We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23175 Avenida de la Carlota, Laguna Hills, CA 92653   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Laguna Hills
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I would stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The location of this place was great for me since it was close to the freeway. The hotel overall (room and lobby, fitness center and hallways) were clean. Loved that they brewed Starbucks coffee so I didn't have to drive or walk to the nearest Starbucks. The free wi-fi is great and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and our staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    33
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
29
15
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room seemed to be designed more for business than leisure travel. Very nice pull-out desk, an armoire and a TV that could be pulled out or tucked away. Nicely designed room for it's relatively small size. Had a small sofa and table for lounging.

The room was very clean, as if the hotel was brand new. The bathroom was also very clean. The toilet fascinated us because it is a "smart toilet," enabling you to save water (or not) for the flush needed at the time and it flushed with POWER. Very nice, modern feature. The shower worked well, including temperature. There was a small refrig in the room, but they want $2.50 for a bottled water. It's not complimentary, so bring your own or you will be disappointed.

We stayed one night and moved into another hotel a few miles away the second night since our group was staying at the other hotel. We're glad we did only because the bed and pillows at the Courtyard Marriott were not to my liking. My back was sore the next morning, And the pillows felt as comfortable as rolled up blankets in a pillow case. Bring your own comfortable pillows!

The staff seemed a bit frazzled when we checked in. Not as professional as I would expect for the Marriott. But they were certainly helpful and friendly.

The lobby provided computer and printing stations with WiFi. Attached to the lobby was a place for breakfast, but we were disappointed to find that you need to pay for it. Most hotels provide a continental breakfast or at least free coffee.

Parking is tight, so be prepared to walk a distance if you find a spot, and if you have an SUV or light duty truck, you might end up with door dings or else park in the far end and take up two spots.

We did not seem to notice any freeway noise. That's good since it's adjacent to Interstate 5, which has tons of traffic on the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments about the hotel. We appreciate any and all feedback that will help us provide greater value to our guests. We hope to see you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Older facility that has been refurbished. Not much to say other than it is a two star facility.
Right on freeway, so make sure you get a room on the back side of hotel. We had good service from the night desk clerk.

Room Tip: avoid freeway side of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of the property and for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed our service and hope you change your mind about staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great staff - can not say enough how first class the personnel are working here. Room was comfortable, clean and had a balcony plus a mini fridge. Quiet even though it is near freeway. Stayed here for 3 nights while on business. Location was perfect. Had dinner and breakfast twice at the Bistro and all four times the food was prepared to my customizations, served quickly and was good. Very attentative staff. Seem to utilize flex staffing for breakfast and dinner peak times. The staff is paying attention to the kind of details on customer service that one typically associates with upper end hotels (e.g. calling you Mr. or Ms after one meeting) - taking the time to acknowledge you ("how was your run / workout"?) - they are doing a very nice job of creating a temporary community. Lobby is vibrant, functional and a place you actually want to utilize. Pool and spa area were very nice. Work out room is equipped with a stationary bike, 2 treadmills, 1 eliptical and some free weights.

Net - the general manager is hiring and training the right people in the right ways. Additionally it appears the expecations about customer service and team work are communicated and it reflects in an experience that is far and above the "typical Courtyard experience". I would absolutely stay here again whether or business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We do work very hard to recruit talented people to take care of our guests and I am happy to hear that enjoyed our service. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stay over 200 nights at hotels a year. Marriott Platinum member, Hilton Diamond, SPG Platinum,

Pro:
Good location
Free parking

Con:
Dirty carpet in room (stains)
No free breakfast
No upgrade for platinum member to better room

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for review and for staying with us. I am sorry we were not able to upgrade to a suite during your last stay. When you are in the area again please contact me directly and I will make sure to take care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My sister and her daughter and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend. It's like a boutique hotel. We received great and friendly service from all the staff! I didn't bring my computer with me but that wasn't an issue as free internet access was offered. The pool and exercise room aren't huge, but that wasn't a problem for us. The hotel was quiet however since it is close to the highway, there was a bit of traffic noise at the pool. Not a big deal really. A little snack bar was open at breakfast and supper times only, and since there are no restaurants close by, you will need a car. Highway access to Irvine, Orange County Airport, Laguna Beach, Disney and Spectrum Center shopping is close and simple. Many really good restaurants not too far away. We really enjoyed our stay and left relaxed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
It was great meeting you and your family. Mary was so excited to see your message to our customer care team regarding her service. I passed your comments on to all of our staff so they could read the nice things you said about her. I am so glad that you were able to have a great time and relax. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stay at this hotel often when I have business in south Orange County. The Courtyard can be difficult to find as it is located on a service drive along the 5 freeway 15-20 min south of John Wayne airport. If you get to El Toro Road you have gone too far, but there is an In-N-Out burger just off the freeway which makes the detour well worth it! If you haven't been to the California staple I highly recommend it. Get a Double-Double animal style, grab your Lipitor and head directly to the gym. It's worth it. The hotel is clean and sports the latest in Courtyard lobbies with bright colors, plenty of business friendly seating with lots of plugs and free WiFi. What do you expect, this is a business hotel. It's surprisingly nice and when other hotels in the area are charging $250 - $300 this is normally $189. There is a quick dining counter where you can get your Starbucks fix and a healthy breakfast. There is also a convenience area with toiletries, beer & wine and snacks for no nonsense or late night eats. The hotel is 5 minutes from the Irvine Spectrum with more shopping and restaurants than you can visit. When you check-in you can spin for a free amenity if you are at least Marriott Silver. This is the perfect business hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and for being a frequent guest. You would not believe how many people ask where the nearest In & Out Burger is when they check in. I always recommend checking out the secret menu online.

We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County

Address: 23175 Avenida de la Carlota, Laguna Hills, CA 92653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County Hotel
Courtyard Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Courtyard
Laguna Hills Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.