We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A California Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sapphire

Sapphire
1200 South Coast Highway, The Old Pottery Place, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
(949) 715-9888
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sapphire is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 154 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brooks
Transit: Mass transit and Laguna shuttle on the same block.
Description: The cuisine at Sapphire Laguna is characterized by Chef/Owner Azmin Ghahreman's distinctive international style, its cornerstone is the freshest possible local ingredients. The evolving menu changes seasonally - based on what is freshly caught and available from small farms, nearby markets and artisan suppliers. Chef Azmin's says: "When you dine at my restaurants you are traveling through the world's markets with your palate, and you don't even need a passport." Now, Chef Azmin opens global portals to diners and shoppers who visit him at Zagat rated Sapphire Laguna. Sapphire Laguna also features reach-in wine vaults which house an eclectic wine collection – more than 900 bottles, emphasizing varietals from around the world. All vintages are stored in temperature-controlled units behind a rustic wall made from actual wine staves. In addition, approximately 25 wines by the glass are available. Menu samples and wine offerings can be found on Sapphire Laguna's Website.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A California Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were having a family reunion in Laguna Beach over the Christmas holiday...a party of eight...who flew in from the chilly Northeast and Mid-west when Laguna was experiencing some cooler temps. So finding Sapphire was a treat...we got to sit outside (the heat lamps making it very comfortable) with the ocean not too far away. Food was delicious, service was good and the best Mojito I've ever had.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    52
    17
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful On A Sunny Day-Romantic At Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I live in the area, and this is one of my favorite restaurants. Whenever I have friends traveling this way, we will go to Sapphire when the weather is sunny. It is in the heart of Laguna Beach, so wear comfy shoes to stroll around after your meal. The entire menu is delicious-I haven't had a single dish that wasn't delcious. Even the bread is yummy! The outdoor patio is wonderful, right on PCH, and you can see the ocean from your table-It isn't on the ocean side of PCH, so you aren't on the sand. They have lovely umbrellas and the staff doesn't rush you thru your meal. The restaurant itself is gorgeous. Hand blown lighting from the art studio next door, nice and comfy bar and cozy feeling. It is a romantic restaurant at night-great place to take a date for romance. The wine selection is marvelous. They serve both meat and seafood, you can't go wrong with any dish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“overpriced headache”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

we wanted to like it & arrived happy...but left $125 poorer for a mediocre meal.

made us wait 40 min. even with reservations. Out of 4 entrees too busy with spice, only the eggplant worked. Wine prices crazy high.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“popular local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great outdoor patio with heaters, excellent service even though we were there on Valentine's Day! The fish was very good

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Even the community table was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My friend and I made a last minute decision to eat at Sapphire on a Saturday evening. We were seated at the community table which was just great - outside on the patio. The salmon was exquisite and the beet salad perfect. Great food, lovely outdoor patio, excellent service (I left my credit card behind, they called my friends phone number from the reservation within minutes). Original and extremely high quality food....and memories of The Greeter from my childhood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapphire also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapphire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.