We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Hills Lodge to your Saves list
Laguna Hills Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23932 Paseo De Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clarkston, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been staying at the Laguna Hills Lodge for several years and it keeps getting better and better each time I go. I first found it in a AAA book back in the 90's and have always been pleased with the price, service, appearance and location over the years. We just finished a stay there from March 21-25 and the property's major spring planting is in process. The grounds are beautiful with many fragrant and colorful flowers and plants. The rooms are comfortable and were all remodeled a few years ago. The pool area has an exercise/weight room, a hot tub and a sauna. The pool has a mechanical chair that can help disabled people get into the pool - first time I have ever seen this type of equipment. The location is a couple of blocks off of I-5 and one can be headed north to Los Angeles or south to San Diego in a few minutes. We usually fly into John Wayne (Orange County) Airport and It is an easy fifteen minutes drive from the airport on I-405 and I-5. It takes about 10 minutes to drive from the property to the town of Laguna Beach and the main road that leads directly to it starts just a half block away. A large shopping mall with Macy's, etc. is two blocks away and a major grocery store is about five minutes away. Many restaurants, both major fast food and locally flavored are also with minutes. A moderately priced golf course is three exits south on I-5. One of the best features is the morning breakfast which is served every morning. It is staffed by two employees and there is pretty much everything you might want there short of waffles, bacon and scrambled eggs. It is a great way to start the day. Whether it is a place to retreat to at the end of the day of playing or a place to work from on a business trip this property will not disappoint. They have room deals on Facebook and there was a great deal on rates recently through Southwest Airlines when I made my flight reservation. My only gripe is that they like to stick to the 11:00 AM check out time although with begging and pleading I have been able to stretch it to 11:30. I realize that they need the time to get the rooms ready for the new guests, especially when they are going to be full or close to it but 12:00 would work better for me.

Room Tip: I like to pick the second or third floor looking out onto the garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    116
    36
    13
    15
See reviews for
129
112
45
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I work in Irvine so I got a room for my youngest son (16) to be close enough to get him for lunch and be in and out. 3 miles from the Irvine Business Complex at Alton.
Felt very good and safe leaving him while I worked. Family atmosphere with no riff raff (like a few of the others close by)
Heated pool and gym.
Chick-Fil-A almost on the grounds and an In and Out across the street in front of the Mall.
Plenty to do in walking distance.
Large room with everything-wi fi- micro-fridge-safe-iron-desk-flat screen.
Shower Toilet area was on the small side but not the worst I've seen.
Big sink outside.
Breakfast was OK (no eggs or waffles though)
The front desk people were super friendly and helpful.
Family atmosphere with no riff raff (like a few of the others close by)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The room was very clean and had an in-room safe. There is Wi-Fi at no additional charge. In fact, the room charge was quite reasonable for the LA area. The hotel desk personnel were very helpful with directions. The breakfast is excellent. Would recommend this hotel strongly for anyone staying in Laguna Hills, CA or surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you are visiting the Laguna Hills/Laguna Woods area this is a good place to stay. Helpful, friendly staff. Rooms are clean and neat. Location is easy to get to, right off the interstate. Restaurants are close by

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The rooms are consistently clean and comfortable. In-room coffee maker, in-room mini-fridge, in-room microwave are much appreciated amenities. Several treadmills available, and a small pool.

They take meticulous care of their garden areas, and common areas as well Spacious sink area outside the bathroom, but bathroom is very small. Business travelers who want to get an early start won't be able to take advantage of the free breakfast, because it doesn't open until 7AM.

At their price point, the Laguna Hills Lodge is a value unmatched by any other property in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We tried to get an early check into this hotel at 1 PM in the afternoon. We spoke to the front desk manager who said that the earliest check-in would be at 3 PM but we asked if we can get in earlier because we had a handicapped person with us and a baby. The manager said he would talk to the service manager who promptly returned with a "no 3 PM, everybody from the service staff is going to lunch at that time". Later after we checked in we tried to sleep on the mattresses and we absolutely could not sleep because they were extremely hard. We ended up going up the street to the Marriott that very night and getting a refund for hotel stay through hotels.com who were very good to us.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, General Manager at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. You mentioned that you wanted to check in two hours early at 1:00 PM. Our guest check-out time is at 11:00 AM. With our very strict cleaning and inspection process, and when hotel occupancy is high, it is very difficult to check a guest in that early. We assure you that we try to accommodate guests whenever possible. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Regarding our beds, we provide medium firm mattresses. All of us are Goldilocks, wanting the "just right" mattress! We can say that most of our guests are very pleased with our mattresses.

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zillah, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I recently stayed for a week at this establishment. I could definitely tell that the owners took pride in their establishment. The room was clean and very nice. The bathroom had a shower/tub combination and I can truthfully say that you could get "wet" in the shower. Good water pressure, very nice tub/shower enclosure. Beds were very comfortable. Room had a flat screen t.v. with 60 cable channels. There was a free in-room safe, free wi-fi for the laptop. The free continental breakfast was very good and nice to have available. Our room was located on the street side. It was a busy street, but didn't seem to notice traffic noise. There is a fire-department just down the road, but did not notice sirens after we went to bed. Overall, very positive experience. Nice location for theme parks and beaches. Definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the court-yard side may be quieter if you are concerned about traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Address: 23932 Paseo De Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Hills Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.