We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fooled!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Saddleback Inn

Save Saved
You added Saddleback Inn to your Saves list
Saddleback Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saddleback Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Lake Arrowhead B&B and Inns
Laguna Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fooled!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our recent stay at Saddleback was less than we expected, especially for the price.
They advertise an "all American breakfast", included. We came downstairs to find a small table with powdered scrambled eggs, a bucket of frozen toaster waffles, frozen heat & serve sausage, & one type of cheap bread. The rest was just as bad. Second rate motel fare. If you want a quiet night in front of the fire, don't stay on a Fri. Night. A very loud Karaoke bar runs until midnight, with the music blasting upstairs into the rooms. Room temperature was uncontrollable.

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms above the bar on a Friday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    10
    15
    8
See reviews for
18
40
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went for 4 nights. We were told the room (St. Moritz) was for 3, but it was barely big enough for 2. Black fungus came out of the jetted tub, the heater did not work. We left disgusted after the first night but the hotel would not refund us any other monies claiming they have a 14 day cancellation policy at the holidays. Should we be held hostage if we were so disgusted? Management couldn't care less. Don't go!

Room Tip: Don't stay at this venue, you'll be terribly disappointed and won't be able to get a ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We loved our two-night stay at Saddleback Inn. We were in town for our granddaughter's high-school graduation, and we wanted a quiet retreat from the family hullabaloo! We found it at Saddleback Inn. My sister and her daughter stayed in a small cabin at the same time, and they were equally pleased with their stay.

The Inn is historic, but not "musty." Our room, which was not a cabin, but not in the main building, had been recently redecorated. It was very pleasant with a king-size bed plus a pull-out couch, a gas fireplace, a small balcony, and a nice bathroom. Although there were people staying in the room above us and in the rooms on either side of us, we never heard them, except for, occasionally, a door closing.

The price was reasonable and included a full breakfast buffet that was delicious and convenient. We enjoyed our stay at Saddleback Inn far more than our stay at the popular Lake Arrowhead Resort. This place is quaint, and the atmosphere is perfectly suited to the area.

We found the staff to be attentive and helpful with all our needs. We will certainly stay here the next time we're in Lake Arrowhead.

Room Tip: Every room and cabin in this inn is different, and access to many of the cabins involves climbing st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Kind of dated but decent enough. We stayed in a cabin which was quiet but required going down and up about 25 steps. Free breakfast was acceptable. Actual rating would be 3 1/2 stars. I found the 7 -11 very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I returned to the Saddleback Inn after 15 years hoping to experience again the peace, beauty and tranquility of the tall pines, cool clean air and the sparkling lake. The location is as lovely as ever, but sadly the Inn itself seems to have become a little dated and worn. The cabins and rooms are still charming and cozy, but in need of updating....especially the sports theme of the rooms which clashes with the romantic setting. Also the rooms need a more thorough cleaning. Overall we did enjoy our stay and the lovely setting.

Room Tip: All the rooms and cabins are different. Take your time to thoroughly look at the pictures. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose the Saddleback Inn based on recommendations and its location. Lake Arrowhead is a beautiful area with stunning views. This hotel is within walking distance to Center Stage which holds regular concerts.

The room we were given was on the second floor. It had newer carpet, king bed, flat screen TV, and quiet wall a/c. The bathroom looked old but everything functioned just fine. The tub was big enough for four, but that was NOT a need for us : )

Reading previous reviews, I learned the hotel could be loud with partiers. To avoid this from happening, I left the a/c fan portion on all night, and we didn't hear anything outside our room.

The next morning, a breakfast buffet was provided in the restaurant. We arrived just after breakfast started being served. I was disappointed by the temperature of the food, especially since it hadn't been out long.

All in all it was a great stay and we would love to return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The facilities here are pleasant enough and clean, although frankly a bit overpriced for what they are. Whenever I went to the front desk, it seemed like the staff was more interested in socializing that serving customers. At one point I walked in and they were telling a dirty joke of some sort. When I asked for an iron they brought me this funky looking metal mesh thing with no cover on it and a towel. I made them bring me a more suitable iron. The restaurant was great...the food was delicious...but my dinner would have been a lot more pleasant if it wasn't accompanied by drunken karaoke from the bar. My cabin was right on the parking lot, and people in the neighboring cabin were sitting on their porch talking loudly all afternoon, and there were people in the parking lot carrying on all night as well. To make the milieu even more unsavory, the complex houses the main 7-11 for the area, which apparently is the go-to place for local meth addicts and truck drivers (a diesel truck is rumbling a few feet away from my window as I write this at 11:30pm at night!). Among other things I saw: a pickup truck with a mattress on the back; a grizzly couple with yellow, broken teeth; and a young homeless man sitting out front with his clothing in a plastic bag and his PLAYSTATION! Yes, he was carrying around a full-size Playstation. I wanted to suggest he get a PSP. Would be a lot easier to carry. Anyway, if that's your scene, you'll really enjoy this place. If you are looking for a more secluded natural spot, or something a little more high-class, try somewhere else.

Room Tip: I would avoid getting a cabin facing the parking lot. Go to something more secluded in the back. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurt c, Owner at Saddleback Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
I have had 7/11 as my tenant for 20 years. Never never police activity yet a yelper claims Meth addicts, homeless people, mattress in truck bed and yellow broken teeth. Lake arrowhead is a clean quiet community that has left that element behind. The Saddleback Inn is a secluded lodge among tall pines frequinted by hollywood elete and continued repeat guests. If this unhappy yelper would have shared her concerns personally rather than bashing hard working people we would have rectafied all her legitimate concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saddleback Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddleback Inn

Address: 300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Arrowhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saddleback Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Saddleback Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddleback Hotel Lake Arrowhead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saddleback Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.