We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughter's wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Surf & Sand Resort to your Saves list
Surf & Sand Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Daughter's wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Surf and Sand exceeded my expectations. My daughter's destination wedding was there and it couldn't have turned out any better. The staff was extremely helpful and Kat the wedding coordinator was outstanding. The wedding went off without any problems at all. It is a gorgeous location. We stayed in a jr. suite and it was beautiful. I would recommend the Surf and Sand very highly. I couldn't imagine a nicer spot for a wedding and everyone involved was so helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    151
    71
    38
    32
See reviews for
196
391
25
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Surf and Sand. We especially appreciated the help of the executive staff in making it happen. The room was beautiful and the private deck had a spectacular view of the ocean. Location was great for a walk on the beach and a short drive into town. Would highly recommend this to anyone considering a stay at this upscale hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

In my opinion, the Surf & Sand is the finest hotel in southern California. Its location right on the beach and just feet from the surf, give it a unique positioning and create an overall wonderful experience. Staff are well trained and knowledgeable about not only the hotel, but also the Laguna area. Chef David Fune creates succulent dishes for Splashes restaurant and adds seasonal creations to enhance a top-notch menu. It is a place to be experienced! You won't be disappointed.

Diana M

Room Tip: Corner rooms offer the most sun and view. Lower floors have the most surf sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We love to go for a long weekend to Surf and Sand. We prefer this hotel because it is just few feet away from the ocean. Also Splashes restaurant has excellent food. The hotel has a boutique feel to it and within walking distance from center of Laguna Beach. The only drawback is an absence of AC in rooms, however you can notice it only on hottest days. Night are nice and cool always, and we love sitting on our balcony and listening to waves crushing on the shore...

Room Tip: I would recommend room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay - very memorable experience. We especially thought the rooms were large, excellent maid service, super comfy beds and hearing the waves crash through the open balcony was the pinnacle of our stay. Food and service was top notch!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Everything was wonderful: the room, the view, the dinner, the wine, the breakfast, the bathroom, the pool, the hot tub, the company (my family). So grateful for this experience, couldn't have had a better venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We wanted one special night right on the beach to hear the roar of the ocean....no ear plugs for us. The person who took our reservation talked us into a package that included valet, breakfast, and resort fee....actually glad that we did as it more than covered everything. While this property is older, the updates they have done are tasteful. We received superb service from the moment we pulled in....from the valet...an upgrade...a special anniversary greeting. Only caveat....no air conditioning and we were there in 90+ with no breeze from the ocean....fans helped, but it was hot. No matter we loved it. The staff seemed to knock themselves out to make certain we appreciated the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf & Sand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.