We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not "suite".” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   696 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice, but not "suite".”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Laguna Beach for ten days from March 19 to 29, 2012. I am Priority Club Platinum member and I decided to use my reward points for a California vacation, using this hotel as our home base. As others have said, you can't fault this hotel in terms of basic amenities, cleanliness and location. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, comfortable, reasonably priced hotel within walking distance of all that Laguna Beach has to offer.

My only beef with the hotel is that they refused to upgrade us to a suite even though I am a Platinum member. We were given a standard courtyard room on the second level, which was small and not suited to an extended stay. When I asked at the front desk about an upgrade, I was told that there were no suites availabe during our stay. I was surprised to hear this given that I had booked the hotel early in February, so I checked with their online reservation desk and found that suites were available during our stay. I can only assume that the hotel did not want to provide someone traveling on reward points with a suite. That's disappointing considering my loyalty to the Priority Club brand of hotels and I would advise others traveling on points to check in advance as to the hotel's policy in this matter.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for your comment. I just would like to clarify the priority club members benefit on room upgrades. As a member of priority club which is Holiday inns reward program, a platinum member gets a room upgrade if its available and that does not include any suites just the next level room up. Since we are a small property with only 4 suites, they sell out fast and if they are available, we don’t mind upgrading members but probably since the length of the stay was 10 days, we were sold out on some days so we could not upgrade.We do appreciate your business and we thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    161
    41
    19
    13
See reviews for
124
114
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tdaniel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This hotel is in a good location, easy to walk to the beach, restaurants and shops. But, it's not your typical Holiday Inn: it's more like a New Orleans style hotel, with a central courtyard and rooms that surround the courtyard. It's old, but it has character and the pool area is very nice, nicely landscaped and good chairs and lounges. Internet is free, but there's a charge to park. They offer free popcorn, water, soft drinks and coffee in the am, but no breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated. Not quite the center of town, but still walking distance to lots of cool shops, restaurants and coffee shops. Although it faces the main road, it is very quiet. As others have noted, the decor is a bit dated, but it has tons of character. The main lobby has lemonade, coffee, tea and popcorn going all the time. The hotel is laid out around a charming courtyard with a swimming pool and tropical gardens. There is a Ralph's supermarket right next door which opens early in the morning, and we loved being able to run over and grab some fresh fruit and a croissant for breakfast every morning, or a snack at the end of the day. We have stayed here a couple of times when we were visiting the Orange County area. There are some beautiful, much more expensive hotels in the area - but this is a great economical option to serve as base camp for your vacation.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms near the exit that are away from the courtyard - so dark and potentially more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
I’m glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We began with a great welcome. All workers were very nice, kind and accomodating. Great walking distance to all restaurants. The pool area is very pretty, and even though it was close to the main road, it was pretty quiet. However, the room we were in (and we were told we had a very nice room), was so old, tired and there literally was a "hole in the wall" by the bed. The phone and clock, where incredibly dirty (They did compensate for these things). We called it surfacy clean, if you looked close, there was a lot of grim on things. And, since all the doors are facing the outdoor area, it was pretty loud when people walked by or by the pool, however at night, the clientele was very quiet, and sleeping was good. I hate to be negative because the staff was so kind, but this place needs some major renovations quickly. Nice to have complimentary water, pop, popcorn, coffee and newspaper. It just wasn't enough to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Gregsfinds,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the very good! Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we already do. We will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made.
Thank you again for your review.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

After a work week in Anaheim, my wife and I stayed here for the weekend before heading back to the cold climates of the upper midwest. We were delighted. This hotel is a little experienced, but its age only adds to its character. The courtyard swimming pool and garden is a tranquil little place to relax away from the hustle of PCH. And when you're in the mood to partake in the hustle, it's right outside the door!

The Holiday Inn is a short walk to the downtown area and many great restaurants. On Friday night we noshed at Three Seventy Common and Saturday night we splurged at Sapphire -- the hotel is equidistant between both of them.

Also, you'll be at Laguna Beach because you want to hang out at the beach, right? No worries, just cross PCH and walk down a set of steps and you are right at the beach. Perfect!

The service we received at the front desk was top notch, and, being a pretty frequent Holiday Inn Hotels guest, we received a great upgrade to one of the suites. The suite was sweet, but even if I hadn't received the upgrade, I would have still been pretty happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd -- not the first -- require the fewest steps to get to from street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Even though this is an older property, it looks to be well maintained and the location is very convenient. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and quiet. It's situated on the main street of Laguna, but far enough away from the noise and traffic of downtown. It's within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. There's a restaurant on the property for breakfast, but it's rather cave-like, so we decided to walk downtown and enjoy the perfect weather.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for your comment. Our restaurant has a new ownership and it will be Italian. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This was a great little hotel. It is within walking distance of most of the shops and restaurants and access to public beach is just across the street. The rooms were great the pool is verry private and quite. All the employes were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Address: 696 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.