We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Romance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Gables Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Arrowhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Gables Bed and Breakfast
29024 Mammoth Drive, P.O. Box 3080, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352   |  
Hotel amenities
Quartz Hill, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Affordable Romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed at Rose Gables last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We are novice B&Bers, and, therefore, don't have other B&B's to compare with. However, I cannot imagine it gets much better than this. To begin with, as it turned out, we were the only party that had booked a stay for this particular weekend, and had the whole house to ourselves. More importantly, however, they were planning to shut-down that weekend for "winter maintenance," but honored our reservation when I'm sure most would have attempted to re-schedule us or cancel! (Now that's putting your guests first!) We stayed in the Pearls and Lace room which is fabulous -- large bed, fireplace in the bedroom and one in the over-sized bath. The marble two-person bath tub is very relaxing and bubble bath and cozy robes are provided! We both found the bed to be quite comfortable and the mini-fridge made it convenient for us to keep our own drinks, etc. cold. Their collection of books, games and dvd's is vast so always something to keep you occupied. Baked goods, teas, hot chocolate, etc. in afternoon/evening -- and Laurie's cookies are quite yummy! As for breakfast, Laurie (and Liberty) are great cooks. One day, egg souffle with a great sausage, fruit, juice, etc., the next, eggs benedict (their own hollandaise!), a french toast that was fabulous, and all the trimmings. The proprietors and their family that were there for the weekend were friendly, and a joy to sit and talk with. So, all in all, have not even one negative about our trip to Rose Gables. And, for antique enthusiasts -- they have some lovely pieces and enjoyed admiring them!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before our stay at Rose Gables, and boy did they set the bar high! The house was warm, cozy, clean and comfortable. We began our stay sitting on the back patio with a cup of hot tea while taking in the beautiful vistas and mountain air. That night after dinner we lit a fire in our in-room fireplace (!), nibbled on homemade cookies, played board games and watched a movie. Breakfast both mornings was DELICIOUS! Better by far than most restaurants anywhere. Laurie sure can cook!! The location, hospitality, price and relaxation factor at Rose Gables is fantastic!

Room Tip: Splurge and choose a room with a fireplace! Also, I think the rooms in the back of the house may hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

My review is long overdue. I suprised my wife with an anniversary stay in the Pearls and Lace suite. I was pleasantly suprised by the size of the room. The pictures seemed a little small. However it was incredibly spacious. The bathroom tub is amazing. I loved the ceiling and the electric fireplace. I thought at first I wouldnt but found it quite usefull to be able to have the flame on without the heat : ). And the view at night was spectacular. We drove over to the resort for dinner and drinks, about a 5 min drive. The house had many other perks like games and movies. However once we were in the room we never wanted to leave. To sum it up my wife said I scored major points for the outing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

This was our first stay at a B&B, and Rose Gables has set the bar real high.

We stayed in the Queen Anne, but had a chance to check out the rest of the rooms. They are all really really nice. It's the small details that make the difference. When we checked in, we were greeted with baked goods, chocolate, tea and hot choco. Laurie is an excellent baker, and is an excellent cook, which we discovered the next day at breakfast.

Location:
It's about 5 mins drive from the Village. Perfect from those who don't care to deal with the crowd, but close enough if you decide to be with the crowd. The view from the B&B is to die for. We have a partial view of the lake from our balcony, another couple we met during breakfast commented on the gorgeous view of the mountains from their room. Whichever room you stay in, you have gorgeous view, so you can't go wrong there.

Hosts:
Laurie & Ray are very nice and friendly. This was our first stay @ B&B so we're a bit nervous about what to expect. They truly made us feel welcome. They were available when needed, but they are not up in your business either. They were just the perfect hosts.

The building:
Gorgeous house and homey. It's decorated nicely with many many gorgeous paintings by Thomas Kinkade. We felt truly at home.

Queen Anne Suite:
This room is huge! Bathroom is huge, walk-in closet is huge, and as mentioned above, the view is to die for.

Additional amenities we truly appreciated:
Free WiFi, books (lots of variety of books), goodies (chocolate, baked goods, etc).

Check out other reviews, you'll see that we don't usually give out 5 stars. But this place was truly amazing and deserves the highest rating.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We had a very memorable stay at this place...the room was large and the amenities were excellent...I will go back there again and would recommend it to all...
Pros:
comfy bed
great book and DVD collection for free
snacks and coffee always available
Cons:
cannot think of any...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

We wanted to spend the weekend enjoying beautiful Lake Arrowhead and decided to stay at Rose Gables based on recommendations posted in Trip Advisor. We could not have been happier with the decision to stay here. Everything was incredibly well put together and being very particular myself, I have only positive things to say about the owners, the cleanliness, the "quality" and the decor. Breathtaking views out of the windows and the tranquillity of the area is very nice. I would highly recommend staying here and am sure you will not regret it. I plan to return sometime soon and will absolutely recommend my family and friends to Rose Gables!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Wow, what a marvelous Bed and Breakfast! You walk in and immediately feel at home! The owners are so friendly and welcoming, and there were freshly baked cookies waiting there for us! The room was wonderful and so romantic! We even were able to look at some of the others and we couldn't believe how beautiful they are; the pictures on the website are good but don't do them justice! The breakfasts are absolutely delicious and just can't be beat! There are gourmet soufflés and, my favorites were the chocolate covered strawberries! The overall atmosphere is just so wonderful you feel like you've come to a second home not a hotel, and it is so nice and quiet, you can just hear the sounds of nature! Definitely a MUST visit, we are going back next month!

  • Liked — The food...the room... EVERYTHING!
  • Disliked — Nothing...everything was perfect!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Gables Bed and Breakfast

Address: 29024 Mammoth Drive, P.O. Box 3080, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Arrowhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic atmosphere is enjoyed at this Victorian-style home in a scenic mountain resort. The antique-furnished decor is refreshingly light and airy, clean and uncluttered. Well-designed suites feature fireplaces, cotton robes, VCR/DVD and CD players, balconies, lake and forest views, and much more. A delicious breakfast, served on crystal and fine china in the sunny dining room, offers daily variety. Stop and smell the fragrant roses and flowers in the English garden with wishing well and picket fence. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Gables Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rose Gables Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list