We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romeo Cucina

Romeo Cucina
249 Broadway Street, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
949-497-6627
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 154 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

they have good prices and real italian food with all the things you can like about italian cooking, love it

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California, United States
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Decent Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Had dinner with family at Romeo Cucina in Laguna Beach. We arrived and were seated and service was flowing and easy. I ordered the Insalatina Romeo as did another member of our party of 4. We both observed that the Romaine lettuce was sketchy and looked old. It was a large salad that we should have just split. There were just 2 pitiful olives on my plate, but the dressing was very good. I ordered the Cioppino Mediterraneo which was a very large bowl of flavorful broth with assorted fish. It was good enough that I took what I did not eat. Two members both ordered the Linguine Costa Verde, homemade pasta with clams and mussels. Both liked it.
Lasagnette Graziella, pasta with a Bolognese sauce completed our entree selections. With the exception of the sketchy salad the meal was very good. I would say give it a try for good homemade pasta.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Italian style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Had a good meal here in a very stylish setting. Nicely lit,good service and the food was very tasty.
Great cocktails before dinner and we were well served by the staff.
Minor- the music was a little loud volume wise as to be slightly obtrusive.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the manager of the hotel where we stayed. She said it was homemade Italian food and reasonably priced, and we weren't disappointed. The service was excellent. The homemade bread and olive tapenade were the perfect beginning to a great meal. The waitress was attentive and friendly. She helped us choose our selections which were delicious. We ordered the spaghetti penello which was prepared with scallops, shrimp, and asparagus. It was flavorful and the pasta was cooked to perfection. The fresh swordfish was also outstanding. We will definitely return the next time we visit Laguna.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Beautiful interior, very good service, some strong menu items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Pros: Minestrone soup (nice earthy vegetables), Rigatoni Giulietta (yummy!)
Neutral:house salad (too big), Spaghetti Ponello (needs more flavor / garlic), ravioli with ground steak (a little too rich but good pesto)
Cons:none
Overall: Nice surprise, great service, $15 corkage, get the Rigatoni Guilietta

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romeo Cucina also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Romeo Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romeo Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.