We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went above and beyond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   696 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Went above and beyond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel helped me get the same rate and room after a mix-up on the dates. Much appreciated. It is in a great location. We could walk anywhere we wanted to go. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDGUMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
We understand that mishaps happen all the time, but I am happy to hear that we were able to help you with your reservation. I am also glad to hear that you had a chance to explore the town since everything is within walking distance. There is a lot to see here in Laguna and the beaches are beautiful. We hope that you can stay with us again and see our new fresh look that we will be implementing in our rooms by the end of this year. Have a wonderful day and thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our family needed a temporary place to stay at the last minute, due to a home repair. Living in Laguna we had passed this hotel many times from the outside but had never actually been inside. I cannot say enough good things about this charming hotel. From the moment we entered the staff could not have been friendlier. My children were thrilled with the old fashioned popcorn machine set up in the lobby and lemonade and soft drinks were in abundant supply. This is definitely a hotel that goes the extra distance to please their guests. The inside grounds are beautiful and the gazebo and pool area resemble an intimate bed and breakfast. Every amenity is top notch, down to the lounge chairs surrounding the pool that rival any 5 star hotel we have ever stayed at (having a bad back that was a plus for me) Living here, I can honestly say that you will not find a better location. Everything is within walking distance, the beach is right across the street and downtown Laguna is only blocks away. This is definitely a hidden little gem in Laguna and a hotel that goes the extra mile for it's guests. Many thanks to the wonderful staff who really went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure having you and your family stay with us at our hotel. It is great to hear that you had an excellent experience and enjoyed all the amenities that we had to offer. We do try to have our guests feel welcomed and right at home and while your home was being repaired, it is nice knowing that you felt at ease. Next time you decide to stay with us you will be seeing a new look as we are updating our rooms for a fresher look that we hope you will enjoy. Thank you for your gracious feedback and may you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the Holiday Inn in Laguna. Really lovely, clean room and although we arrived at 11 am for a 3 pm check-in, we were able to get our room and then stay late the next day. That's pretty unusual. Lovely property. Rates lower than some of the pricy hotels in Laguna Beach. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyne1832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Vacationing can be fun and stressful at the same time. My staff and I do our absolute best to help you enjoy your stay. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that our staff was able to accommodate your needs. We look forward to your next stay with us. Have a wonderful night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Park, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

When an ocean-view room within our budget was not available at the dates we wanted to travel, we gave the Holiday Inn a try, based on its location a short walk to the Main Beach and downtown Laguna. We were assigned a room on the lower floor at pool level; children were playing in the pool when we arrived and we thought the room might be in a noisy location, just steps from the pool. However, the windows cannot be opened and the loud hum of the air conditioner took care of any outside noise. We do prefer to have the option of fresh air but for two nights the room was fine. There is no elevator but we were offered assistance with our luggage so that was not a problem. The staff was always friendly and helpful. A nice touch is complementary water, sodas, coffee and popcorn in the lobby.

We left the car parked in the hotel lot (at $15 a day) and used the free trolley system that runs up and down Pacific Coast Hwy. and also up Laguna Canyon when we went to the Pageant of the Masters. It's a great way to have an open-air ride to see the scenery as well as get to places you want to visit.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there is a pricey restaurant on the property. (All breakfast items seemed to cost $15 each). We ate at the Orange Inn across the street for tasty food at more reasonable prices. Good coffee and fresh bakery items. We also had a light dinner there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level may be quieter and do not require climbing stairs to the lobby and parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 38lindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
I'm glad to hear that you found our location comfortable and convenient. Pageant of the Masters is a great experience and I hope that you enjoyed the show. The trolley is an excellent and fun way to get around town and just a few steps away from our hotel. It also gives our guests a chance to enjoy the scenery of our beautiful town. We hope that you can stay with us again. Have a wonderful night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just checking out of the Holiday Inn Laguna Beach. Very friendly staff, cute hotel, awesome courtyard/pool. Directly on PCH with a free shuttle stop outside and a Ralph's across the street. Shops, restaurants and beaches are all within walking distance. I would highly recommend and will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cwadeeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for complimenting our friendly staff and our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. It's good to hear that you had an enjoyable time during your stay and because we are just a few blocks away from the downtown area it is easier to see more of the town. Please visit us again. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I recently spend one night in Holiday Inn Laguna Beach with 5 of my "gal pals". We attended the Pageant of Masters that evening. The motel was fine. Had nice room amenities: iron, hair dryer, refrigerator. Room was ready when we arrived at noon. Only complaint was 2 or the 3 rooms we had were the end room next to the parking lot. We didn't have the nice pool view other rooms had and we could hear the slamming of the gate every time someone entered or left the premises. But otherwise it was fine. Nice restaurant attached.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
I hope you had a wonderful time at the Pageant of the Masters. I am happy to hear that you and your friends had a good time during your stay. I do apologize about the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and bringing it to our attention. On your next visit we hope to make it as great as the first. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Laguna Beach over the July 4th weekend. My family stayed in two other rooms. The hotel is located on PCH, about 3 blocks from the main downtown area and across the street from the beach. The outside of the hotel looks inviting. The rooms are set inside a court yard area with the pool in the center which was easy to access. The setting kind of reminded me of the apartments on the TV series Melrose Place. I liked having the pool in the center - it was nice and convenient.

Most of the rooms are on the 2 floors, but there is a 3rd floor. There is not an elevator- at least I did not see one. The lobby is really located on the second floor, so to access the first floor, you have to either go through the restaurant that is attached, but not affiliated to the hotel that is on the ground floor, or from the lobby you have to walk outside and take the stairs. It was a little odd, but really not a big deal. I don't think the rooms and pool is easily accessible for people with wheelchairs or can't walk - at least I didn't see where you can easily access these areas. Maybe there is a way that I am not aware of.

The rooms were clean, neat and comfortable. Bathroom had a tub and shower curtain that curves out so when you take a shower it doesn't stick to you. I really appreciate these type of shower curtains! It was very hot and humid over the weekend and the rooms do not have central air, but do have wall air conditioning units that are really loud. They did the job, but it would have been nice to have had windows open to allow fresh air to get into the rooms.

Service was great. Everyone seemed really friendly and accommodating. There were refreshments available in the lobby at all times (coffee, water, sodas, popcorn) so that was nice. Parking is $15 a day. Free wireless access. Free shuttle bus going north stops near the hotel (stop #3) and the south stop is across the street. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Overall, the experience was good, comfortable and definitely worth checking out.

Room Tip: I like being on the ground floor because the pool was right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelGirlAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. It's good to hear that you had a wonderful time at our property. On a hot summer day it is very refreshing to take a dip in the pool and relax. Everything is very conveniently located, and I'm glad that it made your stay easier. Hope you visit us again soon on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Address: 696 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing