We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay here again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Hills Lodge to your Saves list
Laguna Hills Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23932 Paseo De Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
San Diego, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will not stay here again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We booked four rooms for our family getaway. One of the family members was not placed adjacent to the other rooms, and he was next to the stairway. He checked in at about 2:00pm and immediately placed his luggage in the room and then we all went to our destination. When we returned at night, my son did not even open his luggage and ttry and sleep as the noice from children yelling and running up and down the stairs was terrible. He went and complained to the front desk but the person was uncaring and said "what do you want me to do call the police?" No, all he could have done was go back with my son to the room and talk to the parents and children or have another employee do so. Instead, my son had no choice but to check out, never really using the room (except to hold his luggage).
We asked for one room to be credited and the hotel agreed to 1/2 credit. We remain very unhappy since my son had to drive all the way home at night after a whole day, being exhausted and tired, placing him at danger. None of us could enjoy the family gathering for breakfast and the morning. The whole trip was ruined.
The management was contacted and uncaring.
You decide if you want to go to a individual owned motel or a real hotel that takes pride in customer service and having a peaceful place to stay.

Room Tip: make certain you are not near the stairways or children are in adjacent rooms if you want to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, Owner at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Manager response to Guest’s e-mail of 8/21/11, sent on 8/22/11:

First and foremost allow me to apologize on behalf of the Laguna Hills Lodge for any inconvenience.

Regarding your request for early check-in, I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request to check-in at 2:00 PM. We did get you in at 2:28 PM but are sorry you felt unhappy with our Front Desk staff. Let me assure you that we make every effort to accommodate requests for early check-in.

The weekend you stayed with us the hotel was sold out. Many guests leave later than our check-out time of 11:00, especially during the summer, and our housekeeping staff has to work around this

As far as our Front Desk not seeming sensitive to your request, I apologize for that and have coached them. During the summer rush, people on both sides of the desk can be cranky. That is no excuse for you to have felt that your request was not worthy of a more sympathetic response.
Brian at our Front Desk apologized to your son when he reported children making noise in the stairway near his room. Let me also apologize. Because of this noise problem we are more than happy to reduce your son’s room charge by 50%.

Ironically, your son checked out of the Lodge at 9:30 PM, our staff checked the stairway at 10:00 PM and at 11:00 PM and there was no noise or children in the area. We had to charge something for his room because we were unable to sell it to anyone else during this busy time.

Again, let me apologize for any inconvenience you experienced as a result of your stay at the Laguna Hills Lodge.

Regards,

Bill Crawford, Owner/Manager
Laguna Hills Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    110
    34
    12
    14
See reviews for
125
103
44
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We just consolidated our operations in Laguna Hills and had a board meeting at our new facility this week. Laguna Hills Lodge is a quaint motel with charm. This is not your run of the mill motel. Across the street is a major shopping mall complete with major department stores and outstanding restaurants. We ate at King's Seafood and highly recommend it.

We were greeted with big smiles and warm cookies. Facility offers a nice pool area and workout room. Rooms were complete with a refrigerator, a microwave, coffee maker, an iron and ironing board, a security vault, and free WiFi. Rate included a full continental breakfast and free newspapers. Business center included computers and printers.

Board members from Northern California, China, and the U.K. stayed at Laguna Hills Lodge with all giving it a thumbs up. We will be making this our motel of choice when visiting our Laguna Hills facility.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Picked the Laguna Hills Lodge because of generally positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Was there for a short business trip and would stay there again. Very quaint and staff is very attentive. Rooms are nice, clean and for the price, you can't beat it. Lots of shopping nearby. Only minor complaints are that it's hidden away in a very busy shopping, residential & bustling area. Not alot of great choices for walking nearby, not very pedestrian-friendly, but hey, it's Southern California! When I walked the morning I was there, I got brusquely chased out of a gated area, which was anything but welcoming. My room looked out on busy side street so it was pretty noisy in the morning and there must be a fire station nearby as I heard several fire trucks. Continental breakfast was pretty decent, much like those at other chain hotels with a decent selection of food. You could tell staff were concerned about creating a good customer service atmosphere.
Bottom line is that you can't go wrong for the price and the atmosphere puts it a notch above any of the nearby chain hotels. Only other minor negative was that they couldn't find my Expedia reservation when I first checked in, a little annoying, but it just took them awhile.

Room Tip: Ask front desk for an upstairs room that faces IN, not out to the street. Would be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Our stay, July 20 &21, 2011, here was great. Clean rooms, wonderful location (across the street from a shopping center and great coffee speciality shop) and great breakfast! Great selecion of breakfast type foods - boiled eggs, cereal (including raisin bran), various fruits and yogurts and breads/muffins and more. The staff was helpful when needing directions and answering questions.

Room Tip: Don't look farther. Good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We have stayed at the Laguna Hills Lodge several times over the past couple of years. Never have we had a bad experience so I would have to say it's a lot of bang for the buck since it is in one of the more expensive areas of the West Coast. It's convenient to most of the Southern Ca. attractions if that's your thing. For us it is the beach with the closest being 15 min. south and west to the Salt Creek/Strands area. Laguna Beach is a little closer but the traffic in the canyon can take some time if not done at the proper time of day. Of course once you get there and are lucky enough to find parking the wonderful free tram system in the summer up and down the Laguna coast is great and makes it generally worth the hassle. Now that our son is attending college at the nearby Soka University we will be visiting The Laguna Hills Lodge even more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed at the lodge for 11 nights, choose this hotel according to the reviews and because price. Rooms were very clean staff very friendly. Breakfast room was clean and staff helpful, nice selection of food also. Pool was great for kids and open until 11pm.
Would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone.
A wonderful time was had by all and even a shopping mall in walking distance who could ask for more!!

Room Tip: As international travelers ask for there discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I generally stay in chain hotels, because I've found that independently-owned properties can sometimes be poorly-run, but I chose to stay here largely because of the very positive TripAdvisor reviews. Thankfully, it was a good decision.

Every interaction I had with the staff was positive -- people were unusually friendly. The cookie at check-in is a nice touch. Even though the property is older, my room looked like it was recently updated. The flat-screen TV was great. I also really appreciated the free parking and free continental breakfast. The breakfast isn't particularly elaborate, but there are cereals, pastries, yogurt, and more. It's enough. And it's free!

The hotel is also located conveniently off of I-5, making it easy to get everywhere in Orange County.

I got a good night's sleep in a clean room for a reasonable price, without any unexpected extra charges.

Room Tip: I think Buildings A and B are better than Building C -- especially the rooms overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Address: 23932 Paseo De Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Hills Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.