We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was GOOD” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Hills Lodge to your Saves list
Laguna Hills Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23932 Paseo De Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“It was GOOD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Good shower, tight quarters for toilet, sink separate outside. Bed comfortable, pillows poor, very basic microwave, nice chair with ottoman, refrig & TV with remote. No elevator, basic continental breakfast, some healthier choices would be nice. Gardens are Gorgeous, staff polite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, General Manager at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Several of our guests have commented that we have no elevators and we want to clarify that. There is no elevator in our two story buildings but there is an elevator in our three story building. Thanks again for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    110
    34
    12
    14
See reviews for
125
103
44
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent two nights in early April at the Lodge. This older hotel has been well maintained. The room was clean. There was no elevator to get to the 2nd floor. Normally this is not an issue, but I think my wife put bowling balls in our big suitcase: going up and down the stairs was not fun.The continental breakfast was decent, but paled in comparison to what we got on this trip from a Hampton Inn and a La Quinta. This is a good place to stay if you are looking for a place to sleep, but not really a place for you to relax. A Chik-fil-A is 200 feet away which was convenient. We had an outside room facing the road. It wasn't an Interstate highway, but we heard every motorcycle that came by. We were fine staying here, but it didn't knock our socks off.

Room Tip: Request an inside the courtyard room to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the bes kept secret in Laguna Hills! Close to the freeway, shopping center, restaurants. The hotel staff was wonderful! Breakfast every morning. Newspaper! The room was big with a refrigerator and microwave. Cable TV. Pool. I could go on and on.

Room Tip: You have to pay more to not be on the busy street, but the traffic noise didn't bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I used my credit card to book the room, and when we checked in, the man only spoke and made eye contact with my boyfriend. He took my credit card back for a very long time and took forever to check us in. When we finally got to the room, it was disgusting. The floor was dirty, and the bed was like a rock. We were only going to be here for two nights, so we decided to stick it out. In the middle of the first night, I woke up at about 2 AM with a bug biting my arm, and itchy bumps on my legs. Needless to say, we booked another hotel and left right then and there. The hotel gave us the hardest time with getting our money back even though I had gotten bit by bugs in there beds.

I recently got an email from the company of the credit card I used warning me that someone had tried to spend $200 my card, and the transactions were attempted in the area of this hotel. The only time I used that card during our trip was to book this hotel. Please, do not stay here. There are many beautiful and much more hospitable hotels in the area with a trustworthy staff that won't steel your credit card information.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, General Manager at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We are sorry that you were not happy during your stay at our hotel. We investigated your concerns regarding your credit card. When a guest checks in, we verify to make sure there is sufficient credit available and “authorize” the card which puts a temporary hold on the total amount due per the reservation. In your case, the card hold amount was for the two days of your reservation; when you checked out early, you were only then actually charged for your one night stay. Depending on the bank, it can take one to three days for the card to be re-credited for the difference.

Concerning your complaints of a bug in your room, the room was thoroughly checked by our pest control company at the time and no problems were found. Many guests have stayed in that room since with no complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been staying at the Laguna Hills Lodge for several years and it keeps getting better and better each time I go. I first found it in a AAA book back in the 90's and have always been pleased with the price, service, appearance and location over the years. We just finished a stay there from March 21-25 and the property's major spring planting is in process. The grounds are beautiful with many fragrant and colorful flowers and plants. The rooms are comfortable and were all remodeled a few years ago. The pool area has an exercise/weight room, a hot tub and a sauna. The pool has a mechanical chair that can help disabled people get into the pool - first time I have ever seen this type of equipment. The location is a couple of blocks off of I-5 and one can be headed north to Los Angeles or south to San Diego in a few minutes. We usually fly into John Wayne (Orange County) Airport and It is an easy fifteen minutes drive from the airport on I-405 and I-5. It takes about 10 minutes to drive from the property to the town of Laguna Beach and the main road that leads directly to it starts just a half block away. A large shopping mall with Macy's, etc. is two blocks away and a major grocery store is about five minutes away. Many restaurants, both major fast food and locally flavored are also with minutes. A moderately priced golf course is three exits south on I-5. One of the best features is the morning breakfast which is served every morning. It is staffed by two employees and there is pretty much everything you might want there short of waffles, bacon and scrambled eggs. It is a great way to start the day. Whether it is a place to retreat to at the end of the day of playing or a place to work from on a business trip this property will not disappoint. They have room deals on Facebook and there was a great deal on rates recently through Southwest Airlines when I made my flight reservation. My only gripe is that they like to stick to the 11:00 AM check out time although with begging and pleading I have been able to stretch it to 11:30. I realize that they need the time to get the rooms ready for the new guests, especially when they are going to be full or close to it but 12:00 would work better for me.

Room Tip: I like to pick the second or third floor looking out onto the garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I work in Irvine so I got a room for my youngest son (16) to be close enough to get him for lunch and be in and out. 3 miles from the Irvine Business Complex at Alton.
Felt very good and safe leaving him while I worked. Family atmosphere with no riff raff (like a few of the others close by)
Heated pool and gym.
Chick-Fil-A almost on the grounds and an In and Out across the street in front of the Mall.
Plenty to do in walking distance.
Large room with everything-wi fi- micro-fridge-safe-iron-desk-flat screen.
Shower Toilet area was on the small side but not the worst I've seen.
Big sink outside.
Breakfast was OK (no eggs or waffles though)
The front desk people were super friendly and helpful.
Family atmosphere with no riff raff (like a few of the others close by)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The room was very clean and had an in-room safe. There is Wi-Fi at no additional charge. In fact, the room charge was quite reasonable for the LA area. The hotel desk personnel were very helpful with directions. The breakfast is excellent. Would recommend this hotel strongly for anyone staying in Laguna Hills, CA or surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Address: 23932 Paseo De Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Hills Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.