We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow Storm Retreat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saddleback Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saddleback Inn to your Saves list
Saddleback Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lake Arrowhead
anaheim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snow Storm Retreat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Needed a place to stay since it was too snowy to reach our cabin! Even though sparsely staffed due to the huge storm, we received great, friendly service. The owner was even there to work the bar and make dinner for the guests. Room was clean, small and cozy. Loved the fireplace and whirlpool tub for two. Great location in town.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelPepperTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The hotel is not that bad, but it's expensive for what it offers. I had a comfortable cottage. Excellent bed, very silent, NO SMOKING, and the convenience of a 7-Eleven just 50 steps away, inside the hotel's property. The problem is, for an expensive price (I don't know if I can talk about price here, but it wasn't a bargain, I assure you), I could have a LCD TV instead of a 20" CRT in the bedroom, and a bathtub that could always have hot water - after halfway full, the water comes cold - at least in that room. The city lacks a lot of options for fun, and the hotel doesn't offer pool or billiards, for example. It's just the room (cottage) and parking lot.

However, the location is the best possible. Too bad the city doesn't seem to be projected for pedestrians - you need a car to go everywhere, and that's annoying. There are only sidewalks in some parts, and in most of the time you have to walk among the cars. The hotel is one of the closest to the Village, a mall that holds most of the city's attractions.

There's also a restaurant, and that one's perfect. I would give a 5-star rating for that. Excellent service, ambiance and food - also expensive, but excellent quality.

I can say I had a good time in this hotel. I wouldn't spoil my days there because of these imperfections, but for that price, I should have had a better service.

It's a good place. The attendants were excellent - always very polite ad ready to help. It could actually offer more for the price charged, but I wouldn't say it's not a good option because of that.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pvdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

I stayed here June 13-18 and liked it so much that I rearranged my travel plans, cut short my scheduled time at Southern California beach areas, and returned here June 27-30. I had a lovely one-bedroom cottage the first stay, and a different but equally lovely one-bedroom cottage the second stay. Each cottage had a large living room with a cozy gas fireplace, comfy sofa and dining room table that seated four. The king-size bed in the separate bedroom was very comfortable and I slept soundly each night. The double size jacuzzi was wonderful. It was in a lovely forested setting just a few steps from the Lake Arrowhead village. Everyone who worked there was friendly and helpful. Housekeeping kept the cottage immaculate. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Couty,CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

The staff was extremely friendly and knowlegeable/helpful planning our daily excursions. While the restaraunt only offers a limited selection on their dinner menu the meal was five stars all the way; service, presentation, flavor and pricing. We stayed in a quaint cabin style cottage which was comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbnVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Went with the whole family on New Year's Eve, expensive..... expecting more nicer not too clean. I'ts no big deal!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acaballe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

Well, talk about a step back in time, the rustic Saddleback Inn is a delightful compound in Lake Arrowhead with historical grounds and buildings. The staff are so friendly it feels like this could be a home away from home to balance the craziness of Los Angeles every now and then. Don't think slick or homogenized... this is the real thing lovingly updated to a cross between lodge and summer camp.
The Saddleback Grill reopened two weeks ago with a new chef who presented delectable food beautifully. The steak was one of the best I have ever tasted and the pork chop lives up to it's reputation... with a pear sauce to die for. The lemon cake did not disappoint, either, reminiscent of key lime pie.
The king-sized be had a foam top which made this very picky person quite comfortable, I slept like a rock.
So, pack the bags, get away, breathe some of that mountain air and find your new favorite place in Lake Arrowhead.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leoyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

My husband made the reservations for our 25th anniversary. It wasn't Hawaii, but I was thrilled that he made the effort to surpise me. We arrived and the people at the front desk seemed to know who we were. Greeted us with a big congratulations and were very helpful with any questions we had. The rooms were rustic but what do you expect when in the mountains? The bathroom was heaven! The jacuzzi tub has made me want to go back again and again. Sooo relaxing. A glass of champagne, some bubbles, candles, great! The restaurant was good but a little to gourmet for us. Plenty of other choices in the village. There is a farmers market on Fri night ( at least when we were there) and a free concert on Sat. night. We are going back this weekend for my husbands birthday. I surprised him this time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moomba41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Arrowhead
0.2 mi away
Lake Arrowhead Chalets
Lake Arrowhead Chalets
#2 of 3 in Lake Arrowhead
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
15.9 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
15.5 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The North Shore Inn
The North Shore Inn
#1 of 2 in Crestline
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sleepy Hollow Cabins and Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddleback Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddleback Inn

Address: 300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lake Arrowhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Saddleback Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering premium hotel lodging, exquisite dining and seasonal entertainment in a resort atmosphere 5000 feet up, and perfectly located near beautiful Lake Arrowhead and the "Lake Arrowhead Village" shopping and entertainment complex, The Saddleback Inn, the locals' favorite, will not disappoint even the most discerning vacationer. The food is excellent and the cottages, nestled back in the pines, are clean, quaint, well appointed and very comfortable. Advance bookings are highly recommended. With queen or king beds, river rock gas log fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, air conditioning, refrigerators, suite combinations of one to three bedrooms, some pet friendly cottages, a 4 star "locals favorite" restaurant and full bar, the Saddleback Inn offers something for everyone. The Saddleback Inn is also within walking distance of Lake Arrowhead, as well as the main commercial, entertainment, shopping and dining area, Lake Arrowhead Village - both are a mere 5 minute stroll from the Saddleback Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Saddleback Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddleback Hotel Lake Arrowhead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing