We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Saddleback Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saddleback Inn

Saddleback Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Saddleback Inn to your Saves list
Saddleback Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Loved the Saddleback Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We had an awesome experience with our family of 4 at the Saddleback. It's close to the village and the Lake which offeres plenty of things to do for the family. The accomodations were great and clean and the restaurat attached to it was yummy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    27
    11
    16
    8
See reviews for
20
43
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alhambra, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

My wife and I got a last minute reservation in the "Sooner" cabin (#24) over Thanksgiving. The room was dark, even in the daytime with all the lights on. The wallpaper was starting to peel. The carpets were stained, especially by the refrigerator. There is a large poster of the 1983 University of Oklahoma football team. That gives me a clue to when the rooms were re-modeled. I shouldn't forget the grungy quilt on the bed.
Not so charming was the noise from the Seven Eleven. Not so charming was the fact that the room rate practically doubled for Thanksgiving.
Thanksgiving dinner in the highly rated restaurant was no better than a cafeteria. Think pre-formed turkey roll. Breakfast was no better. Overcooked scrambled egg pellets. Warmed over potatoes. Warmed over greasy sausage patties. Lukewarm coffee.
I have a hard time believing that I had stayed at the same place as the rest of the reviewers. It was more than just overpriced. Worn out rooms and uncaring staff is what it is about.
Another note of caution: This hotel is fairly close to the Arrowhead Village mall, but there are no sidewalks, and at times, the traffic zips through the five-way intersection in between.

Room Tip: Do not choose cabins 22, 23 or 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I've been to the Saddleback Inn 14 years ago all by myself, stayed in cabin # 35 (Yukon) and way back then it was immaculate and new.
This time my husband and I stayed in cabin #28 (Moonglow), it was quiet, the bed had a new firm mattress and we were very glad that the bedroom had a. c. as we had hot weather on the first 3 days (this was the first week of October).
The bed linen was clean, however a bit worn out (but that was also the case at the Luxor in Las Vegas, obviously hotel owners cannot afford new bed linens in this economic crisis), but the jacuzzi worked well and the large walk-in shower has enough space for two.

The breakfast is delicious and plenty and keeps you filled up for many hours. Dinner was very good, too, but a bit unorganized (two times two different couples were seated at one table and then re-seated at another table...why?). On Friday nights there is live music with dinner (from 6 p.m. on) and that made more than up for it.

We can recommend this place. It's clean and quiet with a friendly staff.

Three tips: if you ask at the front desk, they'll give you the code for a nice walking trail (mostly in the shade with a gorgeous view on Lake Arrowhead Village and the lake) along the lake close to Lake Arrowhead Village next to Bank of America (lower parking level).

Don't miss the boat trip on the Arrowhead Queen sternwheeler, you'll be amazed about the many celebrities who own houses by the lake. Our captain knew every single house and provided us with some fascinating stories. Patrick Swayze used to live there, June Lockhart still lives by the lake and Doris Day recently moved away, but also had a house by the lake.

If you want to take pics with an elevated view on the lake, drive to the hospital at the other end of Lake Arrowhead and go to the hosptal garden. We went there around 10 a.m. and could still take good photos (I assume around 8 a.m. the light might be even better).

Room Tip: If you stay at The Raven that's the oldest hotel at Lake Arrowhead, founded some 90 years ago an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The front of house staff are excellent, very fiendly and helpful, the manageress was superb. The place was clean, but is old and tired. The management keep it as well as it could be, but its going to get harder as it gets older and more worn.
Beds were very won, the children were on a sofa bed and it ws terrible, small, uncomfortable and in comnvenient. Ourmateress was work and the nights sleep not great but I understand they are up for replacement soon.
The Jacuzzi bath was a nice side but worn and well used.
The breakfast is absolutly awful, worst I have experienced in any hotel. We ate in the restaurant and we had some good and some bad food, good service, very friendly, although overpriced and we only ate there the once.
Overall yes to the lodge, the location and the staff, but no to the food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

2nd romantic getaway for us to Saddleback Inn. Location is perfect for walking to shop/restaurants in the Village. We will keep coming back because front desk staff are the very best! Friendly, helpful and treat you like friends, not customers. REALLY want you to enjoy your stay. Yes, main Hotel is OLD, but accomodations are adequate, do have to say bathrooms definitely need work, BUT - we will return because the staff is outstanding!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Of all the hotels we stayed at on our 3 week tour of California , this one was the best value , quietest and biggest suite. The large Jacuzzi was perfect for a relaxing soak after a long drive from Ventura , Their restaurant , while having a limited menu , had well cooked food at very reasonable prices . Arrowhead and the Saddleback Inn were one of the high points of our holiday and I would highly recommend both to anyone touring California .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Monte, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I wasn't crazy about the view of the parking lot and 7eleven. Otherwise the room was nice... I mean we did get one of the cheaper ones, so what more can I say... we liked the big jaccuzzi bathtub and the fireplace. And it was fairly clean... but not spotless (strand of hair stuck to the bathroom wall). We were in the main building and I think we must've been right above the kitchen because the hallway wreaked of fish and it seeped into the room a little. Next time I'll request a room that's not in the main building and away from the main street... I like a little more seclusion, and fresh air.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saddleback Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddleback Inn

Address: 300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Arrowhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saddleback Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Saddleback Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddleback Hotel Lake Arrowhead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saddleback Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.