We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Olive Garden
24256 El Toro Rd, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-3488
949-583-1020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 80 restaurants in Laguna Hills
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great service, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Big place. Had great service and the food was better than I have had in the past at other Olive Gardens.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    7
    9
    8
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Hills, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Love going to Olive Garden!! Our family enjoys the pasta, and the all you can eat soup and salad :) Great fresh Italian Flavors :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Portions are too - like a kid's meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Olive Garden used to be our go to for celebrations. But the last few times have been quite disappointing. The bread sticks were hard and cold. But most of all the portions were so very little, almost like that of a kid's meal. It used to be, I would only eat half and save the rest for another meal. Now, I couldn't do that anymore. After dropping $70+ in the place, we went home and raided the fridge and pantry. Hmmm... Not like it used to be, that's for sure. On top of it, there was a big group in the dining room that was so loud we could barely hear ourselves talk. Not worth it anymore.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bland, Boring, and Not Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Only tried this chain once and the food is bland with far too many dried out chicken dishes. Whatever the food is it is not Italian food.
I guess it is a place where people can go who do not really like Italian food and say they ate Italian. The food is not terrible it is just bland and boring. Why waste the money on this chain and go to a real Italian restaurant. There are a great many of these who offer real Italian.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Average Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

It seems that Olive Gardens are not the place they used to be ten years ago. While the staff are friendly and courteous, the first thing I noticed when we were seated at this particular location was that there were no utensils nor napkins on the table. When our order was taken, nothing was done about this oversight. We had to ask for the missing items. What was brought to us were utensils wrapped in white paper napkins. We had to again ask for the green cloth napkins everyone else had at this restaurant. I had raspberry lemonade, and had to ask twice to get a refill. The food was tasty; especially the salad and bread sticks. It was interesting when one of the busboys began to vacuum around our table. Wonder how much dust settled on our food?! When the bill was brought, my girlfriend used a gift card that she had received as a Christmas gift. The waitress came back to our table and said the card had a zero balance. Impossible, since it had never been used. The waitress tried again to scan the card, and this time the correct amount of $30.00 showed up on the cash register. As I was leaving this establishment, I made a comment that I enjoy the food at Denny's, which is usually half the price of the food charged here. (At this Olive Garden, we had two chicken plates, along with a soft drink and lemonade, for a total price of $40.00.) And Denny's is open 24 hours. For the price paid for Olive Garden's food, one should expect more than an "average" experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

Laguna Hills, Orange County
Laguna Hills, Orange County
 
Laguna Hills, Orange County
Laguna Hills, Orange County
 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.