We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like it but had a few issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   696 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Louisville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Like it but had a few issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My family of three stayed here in mid-June for five days. We had a room with two double beds on the second floor. Overall, I have no major complaints. The beds were extremely comfortable, with nice sheets and pillows. The shower was updated and huge. The tv had a perfect picture and the fridge worked great. The courtyard was beautiful and we enjoyed the pool with its comfortable lounge chairs and gazebos. The main lobby always had Pepsi, Diet Pepsi, bottled water and hot water. It usually, but not always, had popcorn. There was a small desk right by the refreshments with a computer and printer. Across the side street, Cleo, was a very nice Ralph's grocery store where we stocked up on pop, snacks and a few souvenirs. The Orange Inn, across the PCH, had extremely tasty food but was very small so one of us had to stand up. There was also a Taco Bell across the PCH for our late night munchies. Access to Cleo beach is between these two. It's not an extremely wide beach but it has a nice balance of sand and large rocks. If you go in the mornings, those rocks are tidepools filled with mussels, anemones and the like. The sunsets are gorgeous, with the sun silhouetting the trees and coastline of Heisler Park up the coast on your right.
Issues I had: 1) Our room was small. We couldn't even open the door all the way; it hit the bed. We each had a carry-on suitcase and a backpack. There was no place to put them except under the open vanity/sink. 2) We stayed on the 2nd floor towards the back left corner of the courtyard. Midweek it was a peaceful and serene locale. By the weekend, it was noisy. A very inconsiderate family had moved into a room on the third level--which we hadn't even noticed--and let their kids run wild. Part of their room was over ours. It sounded like they were dropping bowling balls and moving furniture. They left their door open and let the kids run up and down the shared public walkway. It was bad enough for us but it would have been horrible to have been in the second floor rooms in the back, directly underneath all that third floor activity. The second floor rooms on the side of the courtyard do not have any rooms over them. 3) Parking is an issue. There don't seem to be quite enough spots. Maybe the problem is that the staff all drive and take spots that are technically allocated to the rooms. On the plus side, on the weekends, there was a security guard who makes sure that everyone parking there has the required Holiday Inn parking pass. 4) Cleo beach by the hotel, like almost all the Laguna beaches except Main beach, is full of KELP! It was washing up everywhere and there were huge piles of it everywhere I looked. It was hard to set down a towel without having a mountain of kelp less than two feet away. Main beach seemed better but to walk from there to the famous Heisler Park tidepools required navigated through an obstacle course of kelp in various stages of decay. And where there was decaying kelp, there were these tiny little flies. Now, it's probably an environmental thing that Laguna Beach likes to enforce and maybe they clean it up once the official summer season with all the festivals start but to find a wide, clean, kelpless beach, we drove 20 minutes north to Huntington Beach. 5) The staff, at least some of them, didn't seem to know what was close by. Our first night we were in the mood for hamburgers. We went down to the lobby and asked about fast food places or hamburger joints and the woman at the desk said she didn't know of any and directed us to an upscale grill in downtown Laguna. The next day while driving around we discovered a Jack-in-the-Box a couple of blocks south, a Ruby's diner about five minutes drive south and a Johnny Rockets right across from Main beach.
As I mentioned, overall I liked this hotel, its locale and its staff. I would stay there again, especially now that I know what to look for and look out for. Hopefully, this review will help you do that ahead of time.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have the fewest steps to the parking lot and are on the same level as the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us but we would also like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We do hope you can come visit us again for an even better experience. We appreciate your feedback and hope you have a wonderful day, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    153
    40
    16
    10
See reviews for
116
109
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This facility features tiny rooms with sealed windows and an outdated, noisy air conditioning unit, scratched furniture, and all rooms located around a pool with lots of loud children. It's like a motel designed 50 years ago, which this likely was. To get privacy, you must pull the blackout curtains, resulting in a dark, airless, tiny, claustrophobic room. For twice the price (worth it!) you can go to a place like Surf and Sand, get an elegant room, and be on the beach instead of across the street right on noisy Pacific Coast Highway.

