We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied and thankful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels

Save Saved
You added The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25205 La Paz Road, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-5105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Laguna Hills
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Satisfied and thankful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel that was pet friendly. As a small pet owner it is hard to believe these big chain hotels who advertise "pet friendly" and then want $100 or more for the pet to stay is false advertising. This hotel only charged $30, which is reasonable. We are very clean with our pet and travel with her own bed. On other notes, this is a very clean and friendly hotel. The staff were very helpful and kind. It has a great Italian restaurant right around the corner and is close to I-5. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    54
    31
    18
    11
See reviews for
61
39
16
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Recently attended a meeting at this hotel. Had an excellent experience. Hotel is going a refurbishment and they have done a great job of the new rooms. Meeting facilities were really nice. Staff was professional and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Let me start by saying the staff at the front desk are exceptional. They were friendly and very willing to help with anything you need.
The outside of the property is very nice and the lobby/bar area is great as well. The thing that surprised me the most was that the rooms were lacking the attention to detail that you should expect from a boutique hotel such as this.
The vanities in the bathrooms, ( I had 2 rooms), were in poor condition. Chips of the wood broken off showing raw wood and the paint was in bad condition.
The doors to both bathrooms had marks on them and one of them needed to be replaced or at the bare minimum needed a new paint job. One of the exhaust registers was at least an inch away from the wall and there was no exhaust fan working for that bathroom.
Also surprising is that they only provide one robe and one set of slippers in each room. Seems odd if you had two or even four people in a room. They also included a complimentary drink coupon for the bar and when I asked about additional ones they did give me 2 more which only makes sense because there were 2 adults in each room. They told me they usually only provide one per room, kind of like the robes.
The beds are comfortable but are very springy and if someone moves on one side of the bed the other person will absolutely feel it.
Overall experience was okay but I expected more up to date rooms and for them to be in better condition especially with this being an Ascend hotel. I travel quite a bit and some of the newer comfort inns are nicer than this hotel.
They have an onsite restaurant so they do not offer complimentary coffee in the lobby or any type of continental breakfast.
The pool is not heated so the water is cold until late April I would guess.
Again, the staff was great but they need to be brought up to date and maintained so that this property can become what it should be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have recently stayed at this hotel for 4 days. It is a very clean and simple hotel. Our room was facing the outdoor pool at the back and was very quiet. Parking and wireless internet were free. I would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this excellent hotel number of nights and everything was absolutly awsome, I can't say enough about how great the customer service was and how amasing the personnel were. I came back to this hotel a number of times in a period of 5 weeks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake forest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

the customer service is amazing I showed up and Resa khadiwi was more then accommodating. he was very polite and went out of his way to make sure my stay was comfortable. he is the what customer service should should be at every hospitality hotel. amazing customer service!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at the hotel during a business meeting. I love the modern contemporary decor in the lobby and the guest rooms. The bed was very comfy, enough pillows, soft and firm combined, a robe and slippers in the spacious bathroom and free WIFI were tempting me to miss my meeting and stay in my room just to enjoy it's comforts. The meeting rooms are newly renovated as well.The food provided during breaks was delicious, the pastry chef's creations too tasty to ignore. But the best feature if you can call it that is the staff. Everyone was very friendly, efficient and hospitable. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my co-workers,friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County
Pool, Family-fr...
Show More
3.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
#2 of 8 in Lake Forest
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Spa, Trendy, Re...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo
Free Parking, M...
Show More
5.0 mi away
Ayres Suites Mission Viejo
Ayres Suites Mission Viejo
#1 of 4 in Mission Viejo
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels

Address: 25205 La Paz Road, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, is a full service boutique hotel located in beautiful Laguna Hills. We are proud to be among the O.C’s top premiere hotels, offering amazing access to some of California’s most magnificent beaches, shopping, nightlife, fine dining and deep sea fishing. At The Hills Hotel, we are known for our unique service and flexible staff that are always willing to go above and beyond to serve our guests. Whether you are traveling to Laguna Hills for business or pleasure, individually or with your entire family, you will find a world of comfort and convenient amenities here. Now, it's your turn to Meet, Play, and Relax at The Hills Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hills Hotel, An Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Laguna Hills
Holiday Inn Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.