We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is for the dogs (in a good way)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   27984 Highway 189, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92382   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lake Arrowhead
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“This place is for the dogs (in a good way)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had the pleasure of staying here over Memorial Day with our 2 cavalier king Charles spaniel dogs. Overall, this is a great lake-front resort that is very dog-friendly. The resort itself exudes a feeling of an upscale camp. It still has the familiar features of a Marriott but it feels more rustic, so it’s a perfect blend of comfort and novelty. Every staff member we encountered was very friendly and professional. I’ve already recommended this resort to people who want to have a getaway with their dogs. It was really special to be able to sit lakeside with our 2 dogs, although they didn’t enjoy the water as much as other visiting pets. There are also plenty of hiking trails nearby and the main part of town is only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
44
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Couldn't get to our (4!!!) rooms until after 7pm because they weren't ready due to late check outs. Really?
Food was very good, service was friendly. Public areas are nice. Views of the lake from the terrace are great. Front of hotel, pool and rooms are underwhelming.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really just an average property. Front Desk Clerks forced to answer phones and multi task. Service for Lunch in restaurant took an hour (food was good though). Pontoon and Fishing Boat not available due to mechanical issues. Just too hectic of a pace for a resort property. All staff were nice but maxed out and stressed. Old Wing rooms are tired and dated. Don't pay for a "lake view" unless you are okay with a small partial lake view hidden between trees. Its really a lake peek. Lake Arrowhead is indeed beautiful but I expected more from a Marriott property.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I went there on a business trip for a sales meeting with my medical device co. The company spent a good amount to be there. Everything was just average or below average. The service was stretched very thin so they were simply annoyed. My room a wouldn't go below 72 degrees one night and we were there during 104 degree days. I was actually sweating all night. The carpets needed vacuuming. The carpet in my room had a big stain on it. Bathroom floor needed washing. Towels and sheets were scratchy. They put bottles of water in my room which I thought were complimentary but I was charged $2 a bottle. We weren't able to use the lake because it is a private lake belonging to the association and not the resort. Food was just ok. I cook better myself. It was just ok. The views were beautiful. People arriving on Fri. @ 3 to check in had to wait 2 plus hours for their rooms because they weren't ready. The Marriott co. needs to reorganize this property. Could have been so much better. Glad I wasn't paying for it. I dislike writing bad reviews but I also dislike not getting what you've paid for. I hope they make improvements.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for one night in room on pool level with balcony overlooking next door hotel and car park . The hotel is a lovely spot with views of the lake but we felt that the hotel suffered from a lack of attention to detail and professionalism. On arrival our room was not ready for an hour after it should have been. We were comped an appetiser and a round of drinks whilst we waited, which was nice but we were tired after a long drive.
Dinner in the restaurant was amateurish and chaotic. We were told we couldn't sit outside even though there were four or five free tables. Inside service was very slow, although it was half empty. The waitress apologised as clearly things weren't going well
We tried to book at the spa for the Sunday morning but were told it wasn't open. Given this is high season in July, this seemed most odd?
In the morning, I would expect to see room service plates cleared, and glasses left on the beach picked up.
Positives: location, bed very comfy, good toiletries, the management just need to concentrate on getting the details right.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Went here for anniversary trip. The area is beautiful and the hotel is well maintained. Had a room overlooking the lake, wonderful view. Small balcony with a high-top table with two chairs. The property looks older, but is well maintained. The restaurant on site was very good and quality /price was good. There is a private walk around the lake that you can access with a code given to you at the front desk. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, we enjoyed our time at Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa with one major caveat. . . you need a lot of patience! When we arrived at 3:45 pm, we were not allowed to check-in to our room because it was not ready. We sat around in the lobby while we waited. We were told that we would receive a call from the front desk when our room was available. After waiting until 5 pm with no call to my mobile number, I re-approached the front desk to inquire and only then was I given a room.

More patience needed. . . We ate breakfast each morning in BIN 189, and that was a test in patience. Yesterday, we waited 15 minutes to be seated even though there were many empty tables in the restaurant. From the time we were seated until our food arrived, we waited 45 minutes! This morning, there was no hostess when we arrived. We waited for her for several minutes to seat us, and there were only 5 parties in the entire restaurant. Most of them left shortly after our arrival but it was 45 minutes before our food arrived! The food was good both mornings, but the service was painfully slow. The resort could use some attention to details.

Lake Arrowhead is beautiful. The weather is outstanding. All of the staff we encountered during our stay were friendly, warm, and very helpful. The access to the lake hiking trail was a bonus. We walked the 6 mile trail this morning and loved it. The proximity of the resort to the Village is a bonus. The fitness room in the Spa met our needs with a variety of equipment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third flood with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 27984 Highway 189, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lake Arrowhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Amex, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Arrowhead Hotel Lake Arrowhead
Lake Arrowhead Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;