We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you like drunken wedding revelers and karaoke” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saddleback Inn

Saddleback Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saddleback Inn to your Saves list
Saddleback Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay here if you like drunken wedding revelers and karaoke”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The facilities here are pleasant enough and clean, although frankly a bit overpriced for what they are. Whenever I went to the front desk, it seemed like the staff was more interested in socializing that serving customers. At one point I walked in and they were telling a dirty joke of some sort. When I asked for an iron they brought me this funky looking metal mesh thing with no cover on it and a towel. I made them bring me a more suitable iron. The restaurant was great...the food was delicious...but my dinner would have been a lot more pleasant if it wasn't accompanied by drunken karaoke from the bar. My cabin was right on the parking lot, and people in the neighboring cabin were sitting on their porch talking loudly all afternoon, and there were people in the parking lot carrying on all night as well. To make the milieu even more unsavory, the complex houses the main 7-11 for the area, which apparently is the go-to place for local meth addicts and truck drivers (a diesel truck is rumbling a few feet away from my window as I write this at 11:30pm at night!). Among other things I saw: a pickup truck with a mattress on the back; a grizzly couple with yellow, broken teeth; and a young homeless man sitting out front with his clothing in a plastic bag and his PLAYSTATION! Yes, he was carrying around a full-size Playstation. I wanted to suggest he get a PSP. Would be a lot easier to carry. Anyway, if that's your scene, you'll really enjoy this place. If you are looking for a more secluded natural spot, or something a little more high-class, try somewhere else.

Room Tip: I would avoid getting a cabin facing the parking lot. Go to something more secluded in the back. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurt c, Owner at Saddleback Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
I have had 7/11 as my tenant for 20 years. Never never police activity yet a yelper claims Meth addicts, homeless people, mattress in truck bed and yellow broken teeth. Lake arrowhead is a clean quiet community that has left that element behind. The Saddleback Inn is a secluded lodge among tall pines frequinted by hollywood elete and continued repeat guests. If this unhappy yelper would have shared her concerns personally rather than bashing hard working people we would have rectafied all her legitimate concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    12
    16
    8
See reviews for
21
44
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've stayed and/or dined at the Saddleback several times over the past few years, and it's always been a positive and pleasant experience. The accommodations are mostly self-catering (if you wish to self-cater), and range from nicely-furnished, rustic, multi-room cottages (our favorites) to much smaller rooms that are perhaps too rustic for most, but that may be all they have left if occupancy is high. Book ahead and talk through the choices available, if you can.

Cottages aside, the real star of this property is the Saddleback Grill, which is a great compromise between fine dining and informality. The bar area is entertaining (some seats tilt alarmingly when sat on, but that may be intentional) and wine is not unreasonably priced. The restaurant is excellent, especially when compared with the amateurish efforts of Bin189, the restaurant at the Lake Arrowhead Resort, recently engulfed by the pseudopods of the Marriott chain, where we were staying on one of our visits to the area. (We seldom ate there, choosing the Saddleback instead, then canceled our last night night there and moved to the Saddleback, and were glad we did.) I can particularly recommend their grilled vegetable plate and their pan seared salmon. Our waitron on several of our visits, Angel, was superb. Prices, while not cheap, are not out of line for the excellent quality of food and service.

We will, as Arnold would say, be back. And in the nicest way.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth visiting their web site, which has pictures of the various cottages, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

When life gets too hectic, I love to get away from the city for a day or two and Lake Arrowhead is close enough, yet far enough to leave the hassle behind. This trip I snuggled into a comfy cottage at the Saddleback Inn. It had all the usual amenities plus a jacuzzi tub and fireplace and was surrounded by pine trees. There are so many great things about this property. The staff is very friendly and helpful and extremely knowledgable about the area. There is a GREAT restaurant, the Saddleback Grill, on site that serves complimentary breakfasts for guests. I enjoyed that, but the dinners were absolutely exquisite: ribs, steak, lobster, fish. And the hotel is just a block from Lake Arrowhead and the shops at the village. A walk around the the lake, an ice cream cone, soaking up the sunshine under bright blue skies, a scrumptious dinner of ribs or lobster, a soak in the jacuzzi...total relaxation. I will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I absolutely loved it. It was my first time and I really enjoyed it. The people were all really friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent; delicious food and great service. I stayed in a remodeled cottage and it was beautiful. If you go ask for a remodeled room. I am definitely going back this summer. I am very happy with the Saddleback Inn!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We took advantage of the hotel's weekday special - great rate including breakfast. We went in April - weather was ideal and we beat the crowds (between Memorial Day and Labor Day). It's a quick 5 minute walk to the Village where there's lots of shopping and restaurants. Lots of places to walk or just sit and enjoy the scenery. The lake tour is worthwhile.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi tubs are very difficult to get in and out of for those who are older or less flexible. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
377 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were on a motorcycle trip and had planned to stay at the more expensive inn in town, but I was charmed by the look of the Saddleback Inn. We stayed in a cabin, cute as anything, huge jacuzzi tub. Yes, a bit tired in furnishings, but bed comfy. And the price was $75!!! Including breakfast. If you are looking for a chi chi place, this is not it, but if you want a charming place to stay in a lovely small town, with friendly service and locals abound, this is where you want to go. I love going upscale as well, but sometimes it is a pleasure to have value and memories of a time gone by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed with friends who rented the 2 bedroom cabin. The Cabin was really warm and didn't need any extra heat, in fact, we were a little too hot being upstairs with heat rising. I expected it to be a little more tacky like some places can be, and it wasn't at all. The front desk staff was so friendly, loaned our friend a book as they forgot a book. We ate at the restaurant, staff was so attentive and food was delicious. Being from a seafood town, I'm a whole lot skeptical about ordering lobster in a mountain town resort area. However, I was pleasantly surprised at the delicious entrees. And the lobster tasted fresher than a recent dinner I had at a fancy restaurant at home! 7-Eleven next door was our savior as we needed to leave to get back to home for an appointment. Otherwise we would have stayed for breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 25 and there were 2 couples staying, the shower was downstairs but two bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Arrowhead
0.2 mi away
Lake Arrowhead Chalets
Lake Arrowhead Chalets
#2 of 2 in Lake Arrowhead
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
4.9 mi away
The North Shore Inn
The North Shore Inn
#1 of 2 in Crestline
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sleepy Hollow Cabins and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel
16.0 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 6 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddleback Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddleback Inn

Address: 300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Arrowhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saddleback Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Saddleback Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddleback Hotel Lake Arrowhead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saddleback Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.