We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Surf & Sand Resort to your Saves list
Surf & Sand Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Upland, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We took advantage of the Black Friday special and had a wonderful stay. We always enjoy the Surf and Sand. The view is amazing, the service is excellent and the sound of the waves can't be beat!
In the summer they provide chairs and umbrellas on the beach, as well as food service on the beach.

Room Tip: The view is best from the Towers but those rooms are sometimes more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    189
    87
    58
    42
See reviews for
257
474
29
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granbury, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our company has held two conferences a year for the past 30 years. Our attendees are highly educated, discerning professionals who look forward to coming to the Surf & Sand each year. Many come back during the year and bring their families for a holiday. The ocean views from beautifully appointed rooms are picture perfect. You actually hear the ocean waves crashing on the beach. The sunsets are breath taking. The Surf & Sand is large enough to accommodate large groups and small enough to have friendly, helpful staff. Many of the staff members have been with the Surf & Sand for several years. They take personal pride in their service to each guest. The conference rooms are elegantly decorated while providing modern, technical setups for professional presentations and personal electronic devices. The conference meals are outstanding in presentation, freshness and taste. Atmosphere and service are definitely five star!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our family stayed at Surf and Sand this past week and had an amazing time.

This has to be one of the coolest places to stay. I believe every room faces the ocean and has views that are all beautiful. It is so close to the water that every room comes equipped with ear plugs. However, you don't need them because they must have installed sound proof sliding doors to every balcony. We spent a lot of time on our balcony just watching in awe. We saw dolphins several times...we watched one of the most beautiful sunsets...very relaxing!

The room is decorated with a designer's touch. The beds were extremely comfortable, bathrooms very elegant, and inviting balcony.

If you are travelling with children, ask them about their "smores". They bring in a very small tent to your room with children's sleeping bags. The kids loved to sleep in here for a night....and they also bring prepared smores to your room.

The girl at the front desk "Melissa" was super nice and we bumped into the Assistant Hotel Manager Joanna Bear twice during our stay. On the second trip, she remembered our names and treated us to a cup of coffee in the gift shop (where my wife proceeded to buy some of the very neat ornaments). The bellman and doormen are all very nice. Every time we drove away, they filled our cup holders with a bottle of FIJI water for the trip.

We will definitely return to this property. I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone considering a first-class destination that will provide a top notch level of personal touch. FIVE STARS in my book.

Room Tip: I think every room here faces the ocean. I wouldn't say there is a bad room in the entire hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us and I will be sharing your comments with our team.

We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Joanna Bear
Assistant General Manager
Surf & Sand Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was able to obtain an aweome promotional rate by responding to an online offer on "Black Friday and Cyber Monday". I was surprised that the offer even included New Year's Eve. Arrived early and Melissa at the front desk was gracious and extended an early checkin and Jennifer gave us an appreciated late checkout on New Year's Day. Our room was absolutely gorgeous with a breathtaking view. We were even given a small bottle of champagne in a pretty wine cooler in the early evening in our room to toast the New Year. I was told that all rooms received this -- what a treat. The onsite restaurant, Splashes, was very good with a great wait staff and hostess.
The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays. My husband and I love the Surf and Sand and we both agreed to come back soon. In my opinion it is very romantic and we love to hear the crashing of the waves while in our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVENTURA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I cant imagine there is a better place to experience Laguna Beach like the Surf and Sand Resort.
First of all the staff is very polite, attentive, courteous, friendly and helpful. The attention to detail blew my mind. When I wanted the car, I didnt even have to give them a ticket or anything... they knew exactly which car was mine... everyone always greeted me by my last name... and with a friendly smile! The room? well.... OCEAN FRONT.... gorgeous... I could hear the crash of the waves at night... AMAZING.... felt Iike a meditation room! LOOOOVED it. I want to go back! I recommend it 100%

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just went to Laguna last week before the holiday. Just have to say what a great experience i had. The service was very attentive and welcoming- always asking if i needed anything first. Front Desk, Concierge, Valet and server at the bar- extra credit.
Facilities and food -fantastic.
And the hotel is in a perfect location- directly on the beach and close enough to walk downtown while wandering in/out of shops and art galleries.
I can still hear the waves crashing while i watch the orange and purple sunset from my balconey dip below the water line and watch the surfers as they try for that perfect ride.

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic as they face the ocean...corner rooms may be a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The Surf and Sand Resort is a full service resort that offers a comfortable room with ocean view, small spa and gym, and restaurant. If you are a returning guest, the resort will also deliver to your room a half bottle of wine with chocolates-a nice touch. The only reason I gave the resort 4 instead of 5 stars is due to price. Having stayed at hotels throughout the world, the resort is priced about $100/night too high for their standard king room. Also, with so many top quality restaurants within walking distance of the resort, the price you pay for the convenience of dining on the property detracts from the dining experience at Splashes (the resort restaurant).

But if price doesn't bother you, you can't go wrong with this property.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Beach
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf & Sand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.