We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid stay at a fair price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Hills Lodge to your Saves list
Laguna Hills Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23932 Paseo De Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Solid stay at a fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I travel to the Orange County area frequently. I've stayed in a great number of hotels including both "local" ones like this one typical larger chain hotels. I'm still looking for the perfect combination of friendliness, location, ameneties, and comfort. This one ranks high on my list and I could definitely see myself rebooking it again in the future.

This is an older property that has been refurbished/maintained beautifully. You probably wouldn't know it was older if not for some of the "retro" type appointments that were just the way properties were built when this one likely was -- small bathrooms. ceramic (not plastic) tubs, etc. It doesn't feel "old" in any other way. All items work well and the entire property is squeaky clean and meticulously landscaped.

Fantastic blackout curtains in the room help an East Coaster like me very happy when I want to sleep during daylight! I booked a "value" room and my room was right on the street and across from the firestation. I only really heard the street noise when I had my window opened (I love windows that open!) and the noise was not bothersome to me. When I closed the window and blackout curtain and set the a/c fan to on I was blissfully unaware of the world around me. The fire department was so courteous in their use of sirens that I was honestly never bothered by that sound. I heard it a time or two but never when I was trying to sleep and it never bothered me in any way.

Breakfast was good - fairly typical hotel breakfast in a nice room. Plenty of seats everytime I went which was a plus for me.

Plenty of free well-lit parking and free Wi-fi made this hotel a great value. Both of those things are rare in the area.

The location was fantastic for my purposes Easy to get to, close to highways and main roads that take you just about anywhere you want to go, and plenty to eat, drink, see, do nearby.

I found the beds to be comfortable but the sheets and blankets didn't WOW me. However, this didn't affect my quality of sleep.

In room coffee maker, a microwave and fridge added even more value to the stay.

No complaints at all from me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    122
    39
    13
    15
See reviews for
136
116
48
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I would come back and I will come back , great breakfast , great beds, great rooms , staff very friendly and courteous , I cant say enough good things about this place . Go see for yourself . The properties are beautiful , pool and hot tub awesome. Thank you to Laguna Hills Lodge.

Oh yea the price was the best , I booked online
Candy Lindsay Peterborough Ontario Canada

Room Tip: this hotel is well worth the vacation spotto go too
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, NV
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We came to visit family in Laguna Woods and went to Disneyland. This is our third stay here and it has been very good every time. The price on Expedia could not be beat. They have a pretty good breakfast that we utlilized all 4 mornings. This is the perfect location if you want to visit the beach areas. You are only about 15 minutes from Laguna Beach. The 5 freeway is right there so you can go north, south east really fast. I hesitate to give a great review as to not get it booked up in the future, but they deserve the accolades. At check-in the gentleman was very informative and answered any questions we had. We did not need anything during our stay so I can't comment on their follow up. Will definetly stay again.

Room Tip: You can update to a bigger room or one with a balcony, but if only there to sleep don't worry ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I’ve stayed at this hotel several times. It deserves the positive reviews that it has gotten on this site. So, it’s really a shame that the staff is so totally unfriendly here. The reception is reliably cold and expressionless each and every time I stay here. You’ll never see a smiling face at this hotel or hear a polite phrase like “enjoy your stay”. It’s not just possible at this place. It is something that I’ve learned to tolerate. The Marriott hotel on Av. de la Carlotta, which is just a mile away from this hotel, often has a matching rate. When it does, I truly enjoy the warm professional service I get there. There’s really no excuse for the attitude you have to put up with at the Laguna Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just returned from stay at the lodge got an excellent price. Nice and quiet clean room new carpet and mattresses. Even has laundry machine which we used. Mall across the street and many restaurants in the area. Will be staying there next time I visit. Also only 10 mins to laguna beach.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the road its quieter there is a firehouse across the street but it didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

An absolute bargain, and much classier than the big motel chains. Large, comfortable, well-equipped rooms, spotlessly clean. Beautifully kept grounds and friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast. If it were closer to the coast it would be twice as expensive. But it's only a short drive away from Laguna Beach, very close to the LA-San Diego freeway and just across the road from a shopping mall with a good choice of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I just recently stayed at this property. It is an older hotel but that is easily spotted from the outside. The style is somewhat dated but don't let that deter you. It is well kept and well appointed. They were going for that special flair in how they decorated, and in most cases they hit their mark but their room decoration is not to everyone's taste. Modern and sophisticated it is not, but clean and welcoming it is. The property is close to some great shopping and for anyone fearing a fire or an unfortunate accident there is a fire hall across the street. This may be an issue with regard to sirens but we heard nothing. The small yet functional balcony is a nice touch. This property has everything the savy, but cost conscious traveler wants. Breakfast was better than average and their pool and hot tub area was clean and welcoming. I would not hesitate in recommending it.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to the Pool and on the second floor to get a balcony. This also means you will be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Address: 23932 Paseo De Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Hills Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.