We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels to your Saves list
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25205 La Paz Road, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-5105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Anaheim, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was a pleasant surprise. You definitely get your money's worth and the staff was very friendly. The buffet breakfast was perfect and very reasonable as well. The location is very accessible from the 5 freeway.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback about your visit to The Hills Hotel. We are more than happy to hear that you were pleasantly satisfied with your stay and want to thank you for giving us the opportunity to provide you all of the services and amenities we have to offer. We will be sure to share the positive feedback. They will appreciate the recognition as well.

Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year from The Hills Hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    63
    37
    20
    12
See reviews for
76
43
18
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Hills Hotel is conveniently located right off the 5 freeway. We stayed here the night before the Jingle Bell 5k. We booked it last minute for a great price and were very pleased with our stay. The front desk staff was very welcoming and polite. Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only negative was we were the first room inside the door and heard it opening and slamming all night and had smoke come in our room a few times from people propping the door open and smoking outside. I would just make sure to request not to stay by the door next time, but we will definitely consider The Hills the next time we are in town.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the doors that go outside. It's too noisy inside the room otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Rooms Division Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, Nicole! I'll be sure to pass along your message to the front desk staff. They're truly dedicated to their work, so they'll be thrilled to hear you found their service welcoming and polite. I appreciate your feedback about the smoke and noise getting in your room, and will make sure it's better insulated for future guests. It was a pleasure having you, and I look forward to your next stay with us.

Best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Unfortunately when my wife and I booked this Hotel for 1 night, they had a wedding with approximately 150 people and the parking lot was loaded making it impossible to find parking once we returned. So if you plan to stay at this hotel, you may want to ask if they are having a wedding on the night you are going. The hotel staff should have told us in advance that there was going to be a wedding and that the hotel was going to be full. If they are having a wedding, DO NOT STAY HERE. They actually roped off the stairs so you could not go down to the lobby level via the carpeted stairway forcing you to use an elevator that is outdated and slow. The bathrooms showed tremendous wear and tear.

The other thing - this hotel need a renovation - BADLY. The elevator wood is badly scarred, the windows in the room have gaps so that air and rain come in and the it has a general appearance of just not being kept up. We were in room 308 and there was a 1/2 inch gap between the sliding window and the permanently fixed window that you could not close.

I would have rather paid another $20.00 and stayed at the Ayres Suites. Looking at the other reviews, it makes me wonder who is actually writing a positive review of this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Rooms Division Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi Mike,

I'm truly sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The last thing I want is for any of our guests to feel inconvenienced. I'll definitely take your feedback to heart and work with the staff to make sure all our guests enjoy a comfortable stay, regardless of whether a wedding is taking place.

As for our interior, we are currently renovating all our rooms. I'll make sure the sliding window in room 308 is fixed as soon as possible.

Best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Hills Hotel is conveniently located right off the 5. We stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend. We booked it last minute for a great price, and were very pleased with our stay. First off, the front desk staff were very welcoming and polite. Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The ambience has a "modern-chic" feel. Overall, the hotel was a great experience. Next time we are in town, we will definitely consider The Hills.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi Josh,

Thanks for staying with us during Thanksgiving. I'm happy to hear you were pleased with your stay and thought your room was clean and comfortable. I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their welcoming and polite service as well.

Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Take care,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My company uses this hotel regularly for our out of town clients and also meeting space for corporate functions. Use to be a Holiday Inn and is an older building but now has a modern, fresh feel and we really don't have anything like it here is South Orange County. The meeting rooms range from upscale boardroom to a grand ball room upstairs. You could have a simple company meeting, wedding reception, anniversary party, or a sweet 16 - something for every budget. I recently stayed the night myself for the first time because of plumbing issues at home and it was a great little get-a-way! The food and wine in the bar and restaurant was excellent. Home made fresh salsa with the pulled pork tacos and my breakfast of eggs benedict was yummy! Everything about the room has been remodeled. Large rainforest showerheads, beds were dressed like the "heavenly beds" at the big resorts and I slept great. It's a unique property, neighborhood type hotel for visiting family and all sorts of functions. Ronnie gets my highest praises for customer service - he is unsurpassed in this industry. And really the entire staff is friendly and helpful....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Rooms Division Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for keeping us in mind whenever out of town clients are visiting Laguna Hills. It's really nice to know you appreciate our hotel's fresh and modern atmosphere. As you mentioned, we've recently remodeled our entire interior.

Thanks also for your kind words about me personally. The credit for our customer service really belongs to the entire team. I'm lucky to work with such a hardworking and dedicated group of people. It's been a pleasure hosting you and your clients, and I look forward to hearing from you again soon.

All the best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel two nights a week for a few months now. I feel it is way above the usual business accommodations available in this area for the same price. I have found the staff to be very courteous and responsive to my needs. The hotel is very accessible, parking is convenient, the lobby is pleasant and the rooms clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant is very good ( try the salmon dinner) and the wait staff excellent. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone needing to be in this area on business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, oms Division Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us over the past few months. It's really nice to know you've found our hotel comfortable and convenient and think our service is courteous and responsive. That's the goal! I sincerely appreciate all your support.

Take care,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels

Address: 25205 La Paz Road, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, is a full service boutique hotel located in beautiful Laguna Hills. We are proud to be among the O.C’s top premiere hotels, offering amazing access to some of California’s most magnificent beaches, shopping, nightlife, fine dining and deep sea fishing. At The Hills Hotel, we are known for our unique service and flexible staff that are always willing to go above and beyond to serve our guests. Whether you are traveling to Laguna Hills for business or pleasure, individually or with your entire family, you will find a world of comfort and convenient amenities here. Now, it's your turn to Meet, Play, and Relax at The Hills Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hills Hotel, An Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Laguna Hills
Holiday Inn Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.