We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud Meeting and terrible breakfast” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods to your Saves list
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24341 El Toro Road, Laguna Woods, CA 92653   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% Off 2 Nights!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laguna Woods
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
so cal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loud Meeting and terrible breakfast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

I was traveling with my wife and two daughters aged 4 and 11 months. We had requested a room with 2 queen beds but were put into a king when we arrived. I called down to the desk and asked to be switched, after a 30 min wait we were finally given another room which was located directly above the meeting room. That night there was a party in the meeting room that was so loud we could hardly hear the TV. The party went well past 11pm and when I called down to see if anything could be done abot the noise I was told flat out NO! We finally got the kids to bed around 1am. The next morning we showed up for breakfast at 9:45 and was immediatly told by the cook that they were closing in 15 min and we could not get any new eggs. The eggs on the buffet we old and hard. The buffet itself was disorganized, dirty and looked unsanitary. Even though it was free we decided to go elsewhere any pay for breakfast. I did not feel safe feeding my kids off the dirty buffet. If in the area again I would definatly stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    113
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
178
76
43
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

This is the hotel of choice for business travellers working at the many Irvine area businesses - and for good reason.

The rooms actually have decent lighting (rare in any hotel), comfortable beds, nice amenities, and a very, very good breakfast bar. Evenings there is a wine & cheese which is a nice gesture.

Front desk staff are very helpful and friendly. Free parking, which is also rare for area hotels.

I would forfeit the Hilton & Sheraton points to stay at this hotel again!

  • Liked — Friendly service, free breakfast, easy access, great rooms
  • Disliked — Not affiliated with a points program for frequent travellers
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2006

This hotel is perfect. The service, the ammenities, the fresh linens, the jacuzzi tub, the pool towel service....EVERYTHING is amazing. They have a great breakfast buffet with incredible waffles. I can not wait to stay again. Love the ayres.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2006

This is the second time we have stayed at this location and I feel remise that I did not give a review as this is a small gem. We have friends that live in the Alsio Viejo area and we visit once a year from the southeast.

It's location is a little querky as it is in a strip mall right off of a main road but its predicability ends there. Its traditionally quaint elegantly appointed rooms are soothing and warm. The front staff are always dressed with ties and jackets. Newspapers are available in the lobby. The breakfast is wonderful - from make your own waffles, cereals, abundant fresh and cut fruit, muffins, rolls, toast, bagels and then freshy made omelets, bacon, sausage and potatoes. Four different types of juice and coffee and teas are available. There is plenty of tables athough there was a church based marriage counciling group that packed the breakfast at a one time but we were flexible and avoided the rush.

Our room had two queen beds with a large divider between them. Our bathroom had a jacuzzi tub which was very nice. The shampoos and lotions were all top quality. Towels were soft, large and abundant.

Our side trips to Laguna Beach were easily reached from this location. And to be honest, it is right off the highway.

The pool and the pool deck and patio were lovely with a fountain and blooming flowers.

What was missing from this hotel was free or inexpensive internet service. In todays world this should be a standard and free service. Parking is easy. In the mall itself there are restaurants for an easy meal as there is no facility within the hotel.

All in all, we will use this hotel again and are looking forward to it.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2006

We stayed at this hotel because of the good reviews we read here and we could not have been happier. The room was beautiful, the bed was so comfortable. We stayed on the 3rd floor in room 329 and had a great view of the pool area and distance mountains. The breakfast was really tasty. They had several juices, toasts, pastries, make your own belgium waffles with strawberries and whip cream Yum! they also had made to order omelets and scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes, sausage links and bacon.
I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. It's in a really great area. Only 5 min. from the Irvine Spectrum outdoor mall. This mall is new and fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

This hotel was a very nice hotel for the cost (around 110/night group rate). The lobby is very rich in fabrics, fireplace, and large over sized furniture.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We were there for a wedding and they helped us in finding all of the events.

The breafast was good, but a bit chaotic on the cooks part. It's great for a free breakfast, since they make omlettes to order. The outside patio is nice when it isn't raining.

The hotel is located in the same parking lot as some other stores, so you can easily walk to a few shops.

There was a sink and LARGE mirror in the bedroom (in addition to the sink and mirror that was part of the bathroom). It came in handy but seemed very out of place.

The views out of the rooms could have been better. For such a beautiful area of California, the view was parking lots and a lot of cement.

Overall well worth the money!

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2005

Fabulous Hotel, Top notch in everyway! Stayed 4 nights and loved every minute. Rooms beautifly appointed, staff excellent, wonderful breakfast included every morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods

Address: 24341 El Toro Road, Laguna Woods, CA 92653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laguna Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods! Whether you’re here for a short visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature double pillow top beds, flat screen TV’s, refrigerators, coffeemakers, microwaves well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, iron/ironing board, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast! Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions South Orange County has to offer. Surf, play, and lounge the day away at nearby, world famous Laguna Beach. Revive your wardrobe at the Laguna Hills Mall only one mile away. Also, be sure to check out the exciting night life at the Irvine Spectrum Entertainment Center where you can laugh at the Improv comedy club or play like a kid again at Dave & Buster's video arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Laguna Woods
Laguna Woods Ayres Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.