that it was nothing like the pictures from the internet. The room was incredibly small, with very little place to hang your clothes. The hangers were broken and seemed to be acquired from the local drycleaner. The so called “Jacuzzi tub" was so small, that neither of us could have sat straight legged in it. Besides, there was mould and damage all around the tub. The comforter was dirty underneath, while the ceiling was covered in cob webs. Everything looked old and worn, and not very clean. We ended up checking out and going home. We felt the pictures on the website were VERY misleading.
To make matters worse, when we tried to explain our disappointment to the owner, he was extremely rude and defensive.
We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts, hotels and resorts, but this was by far the most disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I made our reservation after reading the good reviews on Trip Advisor. I was familar with the property as we had visited it years ago. Wow what a dissapoint The property is under new ownership and perhaps that is the reason for the decay. When we checked in, we were lead (by signs) to the living area of the owner, The owners quarters smelled so bad from smoke that I could barely breathe. We almost checked out before checking in however decided to see the room first as everything in the town was sold out for Friday night. The room was OK (clean) however as big as a postage stamp (rooms in Europe are MUCH larger) no place for suitcase or clothes. The towels in the bathroom were thread bare and ragged at the edges. Not wanting to reamin in this little space, we ventured from the room and walked to the breakfast area, between the rooms and the other areas of the property is not maintained, trash all over, torn or worn out furniture with tears in the cushions, etc. The breakfast area was nice, however big bottles of syrup and dishes of butter on the tables, it was 5pm at night so a long time for the butter to sit out. It kind of felt like a hippie retreat so if you are into that kind of arrangement, you will be happy, if not stay somewhere else. We were allowed to check out Saturday AM and went to the Saddlebnack across the street. Charming, well run, clean, fabulous beds in a historic B & B.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fleur de Lac European Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleur de Lac European Inn B&B

Address: 285 Highway 173, PO Box 2688, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Arrowhead
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lac European Inn Bed And Breakfast
Fleur De Lac European Hotel Lake Arrowhead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fleur de Lac European Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.