We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holidays are the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UCLA Lake Arrowhead Conference Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Arrowhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
UCLA Lake Arrowhead Conference Center
Save
You added UCLA Lake Arrowhead Conference Center to your Saves list
850 Willow Creek Road, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352   |  
Hotel amenities
La Mirada, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Family Holidays are the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have taken the family to the conference center twice for Family Holiday Getaways, once in 2010 and again in 2012. Their Holiday Getaways are excellent, the best for family fun - I highly recommend them. The reasons why are as follows:

1) Complete Getaway from everyday life - The first thing I noticed about the condolets is that they don't have a TV in them. This is by design as the objective of the stay is to foster family time. They also discourage the use of cell phones and computers (although they do offer Wi-Fi).

2) Excellent Family Programming - The activities for your stay are all careful planned and coordinated by the Center's staff. Two hours after check-in the kids are introduced to their counselors and fellow campers (organized by ages), where they do the initial activities and introductions. Every day the kids group meet after breakfast to do activities ranging from arts and crafts, outdoor activities and off site trips (for the older campers). The kids would meet with their families for lunch and dinner. In addition the center holds a family movie night, a bingo night and sporting event watching events.

3) Outstanding Facilities - Families stay in two story condolets that give the feel of being on a log cabin. The condolets are spacious and comfortable and include a fireplace with firewood. The condolets were extremely clean. The housekeeping makes the beds and cleans the bathrooms daily. The facilities include a tennis court, basketball court, pool, gym, sauna, trails, zen deck and kids playground (during the summer they have more outdoor facilities available). In addition the main lodge includes a dinning room, plenty of lounge areas, an "honor" bar, as well as a center hall that is used for activities.

4) World Class Dining Experience - This is perhaps the best part of the stay. Meals are served daily at 8 am, 12 pm and 6:30 pm in buffet style. The food is excellent. The only concern that I had was that I had to slow down on meals as there was a lot of food available. The deserts were excellent. In addition they provide coffee, hot chocolate, tea and apple cider all day and night as well as providing appetizer during adult networking events.

5) UCLA Affiliation - The center is run by UCLA and hence the school's affiliation is included throughout the stay. This includes doing the Eight Clap during morning and evening meals as well as the fact that the counselors are UCLA students. This connects the children to UCLA and encourages them to go to college.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have used the UCLA Lake Arrowhead Conference Center for many years as a yearly retreat. We usually have about 80 or so people attending the retreat. We usually reserve one of the conference rooms and prefer the room that is in the main lodge and above the dining room. Usually we have 2-3 people in each condlet with 1 person in the loft above. There are single Cedar Lodge Rooms which are smaller. The condlets are cozy, with some having fireplaces. Bathrooms are clean and the beds reasonably comfortable. This past year some people requested the Briar Creek Chalet which is a 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom place. Very nice though a little farther walk to the dining area. It has a full kitchen, an outside deck and plenty of common space for gatherings.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be provided at a cost with breakfast buffet style and lunch/dinner sit down style. Breakfast is very hearty with both cold and hot options. I like the breakfast :)

Lunch can be anything from burgers to sandwiches. Dinner is different every night and surprisingly good. We always bring our own bottles of wine which they keep in the kitchen to store free of charge. Service is friendly, quick and good.

Activities are available including tennis courts, basketball courts, a large grassy field for sports, a hot tub and pool, and horseshoes. For an extra charge, there is also hiking, bike riding and some other activities that I cant remember.

Overall, if you are looking for a conference center that is fairly close to Los Angeles, I would recommend UCLA Lake Arrowhead Conference Center!

