We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Winter Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Bay at Lake Arrowhead

North Bay at Lake Arrowhead
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added North Bay at Lake Arrowhead to your Saves list
North Bay at Lake Arrowhead
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   27400 Sugarpine Drive, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice Winter Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Living in Southern California, and being so close to the mountains, it is nice to get some time away from urban Los Angeles and take our granddaughters to visit nature. This is what you will find at this resort - a quiet environment with walking trails and surrounded by trees. Do not expect room service or personal treatment. This is a place to just enjoy your family with "family time". Take games and DVDs for the evenings. You will need to drive every time you want to go to a restaurant or shopping. The condos do have cooking facilities, but the one bedroom we stayed in had a very minimal kitchenette with 2 burners and a mini-fridge. However, there is plenty of storage place for non-refrigerated items and enough plates/cups and utencils for 4 people. We had a one bedroom with a pull out bed in the living room and a separate bedroom. Only one bathroom, but an extra vanity area and separate dressing area so that it is comfortable to stay there with 2 children. I do not think it would be real comfortable for 4 adults in the one bedroom, one bath. The unit was clean and nicely maintained. It had a working fireplace in the living room and balconies off the living room and bedroom, with a nice view of the woods.
A restaurant on site would be a great thing to add to this resort. There is a pizza delivery that will deliver to the condos, other than that, you would eat your own cooking or go out. Blue Jay village is actually closer to it than Lake Arrowhead Village. We found Blue Jay village to be very nice and quaint. It has one movie theater and some eating facilities as well as some limited shopping facilities.
The purpose of our trip was to go "play in the snow" with the grandchildren and we feel that was accomplished. Also, the indoor swimming pool was very nice. There is also a sauna in the dressing room that is nice after a swim. Our room did have good wifi reception, so during our down time, we played on our individual devices.

Room Tip: Room service did not leave an option for "not available", but this is a timeshare resort w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our biggest problem with the stay was dust: plastic plants that have not been washed since 1960, ancient cones that fall apart when you touch them, old curtains, all those nooks of questionable design and unknown purpose that have never been cleaned. We all woke up in the mornings with stuffed noses. During days we tried to stay away from the room but there is no place really to walk with a small child: no flat surface or grassy place, just dirt and stones. We had to cut our stay short. Lake Arrowhead is a nice location but there is very little to do. Two villages will take you 2 hours tops to explore, including a dozen of stores. Might be a nice getaway for a couple for a weekend but definitely stay at a different resort. This one needs major renovations and a different team. Have not seen a TV this old in 20 years, bedding was horrible. Our own timeshare is 10 times better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our stay was from 7/22 - 29/12. The resort is located off North Bay Rd., which runs parallel to the west side of Lake Arrowhead. It is just north of the town of Blue Jay. It is set amidst tall pines, which gives it a woodsy feel, and consists of approx. 26 units: studios and one-bedrooms.

Pros: very quiet and peaceful, away from highway noises and just about any other kind of noise; fitness center is sufficient for the average gym enthusiast, two tennis courts which are well-kept; indoor pool; family-friendly environment

Cons: front desk doesn't open until 9:00 am every day; no restaurant on premises; ten- to fifteen-minute drive to Lake Arrowhead Village (main shopping/eating/attraction part of town)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

North Bay is a condo resort just outside of Lake Arrowhead. It is quiet, out of the way and small, which makes it comfortable and less public-intrusive Finding the resort can be a challenge as signage is minimal. Don't try it at night! Once inside the gates, the same winding, driving through the mountains feel continues. The condos are amply sized, but could use a bit of updating (my preference). Otherwise, they are clean and stocked for what you would need to stay for any length of time. The pool and hot tub made a long day of travel worth it! As mentioned, the site is quite wooded and the condos have great little balconies that make viewing access easy. The drive to Lake Arrowhead, Bluejay or Crestline is easy and fairly quick (mountain standards). I would definitely return but hopefully find the place a little more easily next time.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I just returned from a wonderful visit to Lake arrowhead. I booked us several days at the North Bay at Lake Arrowhead. While we were there, a team was installing cable internet, so though we didn't have web access, future guests should.

Overall, the price was great. The location was great. The rooms were huge and new and comfortable. There are fridges, microwaves, and free washers and dryers. the gas fireplaces were wonderful, and there were tv and dvd players. the lobby will rent you movies and games. also the indoor pool was great and didn't have a strong chlorine smell.

Here is what i wish I knew going into this: The North Bay is not a hotel. it is a timeshare. What that means is that you do not have maid service (no fresh towels) and there is no one on the premises if your key won't work after the lobby staff goes home (happened to me). Also, in our case we had two rooms for our large family and you use your key to access an outer door and then an inner door. This is great except that there is no doorbell and no way to knock on your rooms door if you need to get in from the porch.

I would stay here again, but be careful about the lack of night manager.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at North Bay was nothing short of excellent. The buildings are a little dated but the rooms had a very cabin like feel and were very clean. After arriving late and having to check in after close we were delightfully amazed at the arrangements left for us allowing check in to be smooth and painless. During our short but relaxing trip we ate the local fare, took in some of the sights the lake had to offer, and hiked to a well known but secluded hot springs. We had a great time in this small, quaint, and welcoming town and even saw our first bald eagle perched upon a tree overwatching the lake. We will definetly be returning soon and hope that our winter vacation will yield the same results for you.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This place is definitely not where you go to immerse yourself in nightlife or pack your day with activities. This is a place to sleep in, enjoy the fire & relax in the swimming pool or jacuzzi. The indoor pool is nice in winter, but the chlorine can be smelled in the air. There are tennis courts and a small gym with large bathrooms including a sauna and shower for changing after a swim.

The front desk people are polite (not super friendly) but they can be a little difficult when it comes to taking towels out of the building. We do it anyways and return them when we are finished as it is silly to bring all your change of clothes to the pool area because you can't walk back to your room with a towel.

The units feel like a condo as they are separated into buildings of 4 units. Every 2 units share a washer/dryer and entry way. The units themselves are wonderful and spacious - the larger ones have full kitchens and the studio has a half kitchen. Some units are lower level and require guests to walk down stairs but none of them are "dark." Just important to note if someone in your party has difficulty with stairs. Outside is littered with trees giving guests the feeling of being as far into the woods as possible without divesting oneself of the comforts of traditional vacations. Also, they do not clean the units each day, but do offer additional cleanings for $25 (last I checked.)

The place has a gate and is set back a ways from the road so if you are looking for a place that is close to things this is not for you. Nothing is within walking distance. Lake Arrowhead Village is 15 minutes drive, Blue Jay (theatre, grocery & drug stores, McDs & a few restaurants) is about 5 minutes drive. As my parents live close by we are able to use their facilities as often as we like and when I or family/friends go up we use the time share weeks. I am not sure of their ratings but I would not call this a 5* time share. Be advised that they do not have a restaurant, bar or room service as they might in a hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not sure, pop for a 1 bedroom vs. the studio. It is so nice (but not necessary) to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Bay at Lake Arrowhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay at Lake Arrowhead

Address: 27400 Sugarpine Drive, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lake Arrowhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — North Bay at Lake Arrowhead 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your North Bay at Lake Arrowhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Bay At Lake Arrowhead Hotel Lake Arrowhead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Bay at Lake Arrowhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.