We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Updated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Hills Lodge to your Saves list
Laguna Hills Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23932 Paseo De Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Twentynine Palms, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Updated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is beautiful outside with their flowers and little garden area. It is close to malls, the beach, and nice restaurants. It is a quiet stay and the rooms are updated. Very clean and kept up. The hotel desk was nice and helpful when asked questions. The breakfast was good but nothing spectacular. Overall I would recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe a room facing the flower garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    110
    34
    12
    14
See reviews for
125
103
44
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Seems like there aren't too many of these privately owned places worth staying at anymore. This one certainly met and exceeded my expectations. The price was very good, the location excellent, the rooms very clean, the grounds very nice, and a feeling a privacy and safety, without feeling like you couldn't get assistance if you needed it.
The website is an accurate representation of the the property in every way. I have already recommended it to several friends and family, and I can't wait to have a reason to go back! We really enjoyed meeting and talking with the other guests at the pool area. We found this to be a perfect place for 2 adults and a 7 year old. We stayed in Suite 202 and it was absolutely what we needed. We loved the continental breakfast every morning right on sight. Wish they didn't use styrofoam, but hopefully that will change and I left that as feedback for the Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

we stayed four nights here last month. it is excellent value for money. very clean, free breakfast, free wifi, free parking - that's hard to find in California ! don't think that it's really close to the beach because it's not but it is close to the freeway so an excellent base for sightseeing.
the swimming pool looked lovely, we didn't even have time to use it because we were out and about all the time

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My wife and I decided to get married on Laguna Beach and make it a destination wedding for our immediate family. 28 people converged on Laguna Hills Lodge. Roland, Martin and the rest of the staff at Laguna Hills Lodge treated us like ROYALTY! Greated at the desk by friendly staff and a tasty Chocolate Chip Cookie when we first arrived was the best!! Every wish we had came true and while we didn't have super unreasonable needs, the staff did everything they could to accomdate us. The pool area has a GREAT patio/deck where we hosted a pre-wedding night dinner for the entire family. We brought in food/beverages (no glass bottles of course!) and a few simple decorations. It was PERFECT.
Beyond that - the rooms were not only clean and comfortable, but they had all the ammenities you could ask for (microwave and fridge.) The showers/bathrooms were awesome too. There's a vanity/sink area "outside" the bathroom that serves so many purposes. Whether our family had a garden view room (breathtaking,) or a simple parking lot view room...they were all wonderful.
Probably our favorite part was the complimentary breakfast for guests. It had an awesome selection of cereals, all the juices/coffees you could ask for, terrific danish and bagel selections, fresh/cold milk, hard boiled eggs and a splendid variety of fruit to choose from. "Germann" and his staff in the Mariposa Room where you have breakfast do everything they can to make sure you leave satisfied with a full belly. They even toast the bagels/english muffins for you!
Trust us - whether you're a solo traveler or a family needing a block of rooms...you can't go wrong for the price and location with the Laguna Hills Lodge.
One huge bonus is how close they are to the beach! There's plenty of grocery stores within a block and a Mall right across the street!
Just give Roland or Martin a call and leave the rest to them. Relax and enjoy Laguna without going broke.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, Owner at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
We are delighted to hear how happy your family and friends were staying at the Lodge for such an important family occasion. We are honored you chose us.. BTW, our staff all enjoyed how much fun your group was having and loved taking care of you! Thanks for sharing your experience. Bill Crawford, Owner/Manager, Laguna Hills Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Upon first arriving at the hotel, I was disappointed because it's nothing special. The room was plain, the door stopper fell off the door and the sliding mirror closet door fell off the track. The breakfast is plain, just bagels, cereal, and yogurt. I would definitely stay for the price, but know that it's 7 miles from the beach, so you'll have to drive to the beach and pay between $10-20 for parking each time. Other than that, it was fine. It was quiet and clean, and we had a great time in the pool, which was small, but was 8 feet deep, so we were able to jump and dive in.

Room Tip: go on facebook to find specials for people who
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, Owner at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any "mechanical difficulties" you had in your room. It's frustrating for us, too, because we have so recently remodeled the hotel. Fortunately, Alberto, our head of maintenance (and everybody's favorite fellow in the Mariposa Room!) and his staff are happy to take care of these annoyances for our guests. Just alert the Front Desk and they'll send help ASAP. Bad news: Beach parking is expensive; good news: Parking is free at the Lodge! Bill Crawford, owner/manager, Laguna Hills Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I've stayed at the Laguna Hills Lodge for nearly four decades. Over that time the staff have changed, but the hotel remains an outstanding value. It is invariably spotlessly clean, well-furnished, quiet, with manicured grounds, a very clean and delightful swimming pool...in short a perfect place for both the business traveler (which I was when I first discovered it), and a recreational visitor. It is astonishingly cheap compared to many other hotels in the area, and is perfectly located right off Hwy 5 (just below the Hwy 5 and Hwy 405 junction), by El Toro Blvd which runs straight down to the Laguna Canyon road. Don't miss this--just a great place!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the little central garden, either first or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

The only thing that I can think is that many of the past reviewers must not travel much. This hotel is adequate, but far from superior as some have reported. The landscaping is very nice and well cared for. The staff seems to be pleasant. The location is easy on/ easy off the freeway. The hotel is within a 5 minute walk of many restaurants and a large mall. The breakfast is an average continental style breakfast. The rooms and buildings are old and in serious need of repair and sprucing up. Many areas have chipped paint, the rooms are 1970's decor, the internet connection is misnamed as "high speed", and really nothing too special about this place. The lodge seemed clean but a little pricey for what you get. Although it is located in a pricey area which would explain the cost. This is just an average hotel with a lot of potential. I would compare this hotel to a Comfort Inn or a Motel 6, not bad, but far far from great or excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, Owner at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thanks for your comments on our hotel. To answer your question ("What does everyone like so much?"), customers most frequently comment on our value (attractive room rates), the cleanliness of rooms, the friendliness of staff, our gardens and pool and the convenience of the restaurants and shops. Regarding our "70s room decor", a total remodel was completed in 2009. Concerning our past reviewers who "must not travel much" we have enjoyed seasoned travelers from all over the US, Europe, Asia, South America, Australia, Canada and Africa. Meeting these wonderful guests is the greatest pleasure in owning a hotel! Bill Crawford, Owner/Manager, Laguna Hills Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Address: 23932 Paseo De Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Hills Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.