We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   27984 Highway 189, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92382   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lake Arrowhead
Asnieres-sur-Seine, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

the hotel is old fashion and lot of noise from the next room! hopefully the front desk accepted to change us the room, and we were upgraded ! huge bathroom, beds comfortable.
the swimming pool and the beach are great !
the menu in the restaurant doesn't offer many choices.
The fitness center is well furnished
Several shops not far away from the hotel are convenient, we can go easily go by foot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    28
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
29
49
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I checked in with our two sons. We entered a gorgeous lobby filled with friendly staff that went above and beyond our expectations. Jessie in particular, took amazing care of us. We had a breathtaking view from our suite of the lake. We were surprised with the constant friendliness and caring from her. We love the Arrowhead Resort and give this hotel a ten plus!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our second stay. We paid for 2 nights but walked out after one night on the first stay.. The manager said She was going to send us a coupon for two more nights for free. We were not happy the first stay and gave away our second night. We did get the coupon and made a reservation. We waited 8 hours for our room and due to this they upgraded us to 2 nights in their Presidential suite-The Summit. It was a truly nice suite-4 rooms. All Free. We again left after the first night and gave up the second free night. This obviously must be something bad. It is. The management of this hotel absolutely has no idea what they are doing. There basically is no management. The rooms are very nice-obviously ours was. The lobby is beautiful but I can do without dogs laying on the expensive sofa's in the lobby. Allowing dogs is nice but this must be controlled to some extent. They also had dogs around the pool. sometimes they were even on leashes. The management needs to capacity control the number of infants and small children. This problem is exasperated by their gym which allows locals to become members and use the pool. Due to both of these problems the pool is unusuable due to the huge number of infants and children. Both jacuzzi's are full of children at all times. Not a few but up to 20 at one time. The pool is the city plunge-not a nice hotel pool. They have signs everywhere that disallow diving. The children and many adults dive in all day after running across the decks. I saw two small boys fall on the deck. I would estimate there were on Saturday and Sunday approximately 50 infants and children at the pool at any given time. I saw one mother grab her infant out of the pool and run up to her chair and change his dirty diaper. This was made obvious when She clean him off with a pool towel. In two days I never saw anyone clean the pool or the jacuzzi's or even test them. I asked two employees when they clean the pools and was told Monday,wednesday and Fridays. This is rediculous for a pool area on the weekends with this many children. I called the office because there are no employees that do anything but hand out towels or get extra umbrellas. There is no lifeguard at the pool and their sign says to call 911 if there is a problem. This in itself is a problem since this connects to the Highway patrol in San Bernardino. They then would transfer the call to the
Sheriff's dept. in Twin Peaks. They stated that if there was a drowning they would come out. This could take major time and probably 2 hours to get a response.
This Hotel with it's major pool and tremendous number of children should have a lifeguard that is trained in saving a life. The employees around the pool do not do any supervision. As i said they hand out towels, pick up trash and bring what few umbrellas they have. At about 11:00 each day they bring out four employees to barbeque sandwiches and sell alcohol. I asked them if they could also fill in as lifeguards and they said no. They are able to set up a stereo and blast loud bad music which ruins the solitude of the mountain resort. After seeing the lack of cleaning of the pool my wife and I did not go in the pool on Sunday and checked out and gave up our 2nd. free night in the presidential suite.
I am amazed that Marriott's Autograph collection would allow these conditions to exist.

Room Tip: Find a well managed hotel perhaps in Big Bear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our large sales organization had our summer sales meeting August 10-15 at this resort. From check-in to check-out we had a challenge with staff and service. Although checkin time is stated at 3:00 pm, many in our group had to wait until around 7:30 pm for a room.

The rooms are very nice and clean. My king bed was a bit "worn", as it sloped to the edge and created an odd sleeping angle. The bathroom was clean with nice amenities.

The restaurant is not the same company as the hotel, but it too suffers from bad service. One evening a group of us wanted to have drinks and appies on the deck around 4:00, waiting for other colleagues to catch up with us and have dinner. We were told the deck was only for those that were having dinner...there was NO ONE ELSE on the deck...the waitress was rude and threw a menu on our table. I asked for the manager, and a very nice man by the name of Peter came out and helped us by giving us a different waitress. By the time the remainder of our party showed up, there were 12 of us, and we spent a good deal of money on cocktails and appies. Then dinner... THe last day of the meeting, 10 of us went into the restaurant at 12:05 pm for lunch. We all ordered salads or a sandwich. Lunch arrived to our table at 1:10...the waitress stated she would give us a 20% discount on our meal...but these service challenges happened all week.

IT did not have the bandwidth to handle our company needs for presentations and for all to access internet for email. We could not connect to our VPN. Our own IT guys were very frustrated, as they felt the hotel had lied to us regarding being able to accomodate our group.

All in all, its a beautiful location, and I hope that Marriott will be able to influence the service both in the hotel and restaurant. I personally will not return....and I am a Marriott girl through and through.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor, as you can hear footsteps from above. Also, ask to be in a room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you are looking to go to the mountains with your family and you want to stay at a hotel, this is your best bet. It has a camp lodge feel to it, but now that it has become a Marriott property the atmosphere has improved. It's still a rustic hotel in the mountains, so don't think you are going to the Four Seasons.

The staff is accommodating, the spa is lovely spa and the swimming pool was redone last summer. They do have a little trouble turning over the rooms in a timely fashion and the service in the restaurant is very slow. I would suggest dining out of the hotel with your family for dinner. There are a handful of options that are family friendly and affordable.

Again...if you want to get a away for the weekend with your family this is a great option.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort is a lovely property and Room 106 is on the ground floor with a large patio beside the pool. It is perfect if you like to observe the action from the comfort of your own room and the pool access is right around the corner. However, the patio is really really really hot this time of year and while the room next door had a patio umbrella and we asked for one - our requests were ignored without explanation. They were very polite at each of three requests, but no one followed up to say why one room had an umbrella and ours did not. We happened to have a sun umbrella for the beach in the car, so we made due but the patio would be much nicer to use with an umbrella. The Lake could use a few more umbrellas also as most people want them. Housekkeeping seemed to be undersaffed with some guests complaining of not getting rooms until after 5pm and our room was not serviced until 5. The fishing was fun though we caught nothing - arrange at the spa and ask for captain John. Lisa at the restuarant was a standout and the food was good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Positives - lovely lakeside situation, great beds and large rooms, very friendly staff, nice decor

Disappointments - they seem to have trouble turning rooms around. We waited 1hr 50 after official check in time with me visiting the desk 4/5 times for an update. Reid, on the front desk resolved it really nicely for which we were grateful. In the restaurant/bar they seem to be out of ingredients - tea, raspberries, pasta dishes - quite frequently. Staff resolve it by going to get ingredients but I would have thought they would have been more on top of it. Pool was cold, in spite of assurances it was 80 degrees. Beach was closed and WiFi connection very poor, yet we were charged 20 dollars per day for beach access, pool and WiFi. Not cool to have that charged separately. Food was also not great.

My feeling is that frontline staff are very helpful and willing but the hotel needs stronger management. Lots of guests had delayed check ins which is a real pain. Nice place and people but poor value.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 27984 Highway 189, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lake Arrowhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Arrowhead Hotel Lake Arrowhead
Lake Arrowhead Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.