We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location with a wonderful and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   696 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location with a wonderful and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our family needed a temporary place to stay at the last minute, due to a home repair. Living in Laguna we had passed this hotel many times from the outside but had never actually been inside. I cannot say enough good things about this charming hotel. From the moment we entered the staff could not have been friendlier. My children were thrilled with the old fashioned popcorn machine set up in the lobby and lemonade and soft drinks were in abundant supply. This is definitely a hotel that goes the extra distance to please their guests. The inside grounds are beautiful and the gazebo and pool area resemble an intimate bed and breakfast. Every amenity is top notch, down to the lounge chairs surrounding the pool that rival any 5 star hotel we have ever stayed at (having a bad back that was a plus for me) Living here, I can honestly say that you will not find a better location. Everything is within walking distance, the beach is right across the street and downtown Laguna is only blocks away. This is definitely a hidden little gem in Laguna and a hotel that goes the extra mile for it's guests. Many thanks to the wonderful staff who really went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure having you and your family stay with us at our hotel. It is great to hear that you had an excellent experience and enjoyed all the amenities that we had to offer. We do try to have our guests feel welcomed and right at home and while your home was being repaired, it is nice knowing that you felt at ease. Next time you decide to stay with us you will be seeing a new look as we are updating our rooms for a fresher look that we hope you will enjoy. Thank you for your gracious feedback and may you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    153
    40
    16
    10
See reviews for
116
109
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the Holiday Inn in Laguna. Really lovely, clean room and although we arrived at 11 am for a 3 pm check-in, we were able to get our room and then stay late the next day. That's pretty unusual. Lovely property. Rates lower than some of the pricy hotels in Laguna Beach. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Vacationing can be fun and stressful at the same time. My staff and I do our absolute best to help you enjoy your stay. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that our staff was able to accommodate your needs. We look forward to your next stay with us. Have a wonderful night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Park, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

When an ocean-view room within our budget was not available at the dates we wanted to travel, we gave the Holiday Inn a try, based on its location a short walk to the Main Beach and downtown Laguna. We were assigned a room on the lower floor at pool level; children were playing in the pool when we arrived and we thought the room might be in a noisy location, just steps from the pool. However, the windows cannot be opened and the loud hum of the air conditioner took care of any outside noise. We do prefer to have the option of fresh air but for two nights the room was fine. There is no elevator but we were offered assistance with our luggage so that was not a problem. The staff was always friendly and helpful. A nice touch is complementary water, sodas, coffee and popcorn in the lobby.

We left the car parked in the hotel lot (at $15 a day) and used the free trolley system that runs up and down Pacific Coast Hwy. and also up Laguna Canyon when we went to the Pageant of the Masters. It's a great way to have an open-air ride to see the scenery as well as get to places you want to visit.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there is a pricey restaurant on the property. (All breakfast items seemed to cost $15 each). We ate at the Orange Inn across the street for tasty food at more reasonable prices. Good coffee and fresh bakery items. We also had a light dinner there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level may be quieter and do not require climbing stairs to the lobby and parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
I'm glad to hear that you found our location comfortable and convenient. Pageant of the Masters is a great experience and I hope that you enjoyed the show. The trolley is an excellent and fun way to get around town and just a few steps away from our hotel. It also gives our guests a chance to enjoy the scenery of our beautiful town. We hope that you can stay with us again. Have a wonderful night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just checking out of the Holiday Inn Laguna Beach. Very friendly staff, cute hotel, awesome courtyard/pool. Directly on PCH with a free shuttle stop outside and a Ralph's across the street. Shops, restaurants and beaches are all within walking distance. I would highly recommend and will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for complimenting our friendly staff and our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. It's good to hear that you had an enjoyable time during your stay and because we are just a few blocks away from the downtown area it is easier to see more of the town. Please visit us again. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I recently spend one night in Holiday Inn Laguna Beach with 5 of my "gal pals". We attended the Pageant of Masters that evening. The motel was fine. Had nice room amenities: iron, hair dryer, refrigerator. Room was ready when we arrived at noon. Only complaint was 2 or the 3 rooms we had were the end room next to the parking lot. We didn't have the nice pool view other rooms had and we could hear the slamming of the gate every time someone entered or left the premises. But otherwise it was fine. Nice restaurant attached.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
I hope you had a wonderful time at the Pageant of the Masters. I am happy to hear that you and your friends had a good time during your stay. I do apologize about the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and bringing it to our attention. On your next visit we hope to make it as great as the first. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Laguna Beach over the July 4th weekend. My family stayed in two other rooms. The hotel is located on PCH, about 3 blocks from the main downtown area and across the street from the beach. The outside of the hotel looks inviting. The rooms are set inside a court yard area with the pool in the center which was easy to access. The setting kind of reminded me of the apartments on the TV series Melrose Place. I liked having the pool in the center - it was nice and convenient.

Most of the rooms are on the 2 floors, but there is a 3rd floor. There is not an elevator- at least I did not see one. The lobby is really located on the second floor, so to access the first floor, you have to either go through the restaurant that is attached, but not affiliated to the hotel that is on the ground floor, or from the lobby you have to walk outside and take the stairs. It was a little odd, but really not a big deal. I don't think the rooms and pool is easily accessible for people with wheelchairs or can't walk - at least I didn't see where you can easily access these areas. Maybe there is a way that I am not aware of.

The rooms were clean, neat and comfortable. Bathroom had a tub and shower curtain that curves out so when you take a shower it doesn't stick to you. I really appreciate these type of shower curtains! It was very hot and humid over the weekend and the rooms do not have central air, but do have wall air conditioning units that are really loud. They did the job, but it would have been nice to have had windows open to allow fresh air to get into the rooms.

Service was great. Everyone seemed really friendly and accommodating. There were refreshments available in the lobby at all times (coffee, water, sodas, popcorn) so that was nice. Parking is $15 a day. Free wireless access. Free shuttle bus going north stops near the hotel (stop #3) and the south stop is across the street. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Overall, the experience was good, comfortable and definitely worth checking out.

Room Tip: I like being on the ground floor because the pool was right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. It's good to hear that you had a wonderful time at our property. On a hot summer day it is very refreshing to take a dip in the pool and relax. Everything is very conveniently located, and I'm glad that it made your stay easier. Hope you visit us again soon on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We just got back from Laguna where we spent 2 weeks at the Holiday Inn Express. We stayed in a suite for the first week and then we moved to a King bed room for the second week. The hotel itself is very well maintained with a very professional and well trained staff. The restaurant on the first floor is Mare culinary lounge and it was actually one of the best places we found for consistent and excellent dining. The location is excellent with a Ralph's Supernmarket right across the street and the hotel itself sits right on the PCH. Great service, great prices, What's not to love?? We will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
It is good to hear that our property came as wonderful surprise upon your stay with us during your vacation. Our location is convenient and close to everything so you can walk and see our beautiful town. We look forward to your next visit with us and I hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Address: 696 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.