We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just magnificent. Most truthfully-named place, ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surf & Sand Resort to your Saves list
Surf & Sand Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just magnificent. Most truthfully-named place, ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were looking for a romantic place for our anniversary, and the Surf and Sand was absolutely perfect. Despite less-than-ideal weather, we couldn't possibly have been happier. The waves were crashing at our feet when on our balcony, the bed was divine, the spa services were other-wordly, and every single person at the resort was friendly and more than responsive and accommodating.

Really, it's hard to criticize. When I would call for my car from valet, it would be there before I could get to the lobby. When someone forgot to have the ice in my room that I'd asked for, they appeared with a half bottle of champagne as a token of apology.

Some teeny-tiny nits: some of the materials used in construction weren't 100% top-notch (so, for example, there was some wobble in the doors on the vanity in the bath). The bathtubs (otherwise a very nice jacuzzi) have a design flaw that results in you closing the stopper several times during each shower, and the swinging half shower door just didn't really make sense to me. And after I had them put a coffee maker (Keurig) in my room, they didn't refresh the coffees with the other housekeeping. Breakfast in the restaurant was good (their juice selection includes the "Naked" juice mixes, except brought in fresh each morning, not bottled, wow), but was silly-expensive.

This place is called the surf and sand, and it means it. They put earplugs in the room because the sound of the surf is loud and always present, even with the doors completely closed. At one point, I looked over at my wife from the doorway, and the ocean in the background made it look like we were at sea. Unbelievable. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Lowest floors give you the most intense beach experience. The Surfside building is probably the clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    147
    67
    37
    31
See reviews for
190
351
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had the privilege of staying at the Surf N Sand resort for a business meeting. The facilities are immaculate. The ocean view from the rooms with a view are great! I cannot remember a week in a hotel where I slept better. The sound of crashing waves right at your window is soothing! I slept every night witht he sliding windows open. The bar downstairs is a great place to unwind, enjoy the view, take in the breeze and watch dolphins on the horizon.

Room Tip: 6th floor or higher in main building facing the ocean are the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Surf and Sand last month and had the most romantic trip. Every room is beachfront. We felt like we were in one of those rooms you see in Tahiti right above the water, we were that close. We kept the balcony door open and listened to the waves crash throughout the night. We had pre-dinner drinks at the Splashes bar and then moved upstairs for dinner at Splashes restaurant. The food was amazing. Our waiter Kyle made our entire evening!!! He knew everything about the menu and was so entertaining. He kept us laughing the whole time. Make sure you ask for his table if you go to the restaurant. The valet and bell service were also super friendly and accomodating. I agree with other posts, this is a hotel for couple not children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just got back from my second stay at this amazing hotel!!!! I don't have one thing to complain about!! The hotel is great, location is great, the staff is amazing!!!! You couldnt get closer to the ocean unless you were in the ocean. Room was perfect, the view is AMAZING, room service was yummy!! The front desk even sent chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of champagne to our room for my birthday!!!
I highly recommend this hotel and I'm already planning another trip back....Thank you Surf and Sand for making our stay so special........ see you soon!!!!

Room Tip: Surf side rooms are awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Obviously they know that there most important asset is The Pacific. The Hotel is quite used and nö more really up to date. Bathroom equipment has not been improved for 20 years. Service: you arrive by car, 3 Bell Staff are there but you need to unload and Carry your cases and bags your self. Not even 5 Dollars tip was helpful. Personel not greet you when you meet them. The very possitive: best Location in Laguna by far. The waves carry you in a wonderful sleep and the view to the Pacific is stunning. Restaurant is fine and has a wonderful Outsider Sitzung aera. Staff of Restaurant and Bar is very friendly and helpful. I stayed there almost Emery Year for 20 years during a Convention in Anaheim and most certainly i will book again....just for the brillant location and with a rest of hope that they improve the building and even more important, the level of service again...

Room Tip: Tower Roms Corner, rooms from 5th floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

this isn't a kid's hotel, this is couples, or singles who are retreating, and it is located walking distance to town. Easy for guest visits, as they can park off site on PCH or side streets. Casual, and non effected, this is the closest thing to an apartment on the ocean you can get, as it isn't fussy, you stay secluded in your room starring at the most amazing views that feel like one is on a ship on the water. The waves pound, so if that bothers you, don't stay here, its too loud. I love the sound personally. Small gym, small restaurant, small pool area smallish beach in front but all super nice. Not a resort, more a retreat and a lot of sex appeal. Rooms are older, not amazing, but the views are shockingly gorgeous.

Room Tip: ask for the main tower where lobby is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Checked in around 945p, was surprised when I heard the clerk advise people in front of me that room service stopped at 10p, as well as bar and restaurant. I called room service from reception, ordered a sandwich immediately. Layout to get to your rooms confusing and did not eagerly explain how to get to yor room. Plus, the beach is at your doorstep, sound of waves soothing. Breakfast in restaurant very good all around. Overall, nice place, just orientate some staff to provide better service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf & Sand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.