We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got in on points. Won't go back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23175 Avenida de la Carlota, Laguna Hills, CA 92653   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Got in on points. Won't go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Older facility that has been refurbished. Not much to say other than it is a two star facility.
Right on freeway, so make sure you get a room on the back side of hotel. We had good service from the night desk clerk.

Room Tip: avoid freeway side of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of the property and for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed our service and hope you change your mind about staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    38
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
32
15
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great staff - can not say enough how first class the personnel are working here. Room was comfortable, clean and had a balcony plus a mini fridge. Quiet even though it is near freeway. Stayed here for 3 nights while on business. Location was perfect. Had dinner and breakfast twice at the Bistro and all four times the food was prepared to my customizations, served quickly and was good. Very attentative staff. Seem to utilize flex staffing for breakfast and dinner peak times. The staff is paying attention to the kind of details on customer service that one typically associates with upper end hotels (e.g. calling you Mr. or Ms after one meeting) - taking the time to acknowledge you ("how was your run / workout"?) - they are doing a very nice job of creating a temporary community. Lobby is vibrant, functional and a place you actually want to utilize. Pool and spa area were very nice. Work out room is equipped with a stationary bike, 2 treadmills, 1 eliptical and some free weights.

Net - the general manager is hiring and training the right people in the right ways. Additionally it appears the expecations about customer service and team work are communicated and it reflects in an experience that is far and above the "typical Courtyard experience". I would absolutely stay here again whether or business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We do work very hard to recruit talented people to take care of our guests and I am happy to hear that enjoyed our service. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stay over 200 nights at hotels a year. Marriott Platinum member, Hilton Diamond, SPG Platinum,

Pro:
Good location
Free parking

Con:
Dirty carpet in room (stains)
No free breakfast
No upgrade for platinum member to better room

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for review and for staying with us. I am sorry we were not able to upgrade to a suite during your last stay. When you are in the area again please contact me directly and I will make sure to take care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My sister and her daughter and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend. It's like a boutique hotel. We received great and friendly service from all the staff! I didn't bring my computer with me but that wasn't an issue as free internet access was offered. The pool and exercise room aren't huge, but that wasn't a problem for us. The hotel was quiet however since it is close to the highway, there was a bit of traffic noise at the pool. Not a big deal really. A little snack bar was open at breakfast and supper times only, and since there are no restaurants close by, you will need a car. Highway access to Irvine, Orange County Airport, Laguna Beach, Disney and Spectrum Center shopping is close and simple. Many really good restaurants not too far away. We really enjoyed our stay and left relaxed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
It was great meeting you and your family. Mary was so excited to see your message to our customer care team regarding her service. I passed your comments on to all of our staff so they could read the nice things you said about her. I am so glad that you were able to have a great time and relax. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stay at this hotel often when I have business in south Orange County. The Courtyard can be difficult to find as it is located on a service drive along the 5 freeway 15-20 min south of John Wayne airport. If you get to El Toro Road you have gone too far, but there is an In-N-Out burger just off the freeway which makes the detour well worth it! If you haven't been to the California staple I highly recommend it. Get a Double-Double animal style, grab your Lipitor and head directly to the gym. It's worth it. The hotel is clean and sports the latest in Courtyard lobbies with bright colors, plenty of business friendly seating with lots of plugs and free WiFi. What do you expect, this is a business hotel. It's surprisingly nice and when other hotels in the area are charging $250 - $300 this is normally $189. There is a quick dining counter where you can get your Starbucks fix and a healthy breakfast. There is also a convenience area with toiletries, beer & wine and snacks for no nonsense or late night eats. The hotel is 5 minutes from the Irvine Spectrum with more shopping and restaurants than you can visit. When you check-in you can spin for a free amenity if you are at least Marriott Silver. This is the perfect business hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and for being a frequent guest. You would not believe how many people ask where the nearest In & Out Burger is when they check in. I always recommend checking out the secret menu online.

We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed here two years in a row while in Southern California. It's right on the freeway, but we didn't find it noisy at all. We stayed on the opposite side from the freeway, though.
The hotel is nicely decorated, there is a comfy cozy lounge in the lobby, presumably where groups could hang out and watch the large flat screen. The rooms are impeccably clean, good Marriott beds and linens , as you would expect. The location is close enough to beaches, to LA, to the stellar Irvine Spectrum entertainment complex , huge theater and restaurants galore.
We will be back! That's a great team running the hotel.

Room Tip: You might want a room on the back, away from the freeway. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again on your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, PA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We chose this property because we felt it gave us the guarantee of a solid stay while diminishing costs significantly when compared to the coast. This was right on target. We were just a few minutes from Downtown Laguna Beach but also back off the coast so that we could easily slide off from the hotel to places like San Juan Capistrano, Dana Point or Newport Beach. It was ideal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County

Address: 23175 Avenida de la Carlota, Laguna Hills, CA 92653
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County Hotel
Courtyard Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Courtyard
Laguna Hills Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.