The parking lot is small, difficult to maneuver, and was oversold. Upon returning at 11:30 p.m., there was no place to park. it took 45 minutes of extensive negotiating with the grumpy night manager before he agreed to move his car. After he did that, there was enough room. In return for my 45 minutes of unnecessary effort, they waived the parking fee.

The facility takes advantage of the Holiday Inn name, and charges a way overpriced rate for what is essentially a dated motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear VittorioK,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not up to your standards. We have taken note of your valuable comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Pre booked this hotel for 7 nights as part of a surfing vacation for me and my teenage son and was not disappointed. The location is fantastic with a suitable surfers beach only one block away. We arrived at the hotel early and found the staff both friendly and accommodating. The hotel offers free refreshments for all guests and as I was staying for 7 nights the parking fee was waived, which was an unexpected bonus. The rooms although compact were clean and comfortable and fitted with a fridge. A microwave was available for use if required. The hotel was within easy walking distance of the shops and restaurants of Laguna with a Ralph's supermarket across the road. During our stay nothing was too much trouble for the staff making my stay an extremely enjoyable experience. A late departure was also arranged at no extra cost. From my experience I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
My staff and I would like to thank you for your kind words. We always do our best to give great customer service and are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. We hope you visit us again in Holiday Inn Laguna Beach. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Obviously this hotel was originally built as a different property with a Spanish feel to it. The grounds are impeccably landscaped and the courtyard pool is a welcome retreat. Great location, on PCH, across from Ralph's market.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. While the room appeared a bit tired, it was quiet and comfortable. Lobby amenities included coffee, tea, decaf, pop, ice water and popcorn.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
My staff and I are happy to hear that you had a good time at our property in Holiday Inn Laguna Beach. We are open to looking on ways of improving our customer service so we appreciate your feedback. We hope you will join us again in the near future. Thank you, have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here last week as part of our vacation to Southern California. I was able to easily book two nights using reward points through their website. When we arrived, our room wasn't ready yet but it was early. The staff was friendly and offered water and refreshments and we left to find lunch. Afterward, the room was ready, we were kindly upgraded to a suite, and checking in was a breeze. The suite was great! It had a large bed and bath with jacuzzi tub as well as a separate living area with a TV and fireplace. The only detractor was that the interior was showing its age a bit. Other than that, the courtyard pool was clean, and the restaurant downstairs was amazing. I'd recommend this hotel to those on a couples vacation or traveling with friends. I also recommend walking across the street and going to the Orange Inn for breakfast.

Room Tip: 2nd floor or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for choosing out hotel to stay at during your vacation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always open to hearing on ways that we can improve our rooms so thank you for your feedback. My staff and I hope you stay with us again in the near future. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our way down to San Diego. The hotel is cute. The location makes it a perfect place to walk around Laguna, so it really doesn't need a lot of amenities - but it still did great.
It took is a long time to check in. There were 2 couples from Texas who took forever to check in, there was some sort of problem and they were being extremely vocal. We waited it out and the staff was fine with us, displaying no attitude or stress.
You can always count on this chain, from my experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of my staff and I we would like to thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you had a good time here at our property. We hope you visit us again soon. Have a wonderful day thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After an enjoyable yet intense three days at Disneyland Resort, we drove down the coast to Laguna Beach for a relaxing two night stay. This is a really cute hotel, with most, if not all, of the rooms surrounding an interior courtyard with a pool, which we used quite a bit (pretty sure it is heated as well). The staff were really friendly as well.

Access to the beach is pretty convenient as well as you just need to cross the street and head down some stairs (however, the traffic lights are really slow to change).

Breakfast is not included, but there is an onsite restaurant (which we did not try) and a grocery store across the street. And of course, Laguna Beach is just full of restaurants catering to different tastes and budgets. There is also a small snack table in the lobby (water, soda, popcorn and coffee) which is a nice touch.

We do have two small negative comments on the hotel from our perspective. As with most hotels, I find that there aren’t enough hooks in the bathrooms for towels. I fully support the whole idea of re-using towels but having more hooks would make that better in my opinion. And two, maybe we’ve just grown used to it, but having an in room safe would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel to relax and enjoy the city of Laguna Beach. We are pleased to hear that you had a good time and hope that you join us again in the near future. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Address: 696 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.