Room Tip: The Briar Creek Chalet is pretty nice! If you dont mind the short walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Very comfortable conference center with spacious accomodations and great meeting rooms. Food was simple and good; sometimes portions were a bit small; Chefs work hard to accomodate. Good value.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This place is a conference center, but it also runs family getaways and the famous "Bruin Woods" family camp in the summer. The family events are only open to folks with a UCLA affiliation, but that includes staff & alumni, so its a lot of people. The summer program is hard to get into (you might have to apply a couple of times, but you might get lucky) but the winter getaways are usually not full. They are all unbeleivalbly fun. They get the most amazing ucla students to play with the kids, and they, together with all of the rest of the staff, are unfailingly smiling and playful and happy all the time, even at 6 AM after not sleeping during a kids camping trip. The food is great, and they figure out all kinds of fun things for grown ups to do too. And its just wonderful to be surrounded by a world where everyone is happy for a while--a really great break. Older kids get a little independence that they so long for, because it is so safe. Kids idolize the amazing counselors, which only builds motivation in them to get to college, preferably UCLA. This place is worth every penny every time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

We just returned from a weekend stay at the UCLA Lake Arrowhead Conference Center, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. First off, let me just say that even though I am an alumnus, I am not employed by the resort, nor was I paid to write this review.

We had a group of 8 people staying in 2 “condolets” (a cross between a condo and a chalet) for a weekend get-away. Even though this is a conference center, they do take individual reservations when there’s vacancy. The 2-storey units are adorable – 2 bedrooms and 2 baths and a small living room area with a fireplace. The rooms are clean and very well kept. Linens were nice and crisp, and towels were fluffy. Each room even had a flashlight for emergencies, and also an iron and ironing board as well. Our bedrooms had a queen bed in each, and sofa beds in the living room.

The resort is about a 5-10 minute drive from the Village, and is adjacent to the lake. The whole area is huge (we didn’t see it all) and immaculately kept. The whole place was snow covered when we were there, but the paths were all cleared. There is a tennis court, pool, jacuzzi, and a gym. We only went in the gym, and it was nicely equipped, albeit small and a bit far removed from the condolets. The tennis court and pool are closed in the winter.

The resort also offers an optional meal plan, and prices are $10 for breakfast, $15 for lunch, and $20 for dinner. Kids are half-price. And the food is FABULOUS! We have stayed at many places, and I must say the food here is up there with the Ritz Carltons. Breakfast and lunch are buffet-style, and dinner is waiter served. The breakfast spread was super generous, so if you’re a light eater, just load up on breakfast and skip lunch. And if you’re lucky, they’ll have banana nut pancakes on the menu. They are insanely delicious.

We ate all our meals at the resort and enjoyed them, especially the desserts. You don’t don’t get to pick from a menu though, just what they serve. (Although I heard that accommodations can be made or restrictive diets, but I can’t vouch for it.) Oh, and meals are served only at meal times – 8 am, 12 noon, and 6:30 pm. This was fine with us since we were up already, but I can imagine people not wanting to get up early just to catch breakfast. I do wish they’d offer boxed breakfasts for late risers, or even just continental breakfast boxes. There is tea, coffee, and hot chocolate in the lobby throughout the day. No room service though.

The staff was all very nice and professional. One of our dinner servers was amazing! She deserves a medal for service. Just can’t remember her name.

We paid $150 for the condolet itself, plus the cost of food. I also heard that you don’t have to be affiliated with UCLA to stay there, but don’t know if the prices would be the same. By the way, this is a conference center, so if you're expecting a full service hotel/resort, this is not it. There's no valet, no bellman, no spa, no room service, no concierge. But we love it nonetheless. We’re definitely going back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UCLA Lake Arrowhead Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UCLA Lake Arrowhead Conference Center

Address: 850 Willow Creek Road, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lake Arrowhead
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete privacy on 40 beautiful acres are yours at this historic resort on Lake Arrowhead's North Shore. Unique, 2-story guest rooms with fireplaces and every service your conference needs including: * beautiful lodging * three exceptional meals a day * comfortable conference and social rooms * coffee breaks and full audio/visual support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ucla Lake Arrowhead Hotel Lake Arrowhead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UCLA Lake Arrowhead Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.