We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hotel Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bin 189

Bin 189
27984 Hwy 189, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352
909-337-4189
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bin 189 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Terrific Hotel Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A step above typical hotel restaurants, Bin 189 could stand on its own as classy bistro. Good selection, prepared well and served professionally. Wine rules here. The wine flights are fun and educational. Waiter John made our dinner there even more enjoyable. The breakfast drags the place down, I think. Portions much too large and less than innovative served quite slowly both of the mornings we were there. Don'td miss the dinner thougn, as you won't be sorry.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    17
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better but not there yet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We tried Bin 189 after the ownership change, and the service was still only so so at best. We enjoyed the omelet that we had but it took forever to get it, and the breakfast buffet was amazingly sparse in its selection, especially compared to the good old days when Hilton owned this property. The atmosphere was a bit helter skelter and waiters were dropping dishes here and there. We were wishing that we could eat here at least for lunch, but we are going back to Woody's once again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place until it gets dark. Food was hit and miss.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We walked in on an weekday without reservations and got a table on the patio overlooking the lake. It had a beautiful view of the lake. Food came after a long wait, but the baby green salad and ahi appetizer were good. My waiter-recommended shrimp and corn chowder was so thick and salty, plus it was lukewarm, that I took only 2 bites and gave up. Main courses came after dark and we couldn't see a thing at the table even after the waiter brought a candle. Lamb chop was served with a steak knife that couldn't cut through the meat and whatever we could see seemed too raw. Sea bass was good, but again, couldn't see what I'm eating as it was too dark at the table. Dessert was blackberry cobblers which was too sweet for our taste. So probably should visit for breakfast or lunch when you can see the view AND what you ate eating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great wine flight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Loved the wine flight. I think a few tables ordered one after seeing my mine. The food was pretty good and prices weren't bad. The restaurant is very small and doesn't have much of a view. It would be nice if they had tables outside. Service was not very good. Would have liked more selections on the menu.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Poor customer service, mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Waited 40+ minutes for food, then order was all wrong. The food was a decent quality though, hence the two stars instead of one. We won't go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bin 189 also viewed

Twin Peaks, Lake Arrowhead
Blue Jay, Lake Arrowhead
 
Skyforest, Lake Arrowhead
 

Been to Bin 189? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bin 189, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.