We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   696 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We flew in from Australia arriving at hotel ~9am. We went straight to our room which had 2 double beds. Although hotel is situated on cnr of Pacific Coast Hwy it was quiet enough in our room for each one of the family to sleep at different times of the day and weren't woken by any outside noise. Most rooms open on to pool area. We stayed for 3 nights, beds were amazingly comfortable. Michael at reception was very helpful and guided to different parts of Laguna Beach. Nice surprise to find a couple of pay washing machines & dryers for guest use. Went to Orange Inn across road for breakfast - delicious.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent time during your stay with us. We look forward to your future visits . Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    153
    40
    16
    10
See reviews for
116
109
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I wanted to spend some time with my daughter over winter break and my husband found this adorable hotel. Yes it's a Holiday Inn, but it is NOT the hotel you remember as a child. All the rooms look onto the pool that has beautiful plants and flowers all around. The staff are very professional and accommendating. I felt safe staying here with my daughter and we had so much fun eating, laying by the pool, walking to the beach, and of course shopping. We were able to walk to everything! Also, we ate at the resturaunt in the hotel and it was fantastic! I can't wait to go back!!! A little jewel in Laguna beach. :)

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you and your daughter had a wonderful time at our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we strive for our guests to have a rewarding experience. We look forward to your future stay with us. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This Holiday Inn was perfect. I walked to the beach, shopped downtown and ate at the restaurant, Mare, which was excellent, at the hotel. The staff was fantastic and the room was clean and quiet. I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent time during your stay with us. We look forward to your future visits and hope that the next stay is better than the last. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Laguna Beach Hotels are quite expensive and the more they cost the more they charge for extras. The Holiday Inn is much more reasonable and no charge for those extras. It is not right on the beach, it is across the street. You can walk to the beach in 2 minutes, cross the street, walk one short block, down the stairs and you're on the beach. They have parking, the rooms are clean, the beds very comfortable, the bathrooms nice and the water pressure good. You can walk to the main part of town in 8-10 minutes and if you walk the main drag there are attractions in both directions. The staff were superb, courteous and helpful. I would stay here again on travels to Laguna Beach.

Room Tip: 2nd floor near the back seems the best. But don't get the rooms that are down the little hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that the little extras we had to offer made your stay with us more enjoyable. Please do come back and visit us again soon. Our doors are always open. May you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was great value. The pool area was beautiful, all the rooms surround the pool so it is easily accessible and the first thing you see in the morning. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.
The location of the hotel is just perfect, close to all the bars and restaurants and of course Laguna Beach.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to give us a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We were confident that a little getaway and relaxation by the pool was needed after the holidays. We you can come back and visit us again soon. May you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moving
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I did our research on the area and selected this hotel for our four night stay in Laguna Beach.

Good:
Staff were Very Friendly
Located Across the Street from the Beach.
Located close to main action and restaurants.
Quiet. We were located away from the main entrance on the second floor so it was easy to get in and out. Get on the second floor so you don't have to shlep your luggage up and down.
Free bottled water, coffee, Pepsi, popcorn (when popped) until 10 PM.
Restaurant on 1st floor however we never used it.
Heated swimming pool.
Cute rooms overlooking the pool.
Shower was renovated and very nice.

Needs Improvement:
The little refrigerator in the room needs to be updated. At a minimum put a knob on them that tells you high, med & low.
Need more outlets for electronics. The room is a little dated and needs to be 21st century.
Parking is $15/day.


Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the thoughtful review. We are delighted to hear that our staff took excellent care of you during your stay with us. We are happy that you were able to have a peaceful getaway at our property. We do hope that you will be joining us again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

wow where can i start .i arrived in laguna beach on a day trip just to get away.i really didnt know where to stay for the night,someone from town suggested i try the holiday inn.wow that was the best advice ever not only was it clean but the staff was excellent.my check in was fast ,the location was great and the pool was even better.my bed was firm and just the way i like it.all the staff took really excellent care of all my needs.if the lords will when i come back for another day trip ,i'm staying there.anyone who is thinking of visting laguna beach ca,should consider staying at the holiday inn,its awesome.yours,truly D.R.W Room #27 .enjoy.

Room Tip: rooms on the bottom floor are peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
My staff and I are happy to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us and were not disappointed. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve and strive to provide you with great service. We look forward to your next visit with us. May you have a wonderful day.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Address: 696 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.