We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saddleback Inn

Save Saved
You added Saddleback Inn to your Saves list
Saddleback Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saddleback Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Lake Arrowhead B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cute but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed in Cornhuskers Cabin 23. It was more like a small hotel room with free standing walls than a cabin. We stayed here because it was pet friendly, and we had our little dog with us.

The good: Cabin was cute, clean, and relatively updated. Decent cable channels, heater worked great, tub was definitely large enough for two with tons of hot water. Location was less than a minute drive to Lake Arrowhead village (could easily walk there as well). Had a cute front porch.

The "eh": Cabin was very small, hard to move around with any type of winter gear. No closet - just a small wardrobe. No kitchenette, but did have a mini-fridge (ended up freezing everything we put into it), no fireplace (make sure to read the descriptions closely). Definitely more like a hotel room, so it just depends on what you're looking for. The cabin has a front porch, but looks out over the parking lot directly at the 7-Eleven - convenient for snacks, but not a peaceful "getaway" to the woods feeling. Definitely heard car and truck doors opening all day and night - not enough to keep from sleeping - but definitely managed to set the dog off a few times.

Overall, not bad, but not great. Probably would not stay here again because I didn't get that mountain get away "feel", but it was not a bad place to stay at all.

Room Tip: Stayed in cabin 23 Cornhuskers. Cute, clean, but a little too cozy. Tub was roomy enough for two. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    10
    15
    8
See reviews for
18
43
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Western Cape
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

we stayed in a cottage with the living room (with pull out sofa) and the bathroom downstairs, and the bedroom upstairs (and a small bathroom with WC and sink). It is a real mountain style fairy tale cottage hidden among the tall pine trees. Your view is like being in the forest. The cottage was clean and comfortable, with efficient heating and a gas fire place (you needed these in January!). Easy walking distance to the Lake and the shopping center. The in house restaurant and bar was great for a drink and served very good food for dinner (it was a fish and chips special that evening and it was really good value, tasty as well). The breakfast is included in the price, it is ok, nothing special about it. The free wifi is a bit wobbly, there are multiple areas where you get different ones and not all of them strong enough, the best place is in the bar.

Room Tip: some are quite far from the reception and some require climbing lots of stairs, bear this in mind if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our recent stay at Saddleback was less than we expected, especially for the price.
They advertise an "all American breakfast", included. We came downstairs to find a small table with powdered scrambled eggs, a bucket of frozen toaster waffles, frozen heat & serve sausage, & one type of cheap bread. The rest was just as bad. Second rate motel fare. If you want a quiet night in front of the fire, don't stay on a Fri. Night. A very loud Karaoke bar runs until midnight, with the music blasting upstairs into the rooms. Room temperature was uncontrollable.

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms above the bar on a Friday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went for 4 nights. We were told the room (St. Moritz) was for 3, but it was barely big enough for 2. Black fungus came out of the jetted tub, the heater did not work. We left disgusted after the first night but the hotel would not refund us any other monies claiming they have a 14 day cancellation policy at the holidays. Should we be held hostage if we were so disgusted? Management couldn't care less. Don't go!

Room Tip: Don't stay at this venue, you'll be terribly disappointed and won't be able to get a ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We loved our two-night stay at Saddleback Inn. We were in town for our granddaughter's high-school graduation, and we wanted a quiet retreat from the family hullabaloo! We found it at Saddleback Inn. My sister and her daughter stayed in a small cabin at the same time, and they were equally pleased with their stay.

The Inn is historic, but not "musty." Our room, which was not a cabin, but not in the main building, had been recently redecorated. It was very pleasant with a king-size bed plus a pull-out couch, a gas fireplace, a small balcony, and a nice bathroom. Although there were people staying in the room above us and in the rooms on either side of us, we never heard them, except for, occasionally, a door closing.

The price was reasonable and included a full breakfast buffet that was delicious and convenient. We enjoyed our stay at Saddleback Inn far more than our stay at the popular Lake Arrowhead Resort. This place is quaint, and the atmosphere is perfectly suited to the area.

We found the staff to be attentive and helpful with all our needs. We will certainly stay here the next time we're in Lake Arrowhead.

Room Tip: Every room and cabin in this inn is different, and access to many of the cabins involves climbing st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Kind of dated but decent enough. We stayed in a cabin which was quiet but required going down and up about 25 steps. Free breakfast was acceptable. Actual rating would be 3 1/2 stars. I found the 7 -11 very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I returned to the Saddleback Inn after 15 years hoping to experience again the peace, beauty and tranquility of the tall pines, cool clean air and the sparkling lake. The location is as lovely as ever, but sadly the Inn itself seems to have become a little dated and worn. The cabins and rooms are still charming and cozy, but in need of updating....especially the sports theme of the rooms which clashes with the romantic setting. Also the rooms need a more thorough cleaning. Overall we did enjoy our stay and the lovely setting.

Room Tip: All the rooms and cabins are different. Take your time to thoroughly look at the pictures. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saddleback Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddleback Inn

Address: 300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Arrowhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saddleback Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Saddleback Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddleback Hotel Lake Arrowhead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saddleback Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.