We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, not pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   696 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, not pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is our third or fourth time to stay here, with our adult children and grandchildren. It's easy to get in and out of, right off Pacific Coast Highway, and across the highway (good crossing signals) from a small beach. A little further north and you are at a much larger beach. Lots of restaurants and shopping. The staff is very accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
My staff and I appreciate you and your family choosing our hotel to stay while on vacation. We are happy to know that you enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your business and we hope you visit us again soon. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    137
    35
    16
    9
See reviews for
105
92
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stay at this hotel every year. It's location is perfect. Across from a fabulous beach, great restaurants (Esp Orange Inn) and a grocery store, this hotel is ideal for anyone. We have 2 boys. The hotel beds are a bit small but overall, it's fantastic. The staff is great, and they offer lots of free snacks in the lobby. Heated pool, too! I would highly recommend! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello Mrspickens. I wanted to thank you and your family for staying with us here at Holiday Inn Laguna beach. We are happy to know that you and your family have a great time and we look forward to seeing you all again. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience at this hotel. We stayed here on our trip from LA to San Diego. I was a bit worried seeing other reviews but this was a great place to stay. The manager on duty was very accommodating and friendly. The staff went out of their way to help us. There is a restaurant on site that had excellent customer service. Would definitely stay here again. The rooms downstairs are a bit bigger than the upstairs rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. My staff and I are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time and we appreciate your kind words. We hope that you will visit us again. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nicely remodeled room, great location ..we walked everywhere! The atmosphere is very relaxing with a New Orleans flair. We'd definitely stay again! Extra charge for parking though we thought it was included. $12.00 per night :-( .... but parking is charged everywhere in Laguna so the price was pretty reasonable. Very nice staff.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if lifting luggage is a problem for you ask to stay on the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
My staff and I appreciate your kind words. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. We hope that you visit us again soon. May you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is an older property in the heart of Laguna Beach and across the street from a great cafe and access to the beach. The rooms were small but nicely decorated. If you're in Laguna Beach you shouldn't be in your room. This was a great value for a weekend get away. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, MI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Shawn M is correct that it is an older place, but that doesn't mean you would want to miss out on staying here. I was just there in Feb 2013 and I truly enjoyed this place! A very calm and relaxing atmosphere. The private courtyard was tropical and included a pool.

My room was quant, but the tv was a 37" HD. The beds were comfortable and had very nice linens, and the bathroom towels were good too. My room included a fridge too.

Excellent location and everything is within walking distance. Check out "The Deck" and "The Rooftop Lounge" if you like amazing views in relaxing environments.

Minor complaints: 1) coffee service wasn't available until 5am. I'm from the east coast so that meant 8am to my brain. 2) No microwave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
First and foremost I would like to thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach. It always makes my staff and I excited to hear that another one of our guest enjoyed their stay with us. Please visit us again soon. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Holiday Inn in Laguna Beach, while an older property, is so centrally located that you can overlook the dated appearance. For the price, a best value. The staff are very helpful and gave us great suggestions for dining and shopping, looking things up on the internet for us and giving accurate directions. The parking lot has ample sized parking spaces and is quite remarkable for such a value hotel. We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
My staff and I are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay. We try to make everyone of our guests feel like they are at home. We would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to having you stay with us again. Best of wishes from Holiday Inn Laguna beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Address: 696 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.