We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great proximity, but very near the freeway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23175 Avenida de la Carlota, Laguna Hills, CA 92653   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Laguna Hills
Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great proximity, but very near the freeway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stay at this hotel often when I have business in south Orange County. The Courtyard can be difficult to find as it is located on a service drive along the 5 freeway 15-20 min south of John Wayne airport. If you get to El Toro Road you have gone too far, but there is an In-N-Out burger just off the freeway which makes the detour well worth it! If you haven't been to the California staple I highly recommend it. Get a Double-Double animal style, grab your Lipitor and head directly to the gym. It's worth it. The hotel is clean and sports the latest in Courtyard lobbies with bright colors, plenty of business friendly seating with lots of plugs and free WiFi. What do you expect, this is a business hotel. It's surprisingly nice and when other hotels in the area are charging $250 - $300 this is normally $189. There is a quick dining counter where you can get your Starbucks fix and a healthy breakfast. There is also a convenience area with toiletries, beer & wine and snacks for no nonsense or late night eats. The hotel is 5 minutes from the Irvine Spectrum with more shopping and restaurants than you can visit. When you check-in you can spin for a free amenity if you are at least Marriott Silver. This is the perfect business hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and for being a frequent guest. You would not believe how many people ask where the nearest In & Out Burger is when they check in. I always recommend checking out the secret menu online.

We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    33
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
29
15
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed here two years in a row while in Southern California. It's right on the freeway, but we didn't find it noisy at all. We stayed on the opposite side from the freeway, though.
The hotel is nicely decorated, there is a comfy cozy lounge in the lobby, presumably where groups could hang out and watch the large flat screen. The rooms are impeccably clean, good Marriott beds and linens , as you would expect. The location is close enough to beaches, to LA, to the stellar Irvine Spectrum entertainment complex , huge theater and restaurants galore.
We will be back! That's a great team running the hotel.

Room Tip: You might want a room on the back, away from the freeway. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again on your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, PA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We chose this property because we felt it gave us the guarantee of a solid stay while diminishing costs significantly when compared to the coast. This was right on target. We were just a few minutes from Downtown Laguna Beach but also back off the coast so that we could easily slide off from the hotel to places like San Juan Capistrano, Dana Point or Newport Beach. It was ideal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This Courtyards was beautifully furnished and decorated. If I say it's freeway close that is an understatement. It's on a frontage Road going south on the 5. If you were any closer to the freeway you would be siting on the shoulder with a AAA truck behind you. I don't think the noise in the rooms at the front will be a problem as it is most likely triple glazed. Strictly business persons hotel, it is close to the Spectrum so if that is your destination on a weekend with a great rate it would work with children. The beds are so comfortable!

Room Tip: The beds are to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. Actually our windows are quadruple paned for maximum sound reduction. Please come visit us on the weekends, not only are we close to the spectrum but Laguna Beach is only 6 miles away and you don't have to pay those Laguna prices.

We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
540 reviews 540 reviews
229 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
481 helpful votes 481 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed with my wife and son at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum. We stayed there twice in the same week, for one day each. By coincidence, both times, we had the same room with two double beds, room 201 which was quiet because it overlooked the parking lot in the back of the hotel. It was large enough for our four suitcases. The first time I checked in, they let me spin for extra Marriott points which were added to my account.

The positives,

• The location is very convenient with easy access to I-5.

• Check-in and check-out were friendly and easy. There are parking spaces near the front and the side entrance so that it was easy to load and unload the suitcases using the trolley.

• The wi-fi was reliable and strong enough for live video streaming of a match between Arsenal and Tottenham Hotspur.

• The bistro in the lobby provided a good selection of food items for a quick breakfast, and the lady behind the counter was very helpful. If you have time for a more substantial breakfast, you can drive to Polly’s Pies in Moulton Plaza.

• The room was clean and well laid out with the traditional Courtyard availability of electrical plugs—just right for three people who had to charge devices at the same time.

• No neighbor noise.


The negatives,

• We learned that at most Courtyards the maid didn’t forget to put out a shower cap; you just have to ask for one at the reception area. On our second stay, we asked for one when we checked in.

We had an excellent stay at the Courtyard, and we felt it was an exceptionally efficient and good deal, especially on weekends when the rate was low.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you got some good bonus points on your elite member spin. Please some visit us the next time you are in town.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

No more free lobby coffee at Courtyards with "bistro" concept. Was told that too many were buying Starbucks at the bistro so they did away with the free stuff. Huh? More like the other way around. Bad move on Marriott's part. They will alienate alot of their business and Rewards members. They are encouraging guests to make their own in their rooms! Otherwise, hotel is OK.....can't really get away from the constant "405 roar" even on the backside. Front desk clerk in afternoon was very friendly and offered bonus points for my stay....a plus. Weekend advanced rate was very good for SoCal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we are constantly seeking and reviewing feedback from our guests. I will make sure your comments are shared with our brand team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has an older feel to it. Well worn but somewhat clean despite the stained carpets. The front desk clerk was extremely polite and friendly. My request for extra towels was met promptly as well. I usually stay at courtyards and have come to enjoy the convenience of their breakfast buffet. This one had food to go that was outrageously priced. Additionally, I had to attend a meeting in the morning and when I returned needing my coffee fix around 10:30 there was no longer any coffee around and the front desk lady said they don't offer it all day. Most of the other courtyards do. The topper was when my four year old left his prized possessions in a backpack in our hotel room.They couldn't find it. I knew exactly where it was... but after their "search" it was unable to be located. No blame on the front desk... I know they looked for it... but it didn't grow legs and walk out on its own. Obviously the result of an untrustworthy staff. Just sad.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would very much appreciate it if you could contact me when you have a chance. I would like the opportunity to speak to you about your stay at our hotel and see what we can do to make it better.

Sincerely

Marc Schlesinger
General Manager
949 859 5500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County

Address: 23175 Avenida de la Carlota, Laguna Hills, CA 92653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County Hotel
Courtyard Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Courtyard
Laguna Hills Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.